Saturday Spotlight – Apr 24, 2021

Welcome back to Saturday Spotlight, where I choose what I consider a standout piece from the Sunday Writing Prompt. This week’s word prompt was, DEALBREAKERS, https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2021/04/18/sunday-writing-prompt-apr-18-21-for-better-or-for-worse/

Image from pixabay.com

Another week of great submissions! Thank you all for participating 🙂 My choice for this week goes to a post that made me smile.

My favorite moments: “No confetti was allowed in the grounds, so everyone threw sugar puffs and rice crispies (we fished them out of my bra later to much hilarity) which kept the birds happy. The handcuffs in case I changed my mind, stayed in Hubby’s pocket.” Handcuffs?!! Now that’s funny!!! “He also had to like dogs (ya think??)” I’m sure this poster’s spirit animal is a dog…just check out the profile pic! “And biggest thing of all, he had to be able to dispose of arachnids.” We have a house rule where we set spiders free. I’ve never had an issue with them, neither has my hubby, so I hope “dispose of” means put them back outside 🙂

My choice for this week is none other than Di at pensitivity101, https://pensitivity101.wordpress.com/2021/04/18/sunday-writing-prompt-apr-18-21-for-better-or-for-worse/

Thank you for sharing a segment of your life. And congrats on breaking the norm!!

Di’s submission 🙂

Hehe. Hubby and I broke the norm as it was said 4 out of 5 second marriages fail.
Both divorced, and thus a statistic of the 3 out of 5 marriage failures, Hubs and I have been wed 30 years this year, so we must be doing something right.
I can’t remember saying ‘for better or for worse’ though as this time was a Registry Office affair and a fun day. There were only 9 of us, and everyone took a row to make it look more. Mum said she’d never seen me look so serious.
No confetti was allowed in the grounds, so everyone threw sugar puffs and rice crispies (we fished them out of my bra later to much hilarity) which kept the birds happy. The handcuffs in case I changed my mind, stayed in Hubby’s pocket.
We became friends first, then everything else just happened. No regrets though.
We did agree that we could still have our off days, just not on the same day, which has worked very well for us, and I confess I’ve had more bad days than he has.
I suppose the deal breaker for me would have been if he was a drinker. I do not handle alcohol well myself and am more or less tee total, but having had relationships where drink took the upper hand, no thanks.
He also had to like dogs (ya think??). I had my GSD at the time, and she only barked at him, then got the idea he was not a threat.
And biggest thing of all, he had to be able to dispose of arachnids. Mice and snakes don’t bother me but spiders? No. I’m a wreck as this post will show.

Please visit Di’s personal page and give her the kudos she deserves, https://pensitivity101.wordpress.com/

Tune in tomorrow for a new Sunday Writing Prompt, April 25, 2021. I promise your creative wheels will be turning with this one, and I’m very excited to see how you interpret the prompt!!

10 comments

  1. Wow! Thanks Sara!! I’m thrilled to be chosen this week.
    Yes the arachnids were never harmed, just given flying lessons without a parachute out of the nearest window. I’m not as bad as I was, having actually saved one from the bath one day by providing a line of loo roll for it to climb out.
    Looking forward to tomorrow!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We “live trap” spiders under a glass and take them outdoors. My mother said it was bad luck to kill a spider in the house! Nice to see you here in the spotlight.

    Liked by 1 person

    • We’re also trying to teach our 3 year old that all lives matter, and not to kill anything! …that said, when he gets older we might allow him to smack mosquitos lol

      Like

Comments are closed.