Tale Weaver – #163 – Aging – 15th March

african-american-3154942_960_720

Image Google images – Labelled for re-use.

Last week was International Women’ day and I read the below excerpts and thought it would make for an interesting Tale Weaver prompt.

Excerpts from, Women of a Certain Age is a collection of women’s memoirs – stories of identity and survival, a celebration of getting older and wiser, and becoming more certain of who you are and where you want to be.

The following from the above text is taken from an essay by Liz Byrski.

I was in my mid-fifties when I began to think seriously about ageing – about becoming an old woman and what that might mean. I did so with a kind of relish, for I had never feared growing old. Confident, intelligent and energetic old people were part of my childhood; I envied their independence and freedom and wanted to be like them. Childhood was all about doing what one was told; old people did what they wanted when they wanted, even if someone had already cautioned them against it.

…even as I grew older it simply never occurred to me to think about how it might actually feel to be an old woman; how emotionally textured, how sometimes ragged with grief and stitched through with loss or regret, how physically and mentally challenging, it could be. I was going to have a happy old age, and as the years passed I remained convinced of this.

This week I invite you to weave a tale dealing with Aging. No matter the age we are now tomorrow we will be a day older, we don’t get younger, sadly.

What does aging mean to you?

Are you a grumpy old man or woman, or a person who sees joy and happiness in what you have and who you are.

Are there obstacles you have to encounter in aging, like health, loss, family matters, grief?

Do you see aging as a natural process and so do you fight against it or embrace it?

Please go where the prompt leads you and have fun. I look forward to reading your responses.

Please link your submissions using the linking tool below.

24 comments

  1. i thinks Liz was on target when she said she was in her 50s when she started thinking aging. I do think it becomes more in your face about then.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.