Tale Weaver #123 08.06.17: The June Bride

There is the tradition of the June Bride. The Goddess Juno was the protector of women – especially in matters of marriage and childbearing, hence the June bride in Juno’s month. Within the Celtic tradition, courting couples were to be wed in early August (by their calendar), but young love be as it is, the date was eventually moved forward to what corresponds with June.

Wedding stories abound in literature, the stage and cinema. Everyone seems to have at least one wedding story be it the fairy tale or the fail. Ugly bridesmaid dresses, strange happenings at receptions, getting to and from a destination wedding. Wedding stories can be humourous; tragic, elaborate or simple.

I was married by a judge in open court. We had to wait for her to finish sentencing several felons. Next in line was an entire wedding party – bride in traditional white lacy dress with veil and train, bridesmaids in matching dresses, groomsmen in tuxedos, a young ring bearer – straight out of a church setting. But they, like us, were waiting in the court chamber’s anteroom. What was missing was guests and mothers/fathers of the bride and groom. I’ve often wondered what tale lay behind their appearance before a judge, rather than walking up the church aisle to a minister/priest.

A friend once found a bride crying in the washroom of a rather strange bar to be having a reception in. She spend the next hour in the bathroom, trying to calm down the bride.

So, tale weavers, tell me a wedding story – real or fictional – to honour all the June brides past, present and future.

When you are ready to post, please create a link (ping back) to this page. Tags: Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, Tale Weaver, June bride. Mr. Linky awaits the toss of the bouquet, and your click. (Click on the image for a larger view; image from The Saturday Evening Post archive)

11 comments

  1. definitely rich ideas regarding weddings – certainly no shortage of tales, truthful, fictional, embellished, or with a touch of the macabre – and certainly, this is a really great topic – in all my years blogging, here and other places, and coming across prompts, I’ve never read one such as this – what a novel and great idea!

    must think …. must think …. 🙂

    Like

    • Sorry I am late in my reply. I am awestruck by the high praise. Thank you. I don’t know the emoji for blushing, as I have said before, so, “she blushes as she reads the comment again.”
      You are so encouraging. Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

      • No need to apologize, I’m here and there, and around as I am …. as for blushing?you shouldn’t feel the need, but it’s okay, I understand …. I get uncomfortable when receiving compliments too …. but I really like this prompt – I think it’s certainly interesting, and I liked the “background” info – learned something new! 🙂

        Like

Comments are closed.