Saturday Mix – April 22, 2017

Hello Everyone!

I’m sure that at least at one time or another we’ve all decided to read a book that we thought we knew everything about – but never having read it didn’t in fact.  This has happened to me recently.  I decided to read Bram Stoker’s Gothic novel,  “Dracula”.

Of course I’ve known about Dracula since I was a teen … and although vampires were nothing as popular as they are in our present age, they were at least familiar to all of us.  Who hadn’t seen Bela Lugosi or Christopher Lee at least once, if not at the movies at least on TV.  And yet, I’d never bothered to read Stoker’s book.

So, after watching two different TV shows one called Doyle and Houdini and the other Murdoch Mysteries – both which had made reference to Bram Stoker  I decided to download the original version from the Gutenberg Project (and now you can too) and see what Stoker had actually written and was quite surprised indeed!

The book is in the form of a collection of diaries and letters. I’m sure that it might have been scary for someone reading the book in the 1897 when it came out, but quite frankly, the book is nearly humorous compared to how the character has evolved over the past century and a bit (as you can see from the trailer above).  Alas,  I shudder to think what will become of Bilbo Baggins – sigh.

But now this brings me to what I’m going to ask you to write this week.  I don’t require a horror story, but a page from a diary.  This is the photo that should inspire your diary entry …

Photo: Glenn Hunt

I’d like your piece to be 150 words or less.  If you prefer poetry to prose, you may write a set shadorma or perhaps you’d like to write a choka:

Classical Japanese choka were long, elegiac poems that told an epic or commemorative tale and may have reached 100 lines.  Today the choka is much shorter and simply tells a story.  Choka are formed by writing alternately 5 /7 syllable couplets and then ending the poem with an extra seven-syllable line.

If one chooses to write a choke it should not be more than 150 words.

Once you’ve written your piece please tag your work Mindlovesmisery’s Menagerie and Saturday Mix then either ping back or put a link to your work in the comments below.  To make things simpler you can add your link to the Mr. Linky app below so everyone will be able to quickly find your work.

This will be my last post until September.  I’m taking a sabbatical from writing to explore my new life and who knows what I’ll have to say in September.  I’ll drop in before I leave to read your work of course.  I hope you have a lovely summer (or winter) full of inspiration.  Hugs to all, Bastet.

17 comments

  1. INTO THE LATE EVENING MIST

    Bridges inspire me. The span of their iron-cabled arms high over deep waters. The arc of a concrete walkway; a connecting road for what horses once traversed, but now machines accelerate to the climb of the speedometer.

    It was here so long ago a horse threw me nearly to my trampled death. Through the haze of dying, I stared into the eyes of D’Ardinelle, saw the glistening of his canine teeth, felt them drill into my neck.

    I heard D’Ardinelle calling me back, turning my feet away from the crossing. Then the old man vanished into the late evening mist.

    In the recesses along the bridge, homeless men and women gather straw and cardboard for their nighttime beds and then sleep to the gnawing of bellies, the roar of cars, the wailing winds.

    Despite it all, I can detect blood in the air.

    Stars are shining. Wishes do come true.

    Like

    • What a lovely write kind soul … and so D’Ardinelle “saved” the writer who now in turn “saves” others. I like your stile … you’ve rendered your brief story much more believable than Stoker did his Dracula!

      The odd thing about Count Dracula as Stoker portrays him is his having been an intelligent, brave and honourable leader who fought bravely against the invaders of his land. As a vampire though, he forgets the sacred side of his nature living his immortality of an “unclean” nature with ambitions of building a global community of undead, all bowing to his bidding. In our modern age reading Stoker’s book one might feel inclined to embrace the vampire rather than the alternative with its holy wafers and crucifixes (especially as the main scenes of the story take place in anti-papist England) which is almost surreal – especially as Van Helsing refers to all the mumbo-jumbo he uses to defeat the vampire as scientific! Of course now we live in a multi-ethnic global society … would the Buddhists fight back a vampire Dracula with a prayer wheel or flag do you think? 😉

      Like

  2. Have a good time on your long summer holiday.I am sure you will have lots of news when you return in September.

    Shadorma

    georgia’s off
    on an adventure
    she will be
    returning
    in september all bright eye’d
    (ahem) and bushy tail’d 🙂

    Arriverderci !

    Liked by 1 person

    • 🙂 love that song … even if it is a little sad! Thanks Lorraine for everything – you’ve a real friend. See you in September!

      Like

Comments are closed.