Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille March 9th 2016

matsuo_basho

Basho (1644-1694)

Dear friends of MLMM,

I am so glad that I could find time to create another episode of Heeding Haiku With … for you all. As you all (maybe) know I am a busy guy, next to my job as an oncology-nurse I am the owner and host of several other weblogs and I have my own publishing company, but creating weblogs as e.g. Heeding Haiku With … is really my biggest time consuming activity and I do regret that I sometimes have to little time, but not this week …

Last week we had haiku, so this week it’s all about haibun, that wonderful creative way to link prose and poetry together. This week I love to challenge you with a slightly different task using a quote for your inspiration to write a haibun.

One of the world renowned haiku poets, one of the four greatest, or even the greatest, haiku poets is Matsuo Basho (1644-1694). I think you all have at least read one haiku by him e.g. the following:

furu ike ya kawazu tobikomu mizu no oto

an ancient pond
a frog jumps in
the splash of water

© Basho

But for this episode I have a wonderful quote by Basho to inspire you to write a haibun. Here is your source for inspiration, a quote by Basho:

[…] “The temple bell stops but I still hear the sound coming out of the flowers.” […] Matsuo Basho

To make this challenge a bit more challenging I have a few “rules” for your haibun:

+ A maximum of 250 words (including the haiku)
+ Try to use a “kigo” (or seasonword) in the haiku of your haibun
+ Your haiku doesn’t need to follow the classical 5-7-5 syllables count, I even would challenge you to create a haiku with 3-5-3 or even lesser syllables

Well …. it’s up to you now. Have fun!

 

About Chèvrefeuille

I am a Dutch haiku poet. And I am the owner and host of the weblog "Carpe Diem, a daily haiku meme" on Blogger (or Blogspot). I am writing haiku since the late eighties and in 2005 I became an international known haiku poet and in 2011 ten of my haiku were included in a worldwide anthology "Spasms of Light". With that anthology I became an even more known haiku poet. In October 2012 I started my daily haiku meme.

9 comments on “Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille March 9th 2016

  1. Pingback: miracles | To Wear A Rainbow

  2. Pingback: Glory be – Tell Tale Therapy

  3. Pingback: (s) MLMM Heeding haiku: Fading Winter (a haibun 3.9) | Jules Longer Strands of Gems

  4. julespaige
    March 9, 2016

    An expansion of a series I posted for my daily ‘Just Karma 56’.
    Fading Winter

  5. Laura Bloomsbury
    March 9, 2016

    brilliant prompt from Basho and could not resist giving haibun a first try

  6. Pingback: Life in Italy (Humidity) – Haibun – March 10, 2016 | Walking With Bastet in Prose

  7. Pingback: First Playground Memories – writing in north norfolk

  8. Pingback: A Quote Haibun – WritersDream9

  9. Pingback: At last – rain – photography plus

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 9, 2016 by in Uncategorized.
