B&P’s Shadorma and Beyond – Shadorma Summation – October 3, 2015

Hello Folks … yes I’m introducing a whole new show for the Shadorma … the Shadorma Summation.  Talking with one of our regular contributors about one of her lovely poems (Mooning Mayhem (multi prompts 9.26 s) over at Jules Longer Strands of Gems we realized that calling the form she’d used a haibun just wasn’t a correct appellation for the poem … it is a lovely Free Verse poem with a Shadorma concluding stanza … similar to a haibun but it has nothing to do with mixing prose and haiku (which is a haibun of course).  One thing lead to another and we came up with this name Shadorma Summation for Jules’ form … and then she wrote this lovely poem and has given me permission to use it to illustrate her form:

- art-spire.com
– art-spire.com

Resplendent

the weighted bulb in the sky sank
and the birds were drawn like moths to a flame

it was the middle of summer
we rode our bikes to the park pavilion

we imagined the gathered peace
was a portal into another fantastical world

where for us the warm air on our skin
would be relieved by the salt seasoned ocean

where we could float briefly before
sinking to the depths of Atlantis and become

naturalized citizens accepted for who
we were and allowed to be what we wanted

then the sun set and we woke up
pedaled in silence back to our homes and night dreams…

together
we willingly rode
attempting
to harness
the powerful energy
of pure radiance

©JP/dh

 So today I thought we’d take our lowly Shadorma to a different level and introduce this whole new form. What we’ll do is write a Free Verse poem about an experience we’ve had and then sum it up with a Shadorma like Jules did above.  I hope you enjoy this idea as much as I do.  And now for some inspiration:

  

Of course this may be the opportunity you’ve been waiting for to use one of your own pieces of artwork or photography … feel free to do so!

Once you’ve written your Shadorma Summation or simple Shadorma please remember to link up here to our Mr. Linky app and tag: B&P Shadorma & Beyond as well as Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie.

Have a great week … and don’t forget … OctPoWriMo has begun … a great opportunity for us all to meet up with friends and new acquaintances to compare our poetry for a whole month!  Ciao Bastet!

54 comments

  1. Never knew there were so many poetic forms til following you and others with such tremendous talent – would like to try and give this a go sometime ? deadline

    Like

  2. Jules wrote such a lovely piece!! Interestingly I often write a free verse ending with a haiku and never though of calling it a haibun.

    Like

    • A haibun is perhaps an American invention? When I first learned it I only used a haiku a the end. But I saw others disburse haiku throughout the same piece.
      So now I refer to a haibun as any verse that has a haiku in it beginning, middle or end (though usually at the end). This month at my daily (Gems) site, I am combining dodoitsu and haiku, but then I am a rebel with rules and combine all sorts and any manner of shorter forms. 🙂

      Like

      • Oh no … a haibun is a Japanese invention. That variation of adding haiku all over the place came out not so long ago I think … I saw it for the first time on Ligo Haibun myself … traditionally it is a short travelogue sort of story with a haiku conclusion. Basho was very fond of haibun and some say he invented the form … I couldn’t say that for sure. I think there’s nothing wrong with combining verse … it’s fun … just not haibun. It’s kind of like saying that a shadorma is a haiku no?

        Liked by 1 person

      • When someone teaches you something that isn’t quite right you get used to calling it that. I didn’t know that a haibun was just considered a travelogue. I was told/taught a haibun was any verse or story with a haiku conclusion (sometimes haiku came in other locations within the piece maybe that is American?

        Like

      • I don’t think it’s necessarily American … to tell the truth I don’t know who began to write haibun in that manner. I myself tend to write that way as well – though I try to make my prose about a spiritual journey … I learnt about haibun from Ligo Haibun … but I got the historical direction/info from CDHK and other sources. Where did you learn to write haibun?

        Liked by 1 person

      • Over twenty, thirty years or more, a pen pal sent me a rather sketchy directional sheet. We were exchanging writing forms. Now it is easy to go online and fact check. Not so much then. 🙂

        Like

      • Not a clue. I just had a manual typed instruction sheet.
        So if we can’t figure out where the altered form actually came from I guess we can call it an American adaptation of the Japanese form?

        Like

      • Suppose so … I’ll see if I can’t find something, but knowing how Japanese writing spread first to the U.S. then the rest of the world, I guess we can safely say that it’s the same for haibun.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I like to mix and match and go with what feels right in my heart when I am writing something. So rebel, my dear…show your stuff:) !! The haibun, however, may have been modified but
        Basho wrote many in his travel journeys.

        Liked by 1 person

      • We of course are not Japanese writing in the Edo period, I’d be interested to see how the Japanese actually write haibun or even if they even write it any more. Mixing forms is fun and I do it often myself …

        Liked by 1 person

      • Perhaps they should all spend about 1/2 hour being a grama mattress for a grand -child… then maybe they’ll understand how time can just slip away.

        To me there is no such thing as time on the internet. I will always ‘like’ you – and I’m not even on facebook 🙂

        Like

      • Thanks dear … life tends to be a lot more than writing and reading on the Internet .. I’m on the facebook but rarely go there except by appointment (usually with my kids)

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.