Writing Prompt July 17th: Arcana in the Tower

Greetings, everyone! I am Oloriel, and I will be stepping in to co-host the Sunday prompt with Yves. I hope we have a lot of fun and interesting writing together (as I am sure we will!). I would like to continue wildchild’s Tarot prompt until we bring the whole Major Arcana full circle, to a close. I really liked how the prompt was approached and run, hence why I would want to continue it.

As it was said already, Tarot is a great tool, and it can be used for practically anything. The strength of crude or minimalistic symbolism, depending on depictions, is a great inspirator for Art, through which we can often get a candid insight into how to approach our daily life or hard questions and matters that plague us.

The next card in the Major Arcana is The Tower.

What is the card about?

This card follows immediately after The Devil in all Tarots that contain it, and is associated with sudden, disruptive, and potentially destructive change.

It is a card that beckons, orders – a change, often through scary, physically strong events and happenings; a card that dictates action and disables one to revert back to the previous state.

The Tower is commonly interpreted as meaning danger, crisis, destruction, and liberation.

For me, this is a card of warning and possibility – create something new from something that ends in the will and limits of time alone. A change that must be, but should be for the good, with our power.

the_tower_by_tomscholes-d5bcuvm

*Image by TomScholes and can be found HERE

I am deeply both fascinated and honorful of one’s own interpretations, the feelings they get when they hear the symbolism, see images, hear the mere number and mention of this card (or any other card!), so forgive if my interpretations and the information I share a bit vague. As a practicing reader, it is hard for me to detach divination purposes from artistic purposes, and pinpoint one single sentence as if all souls are same.

Instead, tell me what you see in it? What does it associate you with, what does it mean to you? Does imagining it instill fear in you, or pleasure?

All answer to the prompt are welcome! Be it poetry, flash fiction, stories, quatrains or sharing of a personal tale.

Please tag your posts with MindLoveMisery’s Menagerie, writing prompt, tarot card “the devil” and remember to link up by creating a ping back or link, and to link to Mr. Linky.

I am looking forward to reading your entries and I hope you have fun participating!

14 comments

    • I always love Tarot anything! Would you mind leaving a link to your weblogs? I don’t believe posts get old, and someone who might feel inspired or thirsty for more knowledge, can go ahead and read! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Welcome Oloriel 🙂 Or welcome back actually 🙂 I’m glad that you have some time to step in and give Yves a hand – it’s wonderful.

    This is a great prompt – and I really like your approach – fresh and dynamic and interesting. I’m sure this will continue to be a wonderful writing session and exploration for all kinds of creativity and engagement! And so happy sessions and sharing 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.