Bastet’s Shadorma Prompt – August 16, 2014

Hello World … well last week was a week of many sad events … and I don’t know about you, but I certainly felt pretty down in the dumps.  So today I thought I’d try to find something to lift up my spirit and if your’s is down yours too!

This is a photo I took last year that I called  “Old Friends”:

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

old friends talk
standing on the beach
gossiping
commenting
of the silly people met
each summer morning

© G.s.k. ’14

For you first timers,  a shadorma is composed of six non-rhyming lines (sestina or sextet) and the syllable pattern is 3-5-3-3-7-5.  It can have as many stanzas as you like, just as long as each stanza follows the syllable pattern mentioned above .  You have a week to create you poems so be patient and let the photo inspire you!  Or use your own photograph or art work.

I thought we’d look at limericks too this week …

There once was a man come from Kerry
Who laughed ’cause he’d avoided to marry
Until one summer night
He was smitten by the light
Of a pretty blonde lassie named Mary.

© G.s.k. ’14

Here are the rules:

  1. 5 lines.
  2. Rhyme structure is AABBA (lines 1,2 and 5 rhyme, and 3 & 4 rhyme with each other. Their “beat” is di di dum di di dum di di dum
  3. Lines 1, 2, and 5 generally have seven to ten syllables, while lines 3 and 4 have only five to seven syllables. Their beat is di di dum di di di dum…
  4. Ideally, it should be about a humorous or clever story/observation/statement, with the last line carrying the real “zinger” that makes it truly funny.

And here’s a limerick about my old telephones:

Two old fogies stand on the beach
Hemming and hawing as they preach
“That lady was batty!”
“And the kid he was bratty!”
Sorry they had no one to teach.

© G.s.k. ’14

§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§§

Well, maybe no real “zinger” but I’ve never been a limerick master … 😀 .

Once you’ve written your post tag:  Shadorma and Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, then put your info onto the Mr. Linky app!  If you ping me back, I’ll be able to read your post asap because I will be notified that you’ve written the post (not so with Mr. Linky)…That’s all there is to it!

Thanks for dropping by – Bastet.

 

8 comments

  1. […] When I saw this photo taken by Georgia at Basket and Sekhmet’s Library, I had to smile.  I had taken a phto of 2 pay phones in the Métro last Spring.  The fact that these are near such a lovely green space stirred contradictions…beauty, ugliness, pleasure and pain and this is what my muse came up with for  Bastet’s Shadorma Prompt at MindLoveMiserysMenagerie. […]

    Like

Comments are closed.