Heeding Haiku With HA: Write/Right Now!

It is 02:31 a.m. here as I have begun to devise and type the prompt for this week. It is stifling hot outside but the AC is doing its job well as I am shivering a bit sitting on the mattress; my back angled in a posture so that it must appear as if I am going to fall into the screen and become an electronic code, ending the way of feelings that have guided me thus far in my life.

vibrating-

the canopy of my frame

drenched in cold wonder

.

This week, I would like you to analyze everything that you can at this very moment of time and write a haiku or tanka or both to commemorate these few moments of this day of your life.

General guidelines:

  • English Haiku is a three-line poem structured in syllable count of 5-7-5. It visualizes an image, an expression or experience, including a season word or kigo. It is a small ode to nature.
  • English Tanka is a five-line poem structured in syllable pattern of  5-7-5-7-7. The first two lines and the last two lines picture images and the third line is a pivotal line i.e. it signifies a grammatically correct meaning and completes the image either when paired with the first two lines or when paired with the last two lines.
  • Most importantly, feel free and write, do not be burdened by the rules or guidelines. Enjoy crafting a haiku or tanka. And after when you have made the post, you can submit the links to your posts in the linking widget below.

Happy Writing!

You can also include these two tags with your post: HeedingHaikuWithHA and MindLoveMisery’s Menagerie.

19 comments

  1. Hello friends,
    I have noticed that the participants for the prompt are dwindling since the last few weeks. I am enjoying the creations of all those who are giving some time to the prompts, but it would be even more fun if we have more people sharing with us. Thus, I’d sincerely ask you to suggest the changes required for that effect and also to prod your blogging friends to try out the prompt. 🙂
    -HA

    Like

      • My pleassure…I have 2 blogs…so I did one on each with your instructions which are very helpful by the way. I had never known the rules of tanka before and I think I got it on my other blog….feel free to critique…I want to learn more and thanks for the prompt!

        Like

      • I will be glad to learn along with you and everyone else who visits week after week and participate in these prompts. I must say, reading all of you adds into my understanding of the form and how we can refine it. 🙂
        I have visited your posts. I had a delightful time reading about your walks.

        Like

      • A teacher who learns…now that is a true teacher! On my other blog, I learned more about Tanka just from your instructions…simple but enough to pay attention to the connections of each line. I learn much better by doing rather than studying in books…so these prompts help tremendously.

        Like

Comments are closed.