Saturday Mix – Rhyme Time, 25 July 2020

Welcome to the Saturday Mix, 25 July 2020!

This week we are “writing away, and having a play, with rhyming words for you today” with Rhyme Time.

‘Rhyme Time’ focuses on the use of rhyme to build your writing piece. You will be given six rhyming words* and need to use all of them (but not limited to these) in your response, which should be a poetry form of your choice.

*Homophones can be used as alternatives to the challenge words.

Our rhyming words this week are:

  1. life
  2. wife
  3. strife
  4. knife
  5. rife

You may be thinking to yourself, How can I use rhyme in my writing?
Luckily, Kat at Literary Devices, has some examples for you.

Examples of Rhyme in Poetry 
A rhyme is a repetition of similar sounding words, occurring at the end of lines in poems or songs. A rhyme is a tool utilising repeating patterns that bring rhythm or musicality to poems. This differentiates them from prose, which is plain. A rhyme is employed for the specific purpose of rendering a pleasing effect to a poem, which makes its recital an enjoyable experience.

Classification of rhymes may be based on their positions, such as the following examples of rhyme.

Example #1: Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star (By Jane Taylor)

“Twinkle, twinkle little star
How I wonder what you are”

Classification: Tail Rhyme
This is the most common type of rhyme. It occurs in the final syllable of a verse or line.

Example #2: Don’t Fence Me In (By Cole Porter and Robert Fletcher)

“Just turn me loose let me straddle my old saddle,
Underneath the western skies,
On my cayuse let me wander over yonder,
‘Til I see the mountains rise.”

Classification: Internal Rhyme
This is a type of rhyme in which a word at the end of a verse rhymes with another word in the same line.

Example #3: A Scottish Lowlands Holiday Ends in Enjoyable Inactivity (By Miles Kington)

“In Ayrshire hill areas, a cruise,
eh, lass?
Inertia, hilarious, accrues,
hélas!”

Classification: Holo-rhyme
This is a type of rhyme in which all the words of two entire lines rhyme.

Example #4: At Lulworth Cove a Century Back  (By Thomas Hardy)

“Had I but lived a hundred years ago
I might have gone, as I have gone this year,
By Warmwell Cross on to a Cove I know,
And Time have placed his finger on me there…”

Classification: Cross rhyme
This refers to matching sounds at the ends of intervening lines.

Source:  LiteraryDevices Editors. “Rhyme” LiteraryDevices.net. 2013. https://literarydevices.net/rhyme/ (accessed July 25, 2020)

You may choose to use rhyme in any way you like for your response.

Good luck with your first ‘Rhyme Time’ challenge – I can’t wait to see what you come up with! Don’t forget to tag ‘Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie’ and ‘Saturday Mix’, and hashtag #RhymeTime.

As always, make sure you link your fabulous creation to the helpful Mister Linky.

16 comments

Comments are closed.