Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille, November 15th 2017

The Rubaiyat

Dear friends of MLMM,

What a joy to host a new episode of Heeding Haiku With … I am so glad that I changed the idea of Heeding Haiku With … with giving you the choice to create a haibun or haiku inspired on a given theme. I think that makes Heeding Haiku With … more “open”. This week I have a nice challenge for you. Maybe you know that I am also hosting Carpe Diem Haiku Kai. At Carpe Diem Haiku Kai this month it’s all about “The Rubaiyat” by Omar Khayyam. Khayyam was a 12th century Persian poet and scholar. He created a lot of quatrains, more then 2000, but in his “The Rubaiyat” FitzGerald has gathered around 100 quatrains.

I love to challenge you to create a haibun or haiku inspired on one of the quatrains extracted from “The Rubaiyat”. The haibun may have a maximum of 150 words (including the haiku) and the haiku has to follow the classical rules like for example the 5-7-5 structure and the use of a kigo (or seasonword).

With Earth’s first Clay They did the Last Man’s knead,
And then of the Last Harvest sow’d the Seed:
Yea, the first Morning of Creation wrote
What the Last Dawn of Reckoning shall read.

© Omar Khayyam (Tr. FitzGerald)

Have fun!

When you have written your haiku, please TAG Heeding Haiku with Chèvrefeuille and Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie. Then add your link to the Mister Linky widget below.

About Chèvrefeuille

I am a Dutch haiku poet. And I am the owner and host of the weblog "Carpe Diem, a daily haiku meme" on Blogger (or Blogspot). I am writing haiku since the late eighties and in 2005 I became an international known haiku poet and in 2011 ten of my haiku were included in a worldwide anthology "Spasms of Light". With that anthology I became an even more known haiku poet. In October 2012 I started my daily haiku meme.

One comment on “Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille, November 15th 2017

  1. Henrietta Watson
    November 15, 2017

    Reblogged this on All About Writing and more.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 15, 2017 by in Uncategorized.
