Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Sunday Writing Prompt #223 –

Welcome to the Sunday Writing Prompt – October 8, 2017 –

So this week, I’m offering you a poem for consideration. Read it, sit with it – revel in it – and then, create from it.

Perhaps a certain line speaks to you? Copy it and use it in whatever you create – poem, short story, flash fiction etc. Ex. “I love the handful of the earth you are.”

Maybe there are certain word phrases that you think are over the moon and set your pulse racing? Choose these words and walk into the wild from there. Ex. wide eyes, extinguished constellations – gather and group them and see what happens? This new selection/collection could lead you to leap into a blazing trail of words.

Take another direction altogether and have a conversation with the poem, write a response to it, as if you are answering the poet.

The sky is endless, so have fun and let yourself enjoy the process – and the poem.

You have a week to create. Please include the tags MLMM or Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie and Sunday Writing Prompt. Link up with Mr. Linky and leave your links and pingbacks here.
Enjoy the writings of your fellow travellers ๐Ÿ™‚

So here’s your poem:

Sonnet XVI by Pablo Neruda

I love the handful of the earth you are.
Because of its meadows, vast as a planet,
I have no other star. You are my replica
of the multiplying universe

Your wide eyes, are the only light I know
from extinguished constellations;
your skin throbs like the streak
of a meteor through rain.

Your hips were that much of the moon for me;
your deep mouth and its delights, that much sun;
your heart, fiery with its long red rays,

was that much ardent light, like honey in the shade.
So I pass across your burning form, kissing
you – compact and planetary, my dove, my globe.

 

About scribblersdip

I like weeds and words. I'm chaos theory in motion. I'm ironic and hilarious. I think garden dirt under fingernails is smart and no hands should be callus free. I play with plants and dictionaries.

22 comments on “Sunday Writing Prompt #223 –

  1. weejars
    October 8, 2017

    Great poem Pat. Iโ€™m sure this prompt will elicit some excellent responses…

    • scribblersdip
      October 8, 2017

      thanks Sarah – it should be interesting ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Pingback: Music Prompt #13: Snow Patrol โ€“ โ€œRunโ€ #musicchallenge #amwriting #music – Ladyleemanila

  3. Cressida
    October 8, 2017

    I enjoyed the Neruda sonnet. I wrote an erasure poem. You erase words and using some words in the poem (chronological order)you make a new poem with a new meaning,

    • scribblersdip
      October 8, 2017

      wonderful ๐Ÿ™‚ I call them “black out or white out poems” but it’s the same thing ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Henrietta Watson
    October 8, 2017

    Reblogged this on All About Writing and more.

    • scribblersdip
      October 8, 2017

      thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Pingback: (f) What an Old Scientist Dreams / MLMM x2/ OctaTimbre-haibun/ (10.8) | Jules in Flashy Fiction

  6. julespaige
    October 8, 2017

    It’s lonely out in space…
    What an Old Scientist Dreams

    • scribblersdip
      October 8, 2017

      thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ and I suppose it must be lonely out in space …. at the very least, odd –

  7. Pingback: Parts of You – Smell The Coffee

  8. Vivian Zems
    October 9, 2017

    Hi everyone! I’ve just posted my response to the sonnet. It resembles a nonet- but isn’t- as it starts with 10 syllables. But i managed to follow the nonet rules. Have a great week, folks!

    http://smellthecoffeeweb.blog/2017/10/09/parts-of-you/

    • scribblersdip
      October 10, 2017

      thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Pingback: Sunday Writing Prompt #223ย โ€“ Maggie Allcock. | Morpethroad

  10. Tournesol
    October 9, 2017

    I love this poet! and I too found this line spoke to me ” I love the handful of the earth you are.โ€ Pablo had a way of writing about love and it tastes like honey.

    • scribblersdip
      October 10, 2017

      It’s such a powerful line – and Neruda was truly a lover’s poet – incredible works written with a rawness yet beauty that leaves the heart both filled and aching …. a true gift.

  11. Pingback: Thankful moments (troibun) – Tournesol dans un jardin

  12. Pingback: The Sun and The Moon | like mercury colliding...

  13. Kat Myrman
    October 10, 2017

    I challenged myself a bit this week with a Cleave Poem. Peace and Love…kat
    https://katmyrman.com/2017/10/09/the-sun-and-the-moon/

    • scribblersdip
      October 10, 2017

      Great Kat – and thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Kat Myrman
        October 11, 2017

        I love this prompt. Thanks for hosting it. ๐Ÿ˜Š

  14. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo Day 19/Sunday Writing: Poem – Italian Sonnet – โ€œComfort Spreadโ€ #poetry #amwriting – Mandibelle16

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 8, 2017 by in Written Prompt and tagged , , , , .
