Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Saturday’s Mix–28 July 2017

Welcome back for another addition of Saturday’s Mix. Let’s get happy! It seems like the news has been pretty depressing lately, so let’s get happy!

leo-28w

One example of a happy poem would be Walt Whitman’s Give me the Splendid, Silent Sun

Give me the splendid silent sun with all his beams full-dazzling,
Give me autumnal fruit ripe and red from the orchard,
Give me a field where the unmow’d grass grows,
Give me an arbor, give me the trellis’d grape,
Give me fresh corn and wheat, give me serene-moving animals teaching
content,
Give me nights perfectly quiet as on high plateaus west of the
Mississippi, and I looking up at the stars,
Give me odorous at sunrise a garden of beautiful flowers where I can
walk undisturb’d,
Give me for marriage a sweet-breath’d woman of whom I should never tire,
Give me a perfect child, give me away aside from the noise of the
world a rural domestic life,
Give me to warble spontaneous songs recluse by myself, for my own ears only,
Give me solitude, give me Nature, give me again O Nature your primal
sanities!

Of course, Pharrell Williams makes you want to dance with his version of Happy.

Whatever it is that makes you happy is what you should write about this week. Whether it’s poetry or prose, we want to leave with a smile on our face! As always, feel free to use one of the images for inspiration

Flower Pot_9572ew

Once you’ve written your piece please tag your work Mindlovesmisery’s Menagerie and Saturday Mix then either ping back or put a link to your work in the comments below. To make things simpler you can add your link to the Mr. Linky app below so everyone will be able to quickly find your work.

About Teresa

I am a woman with many hats--teacher, farmer, photographer, writer.

8 comments on “Saturday’s Mix–28 July 2017

  1. Henrietta Watson
    July 29, 2017

    Reblogged this on All About Writing and more.

  2. pensitivity101
    July 29, 2017

    I love Pharrell Williams Happy…… it never fails to get my feet tapping and has to be the best spirit lifter song ever!

  3. pensitivity101
    July 29, 2017

    I think Mr Linky registered me. If not, here I am!
    https://pensitivity101.wordpress.com/2017/07/29/saturdays-mix-28-july-2017/

  4. Rall
    July 29, 2017

    This is a great prompt. The music and illustration are special…now to write something that measures up. Enjoy your weekend.

  5. Pingback: Saturday’s Mix – 28 July 2017 – Happy – Ladyleemanila

  6. Pingback: MLMM Saturdays Mix – 28 – MakesYou Smile – The Bag Lady

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 29, 2017 by in Saturday Mix and tagged .
