Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Tale Weaver #127: Nursery Rhyme Rifts 06.07.17

Back in May, I posed the what if question . . . and one person applied it to the Peter picked a pint of pickled peppers tongue twister in an ingenious and humorous way. Which got me thinking of rifts on nursery rhymes and songs.

“Mary, Mary,” came to mind:

Mary, Mary, quite contrary

How does your garden grow . . .

became:

Mary Jane, quite legendary

for her hydroponic weed grow . . .

So, tale weavers, your assignment this week: take a nursery/Mother Goose rhyme, tongue twister or song, and give it a new spin. Modernize it, analyze it, hypo-theoreticalize it, satirize it, serialize it, fantasize it . . .  then weave a tale around it.

Some potential topics that came to mind:

Little Jack Horner, sat in his corner . . .

Little Miss Muffet sat on her tuffet . . .

Humpty Dumpty sat on a wall . . .

Hey diddle, diddle, the cat and the fiddle . . .

The owl and the pussy cat went to sea  . . .

How much wood could a woodchuck chuck . . .

Suzy sells sea shells by the sea shore  . . .

All around the mulberry bush, the monkey chased the weasel . . .

Ring around the rosy, pocket full of posy . . .

There was an old lady who swallowed a fly . . .

Create a link (ping back) to this post, and tag: Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, Tale Weaver, nursery rhyme. Mr. Linky awaits your clickity-click.

image: jo dover, fineartamerica.com

About Lorraine

: ) : learning to embrace the fey uniqueness that is me

41 comments on “Tale Weaver #127: Nursery Rhyme Rifts 06.07.17

  1. Pingback: Tale Weaver #127: Nursery Rhyme Rifts 06.07.17 – Muffet | Morpethroad

  2. Stephanie Colpron
    July 6, 2017

    This one might prove too much for me. I may be bilingual but nursery rhymes in English I don’t know… it’s something that belongs to infancy/childhood and mine was in French. I shall read eagerly though.

    • scribblersdip
      July 6, 2017

      Actually Stephanie, I think, if you have the time, you should write to it – and use your French nursery rhymes – because some of us speak and read French – and I think it would be cool to see these types of stories from another culture and language – as to whether you would write up your version in French or English? that would be up to you, of course, but I think the language thing shouldn’t stop you from playing, if you wish 🙂

    • Lorraine
      July 6, 2017

      My reply seems to have bee devoured by gremlins!
      I agree with scribblersdip, you could rift on a French nursery rhyme from your childhood. I understand some things translate harder than others — no corresponding word/phrase — but do feel free to post in French or English. Nursery rhymes incorporate universal themes, and many of those in English are no doubt rifts on ones in other languages.
      Just a thought for a Thursday.

  3. scribblersdip
    July 6, 2017

    hahaha – cyber devils and demons this morning – by internet connection just booted me – bastard! – so my comment got eaten!

    great prompt Lorraine – I love these kinds of things, they are just perfectly fitting for summer, and delicious enough to light bite 😉

    thanks for the shout out 😀

    • Lorraine
      July 6, 2017

      Most welcome.
      I thought this might be fun to play with. After all many nursery rhymes were never intended for children. Statements and social commentary comes in many forms.
      Glad you find the prompt a nice nosh on a summer’s day.

  4. Pingback: Jack and Jill | fmme writes poems

    • Lorraine
      July 6, 2017

      Thanks — your rhyme is so well executed! Jack and Jill in the most modern of contexts.

    • Lorraine
      July 6, 2017

      Wonderful romp — love how you worked in so many nursery rhyme characters.
      Thanks for playing around.

      • pensitivity101
        July 6, 2017

        Thanks Lorraine. It was a fun challenge!

  5. flashpoetguy
    July 6, 2017

    I have a little shadow
    that goes in and out with me.
    i wonder where my shadow goes
    when life is done with me.

    • Lorraine
      July 6, 2017

      Excellent question! Philosophical rift on nursery rhymes. Contrasting the sense of childhood with the end of adulthood. Where do our shadows go? Perhaps they come along . . .
      Thanks for playing along.

      • flashpoetguy
        July 7, 2017

        It was fun. Thanks, Lorraine.

  6. Jael Sook
    July 7, 2017

    Great prompt, Lorraine!

    • Lorraine
      July 7, 2017

      Thanks. And thanks to Pat for the original idea.

  7. Pingback: Stiff and Utter Nonsense | Scribbler's Dipstick

  8. scribblersdip
    July 7, 2017

    hahaha – I could write to this for weeks, months, minutes? seconds?? I had way too much fun with this – just what I needed, even if I was somewhat lazily reluctant – but this was just perfect – thanks Lorraine 😀

    https://scribblersdip.wordpress.com/2017/07/06/stiff-and-utter-nonsense/

    • Lorraine
      July 7, 2017

      Glad you had way too much fun writing it, because I had way too much fun reading it!
      Should the mad hatterness strike you again, our prompts are always open. We’re a 24/7, 365 kinda place.

      • scribblersdip
        July 8, 2017

        I’ll be thinking on it – might have to catch my breath in between romps! Glad you enjoyed it so much – I’m thinking, it’s one of my happier pieces – brings a smile to my face, even as I wonder, “did I write this?” LOL – the muse was in fine form for sure!

      • Lorraine
        July 8, 2017

        When the muse is playful, well, we must or should go on the playdate. My muse has deserted me; on my own. Sigh. She had a better offer, I’m afraid.

      • scribblersdip
        July 8, 2017

        no – she’s probably on a romp, or some R&R – they most often come back, sometimes we just have to wait …. you’ll see.
        Plat – damn, that’s 3 times I’ve tired to write “playdate” argh – these things are necessary! No reasons or special events needed 😀

  9. Pingback: Selling Seashells, by Prof. Shyla Shakespeare | GOD'S CHAIR

    • Lorraine
      July 7, 2017

      Glad it brought a smile and a laugh. I thoroughly enjoyed your expose on Sally and her sales pitch!

      • Jael Sook
        July 7, 2017

        Thanks so much–glad you liked it 🙂 🙂

  10. Pingback: Tale Weaver 127 nursery rhyme rifts: Humpty Trumpty x 3 | in 25 words more or less

  11. Pingback: Nursery Rhyme Rift Challenge – La vie est trop courte pour boire du mauvais vin

  12. tjparis
    July 7, 2017

    Hi there! Just discovered your challenge from God’s Chair! What a great idea. Thanks for the fun and here are two “make overs’ from me. Best wishes to you from Western Australia!

    https://amaviedecoeurentier.wordpress.com/2017/07/07/nursery-rhyme-rift-challenge/

    • Lorraine
      July 7, 2017

      You are more than welcome. I’m so glad you decided to play along — wonderful rifts on nursery rhymes. A delicious take on the classics!

  13. Pingback: Sur le pont de Nantes – Word Adventures

  14. Pingback: MLMM – Nursery Rhyme Rifts – The Bag Lady

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 6, 2017 by in Tale Weaver and tagged , , .
