Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille, June 28th 2017, Milarepa

Milarepa-statue-made-by-root-student-rechungpa

Dear friends of MLMM,

Welcome at a new episode of Heeding Haiku With … Last week I challenged you to create a haibun on the Summer Solstice, and I have read real beauties. Well … this week it is time for haiku and this time I have chosen to inspire you through a poem by the renown Tibetan poet and yogi, Milarepa (1052 – 1135 CE). He is known for his wisdom and his wonderful songs. Milarepa’s life is described in a wonderful novel titled “The Hundred Thousand Songs of Milarepa”. In his songs he shares his wisdom and knowledge about Buddha and his teachings.

I love to share here a part of one of his songs to inspire you:

Faith is the firm foundation of my house,
Diligence forms the high walls,
Meditation makes the huge bricks,
And Wisdom is the great corner-stone.
With these four things I build my castle,
And it will last as long as the Truth eternal!
Your worldly houses are delusions,
Mere prisons for the demons,
And so I would abandon and desert them

© Milarepa

Read and re-read the poem (this Tibetan poetry form is called “Mgur” by the way) try to experience the scenes and than try to catch those scenes in to haiku. Not an easy task this time I think, but … well I love to challenge you.

Have fun!

When you have written your haiku, please TAG Heeding Haiku with Chèvrefeuille and Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie. Then add your link to the Mister Linky widget below.

About Chèvrefeuille

I am a Dutch haiku poet. And I am the owner and host of the weblog "Carpe Diem, a daily haiku meme" on Blogger (or Blogspot). I am writing haiku since the late eighties and in 2005 I became an international known haiku poet and in 2011 ten of my haiku were included in a worldwide anthology "Spasms of Light". With that anthology I became an even more known haiku poet. In October 2012 I started my daily haiku meme.

5 comments on “Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille, June 28th 2017, Milarepa

  1. Pingback: Milarepa – By Sarah

  2. Pingback: Wisdom, a haiku | Bohemian Nerd

  3. Pingback: Wisdom, a haiku | Bohemian Nerd

  4. Rose
    June 28, 2017

    Creating my haiku woke me up 🙂

  5. Pingback: MLMM – Heeding Haiku – The Bag Lady

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 28, 2017 by in Uncategorized.
