Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille, April 19th 2017

Dear friends of MLMM,

Welcome at this week’s episode of Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille. Last week we had haibun to think over and this week it’s time (again) for haiku. Recently I saw the Dutch version of The Passion, maybe you know that The Passion is a modern way of telling the story of Jesus crucifixion.

This year I was intrigued by how the producers of The Passion brought Jesus’ loneliness into it. So that brought me the idea to give you “loneliness” as a theme to work with. So this week’s Heeding Haiku With … is about loneliness.

I found a nice haiku by Basho (1644-1694), one of the most famous haiku poets ever. I love to share that haiku (with a little explanation here with you:

ah, Kankodori,
deepen thou
my loneliness

© Basho

The Kankodori, by the way, is a bird which lives among the mountains far from the haunts of men, so that its very shape and form are almost unknown. Its voice, however, is somewhat like that of the wood-pigeon and is always heard in the distance. It is said to announce by its cry the approach of rain and of its coming cessation. Kankodori is a kigo (seasonword) for summer.

Sabishisa, loneliness, is the haiku equivalent of Mu in Zen, a state of absolute spiritual poverty in which, having nothing, we possess all.

Basho, in his above mentioned haiku, tells us that for him it is the Kankodori, its cooing voice in the distance, that can work this miracle of loneliness, of grace, in his heart.
Haiku are lonely, with its apparent poverty of form and material, their very appearance and look of richness of tone and rhythm. The loneliness of haiku is not that of the poet as a recluse, not that of desolate places and forgotten men, though it may be induced by them or be in resonance with them.
To end this episode’s theme ‘loneliness’ another great haiku by Basho in which we can feel the loneliness.

along the road
goes no one,
this autumn eve

© Basho

For (real) closure a haiku written by myself:

wandering
through the city park near by
just the wind and me

© Chèvrefeuille

Well … I think I have given you enough inspiration for this week’s episode of Heeding Haiku With …

Have fun!

When you have written your haiku, please TAG Heeding Haiku with Chèvrefeuille and Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie. Then add your link to the Mister Linky widget below.

About Chèvrefeuille

I am a Dutch haiku poet. And I am the owner and host of the weblog "Carpe Diem, a daily haiku meme" on Blogger (or Blogspot). I am writing haiku since the late eighties and in 2005 I became an international known haiku poet and in 2011 ten of my haiku were included in a worldwide anthology "Spasms of Light". With that anthology I became an even more known haiku poet. In October 2012 I started my daily haiku meme.

8 comments on “Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille, April 19th 2017

  1. Pingback: Haiku #2 – Stories

  2. Sangbad
    April 19, 2017

    It’s going to be fun…because I had wrote few on loneliness already…so it’s may be going to a collection…and also loneliness is my favorit topic to explore…

    • Chèvrefeuille
      April 22, 2017

      am looking forward to it

      • Sangbad
        April 23, 2017

        I have submitted my link…will wait for you reviews…

  3. Pingback: The fallen – Playing with words

  4. Pingback: Books & Cigarette – Thoughts of Words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 19, 2017 by in Uncategorized.
