Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

First Line Friday 14.04.17

Its that every other Friday again where I give you a first line, and you all get to write the rest. This prompt alternates with Amanda’s Music Prompts, so make sure to check back next Friday for some musical inspiration.

I’ll provide the first line, you get to write whatever comes afterward. Length, genre, and structure is completely up to you. Feel free to modify the line as you see fit, adding punctuation, quotes, or other bits if so desired. Or for more of a challenge, change nothing. You have a week to write it, enjoy!

Include the first line of course! Tag it Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, First Line Fridays, and short fiction. Create a link (ping-back) to this post and add your link to Mister Linky below.

Your line for this week is:

I’m going to tell you how I lost my inheritance.

About Dylan Hughes

Always short fiction, two times a week.

9 comments on “First Line Friday 14.04.17

  1. Lorraine
    April 14, 2017

    Excellent first line!

  2. Henrietta Watson
    April 15, 2017

    Reblogged this on All About Writing and more.

  3. Pingback: First Line Friday 14.04.17 | Morpethroad

  4. Sal Buttaci
    April 15, 2017

    HOW I LOST MY INHERITANCE

    I’m going to tell you how I lost my inheritance.

    I know what you’re thinking: You? An inheritance? Your black-sheep, pig-farm Uncle Bert left you a row of dilapidated sties in corny Iowa? What’s that make you now, the deposed Oink King of Porkland?

    No, my inheritance was nothing so down-to-earth as that.

    You could have figured it out if you knew who my father was. Father and son had parted ways long before any of you crossed my path. He was the renowned scientist and inventor Dr. Quintus Morgan; I took the name Elisha Otis, the fellow who invented the elevator. It suited my up-and-down world just fine.

    Quintus Morgan was no Ward Cleaver or any of those early TV dads who sat at the dinner table and asked his boys “How was your day?” He never was at table. My mother the martyr, my brother Saul and I hardly saw him. He ate at the lab. He slept at the lab. He worked long hours, which he called gratifying, the joy of his life. So, what exactly were we? Chopped liver?

    As mentioned, Daddy Quintus was an inventor. The HeadGear, light and hardly visible, that replaced the TV, the IQ-phone, the movie theaters. Thanks to him, the social skill of conversation reached an all-time low. But believe me, HeadGear was not the cause of our estrangement. We simply failed to see eye to eye. He was never there. He lived his life within the strict scheduling he had decided on years before. Saul and I wondered why he even married. And had us two kids. We had no idea.

    What we did know was, despite the metastasis of cancer he chose to ignore, he continued slaving over his final invention: the perfect humanoid, a robot that did one better than Alonzo’s human clone: it could not die, not electronically nor humanly. My father’s last words? “This will change the world.”

    After his funeral, which I chose not to hypocritically attend, the perfect robot arrived at my door. It had delivered itself! It promised me a new way of surmounting the downslides of life. It said he would be there for me. He said my father bequeathed him to be.

    I listened to Adam the humanoid speak. I had to ask, then demand, that he leave.
    Adam’s voice. It was the voice I had rarely heard. I could not bear hearing it now till I died.

    He spoke in my father’s voice.

    #

  5. Pingback: Day 17 – NaPoWriMo/A to Z Challenge/ First Line Friday FF: Poem – Free Verse — “Full Moon of Neurotic Night” #NaPoWriMo #AtoZchallenge #FLF #poetry  – Mandibelle16

  6. Pingback: (f) SPF/ 2 MLMM/ An Adolescent Dragon’s Lesson (4.18) | Jules in Flashy Fiction

  7. julespaige
    April 18, 2017

    Only mashed 3 prompts in 227 words.
    An Adolescent Dragon’s Lesson

  8. Pingback: P is for Pantoum | Ladyleemanila

Leave a Reply

