Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille, April 12th 2017,

Kamishibai_artist_at_kyomizudera_1

Kamishibai

Dear friends of MLMM,

Welcome at a new episode of Heeding Haiku With … This week it’s time for haibun. As I started writing haiku back into the eighties I hadn’t heard of haibun until I read Basho’s “Narrow Road Into The Deep North” (Oku No Hosomichi), the most famous haibun ever I think.
As I read that haibun I was caught by its beauty and by its goal, bringing prose and poetry together. Back in 2013 I did some research for my own website and I ran into a nice “haibun-like” kind of art in ancient Japan. That kind of art was “kamishibai”, let me tell you a little bit more about it:

Kamishibai (紙芝居), literally “paper drama”, is a form of storytelling that originated in Japanese Buddhist temples in the 12th century, where monks used emakimono (picture scrolls) to convey stories with moral lessons to a mostly illiterate audience.
Kamishibai endured as a storytelling method for centuries, but is perhaps best known for its revival in the 1920s through the 1950s. The gaito kamishibaiya, or kamishibai storyteller, rode from village to village on a bicycle equipped with a small stage. On arrival, the storyteller used two wooden clappers, called hyoshigi, to announce his arrival. Children who bought candy from the storyteller got the best seats in front of the stage. Once an audience assembled, the storyteller told several stories using a set of illustrated boards, inserted into the stage and withdrawn one by one as the story was told. The stories were often serials and new episodes were told on each visit to the village.

Now … back to our Heeding Haiku With … episode of this week. I love to challenge you to create a haibun inspired on an image. I will give you two images and you are free to choose which of the two images you are going to use.

lighthouse-2-m

lighthouse

departure

departure

Well … I think I have given you enough inspiration for this week’s episode of Heeding Haiku With …

Have fun!

When you have written your haiku, please TAG Heeding Haiku with Chèvrefeuille and Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie. Then add your link to the Mister Linky widget below.

About Chèvrefeuille

I am a Dutch haiku poet. And I am the owner and host of the weblog "Carpe Diem, a daily haiku meme" on Blogger (or Blogspot). I am writing haiku since the late eighties and in 2005 I became an international known haiku poet and in 2011 ten of my haiku were included in a worldwide anthology "Spasms of Light". With that anthology I became an even more known haiku poet. In October 2012 I started my daily haiku meme.

4 comments on “Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille, April 12th 2017,

  1. Pingback: Departure – Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille, April 12th 2017 | Ladyleemanila

  2. Sal Buttaci
    April 12, 2017

    HAYDEN PLANETARIUM

    Leaving home a bit late, we managed by the skin of our teeth to pass through Hayden Planetarium doors for the evening’s last performance. Once seated, we marveled at the dark artificial sky above us, a pageant of galactic bodies bound to be entertaining. Odds were good that later on we’d dwell on how realistic the show was, but for now we took it all in, watched a comet that leaked a smoky tail across heaven’s river of floating stars.

    Celestial waters
    Planets sailing azure seas
    Far from Earth’s tumult

    #

  3. Pingback: Heeding Haiku With … – Mick E Talbot Poems

  4. Pingback: My Memories of Her (Kamishibai): A Collaborative Project – Thoughts of Words

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 12, 2017 by in Uncategorized.
