Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Writing Prompt November 13 – Abecedarian

Glagolitic Alphabet

Glagolitic Alphabet

Greetings everyone! The drizzle and storm, in the grayness and cold of November, makes every one of us crave to live the writing dream: be cozy with a cup of tea and coffee and let inspiration run wild. I think this is the perfect time to direct our skills towards challenges.

Hence why, this week, I would like you to write using the Alphabet to challenge yourself.

To give you more inspiration , direction or idea, here are a few examples to guide you:

  • Write a poem where every next word begins with the next letter of the alphabet.
  • Write a poem where every word begins with the same letter
  • Write a tale/piece of flash fiction, where you will use every letter of the alphabet to craft your scenes. The words should be key elements in the sentence/scene
  • Write a tale/story/piece where you will create a story that centers on the alphabet: be it a certain one letter, or the alphabet entirely. For example a story of how the letter A came into existence. Another example: Consonants are plotting against the letter R.
  • Take an alphabet that is not English or your native language. Try something exotic, try old alphabets (an example would be Glagolitic alphabet). Observe the symbols, let them inspire you and translate them into a piece of poetry or story.
  • Try to tackle writing a poem or a piece of prose in writing forms such as Palindrome, Anagram, Acrostic, Reverse Acrostic.
  • In case you are both artistically and literary inspired, try writing a single letter into the center of the paper/online document. Craft and play and write around it. Post the results, in written and visual form
  • Write a piece with humour in mind, where you will replace every letter M, for example, on the beginning of a word or verb, with some other letter, for example S.

As you can see, the ideas are endless , and I do not wish to overwhelm you guys. Besides the stuff I listed, anything that comes to your mind is more than welcome. Let the prompt guide you and inspire you, even if it feels like it is beyond limits of sanity.

I welcome entries in all forms!

When you are done writing your piece, post it and don’t forget to link up/pingback, and tag your post with MindLoveMisery’s Menagerie, creative writing, prompt, Alphabet.

Enjoy writing and creating! I look forward to reading your entries!

*I often see people confused about this, so I thought I write it down here:

HOW TO PINGBACK?

In order to pingback to this post, and make a link to your entry appear in the comment section, all you have to do is include a direct link of this post anywhere in your own post. Hope this helps!

About Oloriel

Dreamer in the clouds

26 comments on “Writing Prompt November 13 – Abecedarian

  1. Pingback: Writing Prompt November 13 – Abecedarian – ladyleemanila

  2. Pingback: Abecedarian ~ Sandstorm Journey – Word Adventures

  3. Stephanie Colpron
    November 13, 2016

    A challenging one. I hadn’t written an ABC in a long while. It was interesting. Thank you for a great prompt @oloriel

    • Oloriel
      November 13, 2016

      I really liked your poem! It is admirable you managed to follow the not so easy guidelines, and produce a poem and a well rounded story that was very powerful and emotional.
      I am really happy you decided to take the challenge and I hope you had fun participating!

      • Stephanie Colpron
        November 13, 2016

        It was really fun. The last ABCs I did were within a Lord of the Rings set up (not quite fan fiction but well) more than 10 years ago. I wondered for a long moment whether my muse would go back to familiar grounds or if something new would happen. It was very satisfying to get that feel of a poem in prose.

  4. my frilly freudian slip
    November 13, 2016

    a beastly challenge dare enter fine games have I judged knotty like mlm’s newest obstacle preventing quiet restful sunday toil unless very well xeroed yellow zero.
    Well, I tried. First go — had to keep saying abcdefg . . . .
    Very, very, very difficult, for me prompt. we shall have to see.

    • Oloriel
      November 13, 2016

      This sounds really great! When I was writing my first poem like this, i also had to sing the “a b c d” song all the while! So don’t fret, and keep writing! 🙂

      • my frilly freudian slip
        November 15, 2016

        I’m mired in ms, buried in bs, covered in cs, deranged by ds, and swamped by ss, a, b, c, d, e, f, g . . . .

  5. Pingback: (f) SPF, MLMM prompts FoF & Abecedairian / Undermined Diamond? (11.13) | Jules in Flashy Fiction

  6. julespaige
    November 13, 2016

    I stuck my Abecedarian in-between two paragraphs.
    And mashed three prompts in this little scene:
    Undermined Diamond?

  7. Pingback: NanoPoblano 2016 – Day Fourteen – EarthQuakes hits New Zealand Again – Ramblings of a Writer

  8. Cara H (The Real Cie)
    November 14, 2016

    I used this technique on my 1820-ish word chapter for my NaNoWriMo. I will never do that again!

    • Oloriel
      November 15, 2016

      Oh my, this is amazing! I hope the challenge did not make you hate NaNo! 🙂

  9. Pingback: Writing Prompt November 13 – Abecedarian – It All Makes Sense…. | Morpethroad

  10. Pingback: an abcxyzarian in honour of edward gorey – Lorraine & her frilly freudian slip

  11. https://myfrillyfreudianslip.wordpress.com/2016/11/15/an-abcxyzarian-in-honour-of-edward-gorey/
    Mr. Linky hates me & won’t take my entry so here it is naked, for all the world to see — the url to a something!

    • Oloriel
      November 16, 2016

      We need to start a “Hated by Mr. Linky” club 😀

      • A least a page on Face Book, lol

      • Oloriel
        November 16, 2016

        Yes, I completely agree! I often try to find a solution for my problem with Linky online, but I never find anything that can help me.
        I also did not yet spot a good alternative to use instead, so its a lose-lose at the moment :/

      • He doesn’t like me in general and will do all sorts of nasty things to make my life more difficult. I hear from Yves he doesn’t think you exist.

      • Oloriel
        November 16, 2016

        Yes, he tells me my email is registered, when I try to use it it says “no user with this email found” and like that, back and forth. He also does not like any other emails I tried to offer him lol

      • He thinks you are a ghost, a wraith, a spirit word pressing in the night I guess. Nasty little man.

  12. Pingback: Alpha Crazed  | Coloring Outside the Lines

  13. I came here via Jules from Flashy Fiction. Here is mine https://irenewaters19.com/2016/11/17/abecedarian-flash/

Leave a Reply

