Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Friday Night Music Prompt #64: I Shall Be Released

Port_Arthur_inside_Modell_Prison

“I Shall be Released, was written by Bob Dylan, but made famous by the band. The singer is dreaming of the day he shall be released from prison. I think it acts as a metaphor for all the real and imaginary, visible and invisible prisons we and others put ourselves inside.

The first video is from the movie The Last Waltz of the Band’s final concert; the second from The Mama Cass Show (1969): Mama Cass; Joanie Mitchell; and Mary Travers singing an all female rendition.

I shall be released.
They say every man needs protection,
They say every man must fall.
Yet I swear I see my reflection
Some place so high above this wall.

They say everything can be replaced,
Yet every distance is not near.
So I remember every face
Of every man who put me here.
I see my light come shining
From the west onto the east.
Any day now, any day how,
I shall be released.
They say every man needs protection,
They say every man must fall.
Yet I swear I see my reflection
Some place so high above this wall.
I see my light come shining
From the west onto the east.
Any day now, any day how,
I shall be released.
Standing next to me in this lonely crowd

Is a man who swears he’s not to blame.
All day long I hear him shout so loud,
Crying out that he was framed.
I see my light come shining
From the west onto the east.
Any day now, any day how,
I shall be released.

Writer: Bob Dylan, 1967; recorded by the Band 1968

For our swingin’ Friday soirees we accept everything from quatrains to karaoke. Please tag your post MindLoveMisery’s Menagerie and Friday Music Prompt, and create a pingback to this page. Don’t forgot to visit our customized Mr. Linky button and add your name to the list.

I look forward to what “I Shall Be Released” releases in you.

image: Modell Prison, Port Arthur from Wikipedia Commons

 

 

About a darkened house

{my} mind {is} the gap between a darkened house and a lightened room.

3 comments on “Friday Night Music Prompt #64: I Shall Be Released

  1. Pingback: released – My Frilly Freudian Slip

  2. my frilly freudian slip
    October 14, 2016

    This selection scheduled weeks ago made timely by the announcement of Bob Dylan’s being awarded the 2016 Nobel Prize in Literature!

  3. Pingback: Friday Music (Prompt) Challenge: Poem – Mirrored Refrain – “Someday Released” #amwriting #poetry – Mandibelle16

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 14, 2016 by in Music Prompt and tagged , , , .
