Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Friday Night Music Prompt #62: Never Too Late for Love & Keep Me in Your Heart by Warren Zevon

Holding Hands[1]image: carolinejournal5.blogspot.com

Tonight’s soiree is a bit different. I have two love songs from Warren Zevon. One, it’s “Never Too Late for Love” suggests there is always hope, possibilities, a better tomorrow. In love, in life.

“Keep Me in Your Heart,” written and recorded not long before Zevon’s death is a plea for love to outlast life. Neither is a traditional love song – but both speak to love. Maybe you’d like to try your hand at a love song.

Never too late for love

You can’t find him
The way is dim
You feel like giving up
You ache for her
Rest assured
It’s never too late for love
You say you’re tired
How I hate to hear you use that word
Every time it hurts
You say you’re tired
How I hate to hear you use that word
Everybody hurts
Things go wrong
The days are long
You think you’ve had enough
You feel discouraged
Rest assured
It’s never too late for love
You say you’re tired
How I hate to hear you use that word
Every time it hurts
You say you’re tired
How I hate to hear you use that word
Everybody hurts
Who am I to say
I know the way you feel
I’ve felt your pain
And I know your sorrow
You could try to let the past slip away
Live for today
Don’t stop believing in tomorrow
You’ve come so far
The way is dark
You feel like turning back
But the way is black. . .
The way is black. . .
You can’t find him
The way is dim
You feel like giving up
You ache for her
Rest assured
It’s never too late for love
You say you’re tired
How I hate to hear you use that word
Every time it hurts
You say you’re tired
How I hate to hear you use that word
Everybody hurts
Who am I to say
I know the way you feel ?
I’ve felt your pain
And I know your sorrow
You could try to let the past slip away
Live for today
Don’t stop believing in tomorrow

“Keep Me In Your Heart”

Shadows are falling and I’m running out of breath
Keep me in your heart for awhile
If I leave you it doesn’t mean I love you any less
Keep me in your heart for awhile
When you get up in the morning and you see that crazy sun
Keep me in your heart for awhile
There’s a train leaving nightly called when all is said and done
Keep me in your heart for awhile
Sha-la-la-la-la-la-la-li-li-lo
Keep me in your heart for awhile
Sha-la-la-la-la-la-la-li-li-lo
Keep me in your heart for awhile
Sometimes when you’re doing simple things
around the house
Maybe you’ll think of me and smile
You know I’m tied to you like the buttons on
your blouse
Keep me in your heart for awhile
Hold me in your thoughts, take me to your dreams
Touch me as I fall into view
When the winter comes keep the fires lit
And I will be right next to you
Engine driver’s headed north to Pleasant Stream
Keep me in your heart for awhile
These wheels keep turning but they’re running out
of steam
Keep me in your heart for awhile
Sha-la-la-la-la-la-la-li-li-lo
Keep me in your heart for awhile
Sha-la-la-la-la-la-la-li-li-lo
Keep me in your heart for awhile
Keep me in your heart for awhile

Here at the Friday soirees we are open to all sorts of responses – whatever and however the music moves you. When you’ve finished your post, kindly tag it Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie and Friday Music Challenge. Create a ping back, and don’t forget to register your contribution through our designer Mr. Linky button.

About a darkened house

{my} mind {is} the gap between a darkened house and a lightened room.

6 comments on “Friday Night Music Prompt #62: Never Too Late for Love & Keep Me in Your Heart by Warren Zevon

  1. Pingback: Out of my reach – ladyleemanila

  2. Pingback: Loved | KO Rural Mad As Hell Blog

  3. drkottaway
    September 30, 2016

    I listened to these after posting my poem from two weeks ago…. https://drkottaway.com/2016/09/30/loved/

  4. Pingback: Friday Night Music Prompt #62: Never Too Late for Love & Keep Me in Your Heart by Warren Zevon | Morpethroad

  5. Pingback: Friday Music Challenge: Poetry – Licentia – “Love Anew” #poetry #amwriting – Mandibelle16

Leave a Reply

