Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Tale Weaver #86, September 22: “I wanna be a paperback writer.”

 Paperback%20Writer%20640x480

image: revolutions5.com 

 

A slightly different take on the Tale Weaver’s prompt tonight. A multi-media presentation.

What is your great novel/novella/collection of short/flash fiction/poetry/ pulp paperback/graphic novel? Of course, you don’t have to write it, just write about it.

Weave any sort of tale;  in the abstract or concrete; as you or a character of yours; being accepted for publication; editing process; book tours – remember you “just wanna be a paperback writer.”

To get you in the mood: a one minute preview of “Paperback Writer;” and a lovely, freakish animated satire, by Stevie Riks, of the making of “Paperback Writer” by the Beatoons

Plus lyrics from the song:

Dear Sir or Madam, will you read my book?
It took me years to write; will ya take a look?
It’s based on a novel by a man named Lear
And I need a job, so I wanna be a paperback writer

It’s a dirty story, of a dirty man
And his clinging wife, [who] doesn’t understand
His son is working, for the Daily Mail
It’s a steady job, but he wants to be a
Paperback writer

It’s a thousand pages, give or take a few
I’ll be writing more in a week or two
I can make it longer, if you like the style
I can change it round, and I wanna be a
Paperback writer

If you really like it, you can have the rights
It could make a million for you overnight
If you must return it, you can send it here
But I need a break, and I wanna be a
Paperback writer

Once you’ve woven your tale on being a paperback writer, please tag with MindLoveMisery’s Menagerie, and Tale Weaver. Create a ping back to this post. Pop on back over to this page, and click on custom design Mr. Linky button. As gremlins do occasionally lurk here, you can leave the url for your post in the comments section.

Good luck as a paperback writer and tale weaver.

About taleweavering

"I think I made you up inside my head.” Sylvia Plath

13 comments on “Tale Weaver #86, September 22: “I wanna be a paperback writer.”

  1. Suzanne
    September 22, 2016

    A fascinating prompt. What book would I write if I were to write a book? Hmmm – I will have to think about that.

    • a darkened house
      September 23, 2016

      I hope something comes to mind!

      • Suzanne
        September 23, 2016

        I’ll give it some serious thought on the weekend.

  2. Pingback: Tale Weaver #86, September 22: “I wanna be a paperback writer.” – Dingle Crestworthy, Paperback writer | Morpethroad

  3. Pingback: Tale Weavers Prompt: Poem – Octelle – “Story Line Wrote” – Mandibelle16

  4. Pingback: My next big project? – Art and Life

  5. Suzanne
    September 24, 2016

    I sat down and thought about this comment for quite a while. Here’s what I came up with – https://artalsolife.com/2016/09/23/my-next-big-project/
    Thanks for the opportunity to clarify my thoughts on this subject.

    • taleweavering
      September 24, 2016

      It’s an amazing think piece and a project you might seriously consider. The unconventional book idea I’ve had too and it makes me excited to think of trying to write my novelettes/character sketches outside my head.
      Thanks so much for participating.

      • Suzanne
        September 24, 2016

        Thanks. I’m rethinking the unconventional book idea already – at least with self publishing on Kindle. I had an idea for a book of poems and images to self publish but then found uploading images to Kindle is quite complicated. Maybe we could get some blogging forum going where we can exchange ideas and information on how to go about creating unconventional books.

      • taleweavering
        September 24, 2016

        That would be awesome.

  6. Pingback: Tale Weaver #86, September 22: “I wanna be a paperback writer.” – ladyleemanila

  7. Pingback: 3 tilus on paper back writer – Phylor's Blog

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 22, 2016 by in Tale Weaver and tagged , , , .
