Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Writing Prompt September 18th: Tell me so I can tell you

Greetings, everyone, to this, in my opinion, interlude to Autumn Sunday. This week, for the prompt, I thought we do something that we are all already doing when we are writing, but this time, without our consciousness. What do I mean?

For this prompt, I will present you with a painting. it will be a still life one, but if you don’t find it inspirational or find it boring everyone will use the same photo, pick your own. Here is the painting:

still-life

*Image found HERE

For the prompt, I want you to look at this painting (or the painting of your choice) and describe it to me: just simply describe what is there. 

Try to not use any comparisons or excessive adjectives, or even imputing a personal opinion when describing the items. The idea is to list them and name them, in a way you see fit, in an order you see fit.

The purpose of this exercise is to allow the reader to interpret our art however they feel like it. In order for them to do so , our poem, story , book or a photograph needs to offer them a common ground. Often when we are writing, we are exploding with creativity, or ideas, or a lot of emotions bursting out together and our product may feel like our sole selves, our soul on the paper or canvas.

I am hoping this exercise will provide an opportunity for you to try out and see how each reader of your work can and most probably will see things differently. This big orange crab? To me it will mean the sea, to someone else a lavish meal, to someone third undeniable lust.  I am hoping that by participating in this prompt you can discover many meanings in your writing, perhaps even the ones you did not see before, and play around with it, perhaps even manipulate it for an outcome.

Hope you have fun writing and whether you present a poem, a story, a flash, or just about anything, I will be very happy to see it.

Please do link up, pingback and tag your post with Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie.

About Oloriel

Dreamer in the clouds

13 comments on “Writing Prompt September 18th: Tell me so I can tell you

  1. kim881
    September 18, 2016

    Thank you Oloriel, I really enjoyed this prompt as it made me look very closely at the image so that I didn’t focus only on the things that interested me. I had to download the picture and enlarge it as my eyesight isn’t wonderful these days but that helped me to see more of the picture. I think I might have missed out some details that I couldn’t see so well. I can’t see Mr Linky today, so here’s my post:
    https://writinginnorthnorfolk.com/2016/09/18/still-life-with-crab/

    • Oloriel
      September 18, 2016

      I am very glad you enjoyed the prompt! I think way too often in our writing and daily life, we tend to use emotions and vocabulary especially to “convince” another in our way of thinking, instead of letting them share their own. The purpose of this prompt was to stay open and listen 😀

  2. kim881
    September 18, 2016

    Oh,. Mr Linky has just popped up!

    • Oloriel
      September 18, 2016

      Yves added it, because it just does not work for me 😦 The utility refuses to accept/recognise my email, and I am yet to find a solution for it, though I do not think that is the issue at all. I think there might be problems because I am still on Windows XP, and more and more stuff is stopping to work.

  3. Pingback: Writing Prompt September 18th: Tell me so I can tell you | Morpethroad

  4. Michael
    September 19, 2016

    Here is my observation Oloriel, this was more difficult than I first thought.

    https://summerstommy.com/2016/09/18/writing-prompt-september-18th-tell-me-so-i-can-tell-you/

    • Oloriel
      September 19, 2016

      I am glad you took the challenge, I love what you did with it!

      • Michael
        September 19, 2016

        Thank you… 🙂

  5. Pingback: Waiting for Richard | georgeplacepoetry by Debi Swim

  6. Pingback: (s) 2 MLMM / Ghostly Visitation on the Table (9.19) | Jules Longer Strands of Gems

  7. julespaige
    September 20, 2016

    I remain a rebel…especially with regard to instructions:

    Ghostly Visitation on the Table

    • Oloriel
      September 20, 2016

      That’s awesome, I love a good writing rebellion! 😀

  8. Pingback: Still Life with Crab – writing in north norfolk

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 18, 2016 by in Freestyle, Poetry, Written Prompt and tagged , , , , , , .
