Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

B&P Shadorma & Beyond – August 13, 2016

Hello!

Picture from The Book of the City of Ladies written by Christine de Pisan

Sorry I’m late but I’ve been very concentrated on my preparations for the yearly Medieval Ritterspiele (or Medieval Games) at Sluderno in South Tyrol (Northern Italy).   I do a lot of period sewing during this time of year and study about the life time and crafts of my chosen period (1430 circa).

This year I’ve sewn a Dominican monk’s habit for one of our reenactors, a linen shirt and felt hat (a pre-capitanescu pill-box type hat popular at the time) for my son and I’m now finishing up by sewing up a smock  and another surcote for myself.  I’ve also been studying looms and knitting looms (a very interesting subject) for demonstrations – for example I was totally surprised to learn that crochet was only invented in the 19th century and that modern knitting came to us from the Muslim world! If you’re interested here’s just one of many articles on the subject: Knitty History 101 by By Julie Theaker.

One of the most interesting things I’ve come across during the past few years is how the role of women was really a lot less restrictive at times than is commonly believed.  Though truth be told there was usually a distinct role division especially among the upper social classes, women had a lot more to say and do than is commonly imagined.

One of the most interesting women I’ve come across was Catherine de Pisan (sometimes written Pizan) – here’s a brief video about her and you’ll see that she influenced even some of our most noted modern poets:

34 poems by Christine de Pisan can be found on Poem Hunter Com … here’s one I especially liked:

Farewell, my lady dear and dread,
Farewell, of all sovereign and queen,
Farewell, perfect and sacred head,
Farewell, who dost all honour mean,
Farewell, true heart, loyal and clean,
Farewell, best flower the world doth bear,
Farewell, yet not farewell, O white and fair !

Farewell, O wise, that no ill said,
Farewell, river that made life green,
Farewell, in whom fame harboured,
Farewell, voice that all ears could win,
Farewell, solace of all my teen,
Farewell, whose grace is wide as air,
Farewell, yet not farewell, O white and fair !

Farewell, soft look that through me sped,
Farewell, more fair than Helen queen,
Farewell, body and sweet soul wed,
Farewell, thou most gracious demesne,
Farewell, pole-star, joyous and keen,
Farewell, fountain of valour rare,
Farewell, yet not farewell, O white and fair !

Farewell, Princess of noblest mien,
Farewell, thou aweing smile serene,
Farewell, without fault, sin’s despair,
Farewell, yet not farewell, O white and fair !

Here she has effectively used repetition in her poem to create rhythm.  Today I would like to ask you to write a shadorma or poem in Christine de Pisan’s spirit.  Once you’ve done so, please tag Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie and B&P’s Shadorma &Beyond, then link up with the Mr. Linky app below.
Fare thee well
Fair and noble bloom
Without fault
Noblest mien
Fare thee well without goodbye
My lady dear and queen.© GSKoch
See you soon!  Ciao, Bastet.

About Bastet

I love to read...I like to write...I've travelled the world and seen the sites. I'm past my prime and feel so young, especially when near the young. I'm writing this blog, to remember, to think and to share...with the hopes that someone else will make a comment that will stimulate new thoughts and pathways. Actually, I'm a gabber, so the logical extension of gabbing is blogging! ;-)

13 comments on “B&P Shadorma & Beyond – August 13, 2016

  1. Pingback: Journey – WritersDream9

  2. Pingback: (s) 3 MLMM prompts Redefining Chaos (Shadorma Summation 8.13) | Jules Longer Strands of Gems

  3. julespaige
    August 13, 2016

    I’m the one whose been away and relaxing this time round. So I’ve used this prompt – to create a Shadorma Summation to include two other MLMM prompts:
    Redefining Chaos

    Enjoy your reenactment. 🙂

    • Bastet
      August 14, 2016

      I’ll be around to reading it soon too … sounds like an interesting piece! Happy relaxing and thanks for your enjoy 🙂 !

  4. Pingback: Farewell Rose – writing in north norfolk

  5. Rall
    August 14, 2016

    Georgia, this is such an informative interesting video. I found it very moving…The plight of women is still ongoing.Thank you so much . What a great idea for a prompt. And all that sewing as well….You are indeed a person of many talents… Enjoy your Medieval Games.

    • Bastet
      August 25, 2016

      Thanks Rall dear … I’m back now from the Middle Ages … and my poor bones are a bit creaky from the experience but it was fun in its own way 😉 Glad you enjoyed the video … it’s interesting to note that thanks to the plague in the 1300s women and surfs enjoyed a moment of equality – so many had died that these downtrodden had more say in what they could do with their lives. http://www.historyextra.com/article/premium/post-black-death-golden-age-medieval-women

  6. Pingback: my poetess sublime – Phylor's Blog

  7. taleweavering
    August 15, 2016

    https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2016/08/13/bp-shadorma-beyond-august-13-2016/ is my submission.
    Thanks for choosing Christine; I had forgotten her.
    Enjoy your re-enactment!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 13, 2016 by in Shadorma and tagged , , , , .
