Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

B&P’s Shadorma and Beyond – July 23, 2016

Hi all. Candy here filling in for a little while.

I’ve been inspired by so many poets, some well known, some not so much. I thought I’d share some of my favorites with you when it’s my turn to post and hope you are inspired to create your own Shadorma – or some other form you enjoy in response.

Let’s get started with Billy Collins. I was introduced to Billy Collin’s work by a dear man who lived in the retirement community where I worked. He was a life-long reader of poetry and we had many conversations about poems and poets we liked. We even started a monthly poetry group within the community.

What I like most about Billy Collins’ poems is that I don’t feel I have to search out some deeper meaning, although there is much to find in his poetry. I feel more like I’m having coffee with a friend and he is sharing some experience with me, often with a little surprise or a smile at the end.

Billy Collins is an American poet born in 1941. He was appointed Poet Laureate of the United States from 2001-2003 and selected as the New York State poet from 2004-2006. As a child his parents instilled in him a love of words that he has not outgrown.

When I consulted my ‘friend’ Google for more info about Billy Collins, I found a great TED Talk he had done in 2012. There is a lot of information about his life and achievements that I could share with you, but you can search for him on Google yourself. We have writing to do!

After you’ve written your poem post it on your own blog, tag it B&Ps Shadorma and Beyond and MindLoveMisery’sMenagerie, then link it here so we can all read and enjoy.
——-

Here’s the poem I chose to get us started.

Carry

I want to carry you
and for you to carry me
the way voices are said to carry over water.

Just this morning on the shore,
I could hear two people talking quietly
in a row boat on the far side of the lake.

They were talking about fishing,
then one changed the subject,
and, I swear, they began talking about you.

© Billy Collins

I hear your
voice blow in the breeze
your heartbeat
in the waves
that lap against my small boat
and I row homeward

© cgk 2016

Thanks for joining me. Looking forward to reading your creations.

About Candy

I am a reader, a writer, and a snapper of photos

21 comments on “B&P’s Shadorma and Beyond – July 23, 2016

  1. taleweavering
    July 23, 2016

    Welcome, Candy, to the mlmm team.

  2. Pingback: lake: voice: lake | adarkenedhouse

  3. Pingback: Voice – writing in north norfolk

  4. georgeplace2013
    July 23, 2016

    I love Billy Collins’ poems!

  5. Rall
    July 23, 2016

    I love Billy too.Your Shadorma is excellent Candy.

  6. humbird
    July 23, 2016

    Hi Candy, the link – not working, I post here.

    http://humbirdstar.blogspot.com/2016/07/on-my-path.html Thanks for hosting! Best!

  7. C.C.
    July 23, 2016

    Beautiful shadorma, Candy 🙂

  8. julespaige
    July 23, 2016

    Welcome…Be back later today or tomorrow 🙂

    • Candy
      July 24, 2016

      Thanks – i’ll look for you 😉

  9. Pingback: Eyes – WritersDream9

  10. Pingback: (s) MLMM Shadorma +/ heavy load? (7.24) 16 | Jules Longer Strands of Gems

  11. julespaige
    July 24, 2016

    Something is not working with the linky text – the link is not there. Perhaps a piece of the code is missing?

    So here is my series link:

    heavy load?

    • Candy
      July 25, 2016

      I had some trouble with Mr Linky. It worked for some and not for others. Hopefully I’ll get it right when it’s my turn to post again.

      • julespaige
        July 25, 2016

        I’ve done that…not copy the entire link and then just enough to make the link not work. No worries. it’s all a learning process…each and everyday. Just when I think I figure something out…there’s some kind of update that changes how things work. 🙂

  12. Bastet
    July 26, 2016

    Hello Candy … great first post and not to worry about Mr. Linky … I fixed it up for you and sent you an e-mail. It’s a bit tricky the first time around.

    • Candy
      July 27, 2016

      Thanks for you help and support

      • Bastet
        July 28, 2016

        No problem-I’m only sorry I didn’t get to you sooner!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 23, 2016 by in B&P Shadorma & Beyond, Uncategorized and tagged , , .
