Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille July 6th 2016

Dear friends of MLMM,

Last week we had a haiku challenge to create haiku (or tanka) inspired on a quote by Confucius, so this week I love to challenge you to create a haibun. This week I thought let us go a little bit extreme. What does that mean? Let me explain what the challenge is this week.

This week’s haibun may have a maximum of 75 words including the haiku (or tanka). I will give you an example of an “extreme” haibun (this one was titled “Melt”):

After the rough and cold winter. Snow is finally melting. I can smell Spring and in wonder I will look to the sprouting trees and bushes as if I saw it for the first time.
I bow my head in front of Buddha who’s smile is seen again now the snow has melted.

finally again
I can see the smile of Buddha
the snow has gone

© Chèvrefeuille (2013)

But … this is a winter / spring haibun and here on the Northern hemisphere it is summer. So I love to challenge you to create a summer haibun with a maximum of 75 words (including the haiku).
To help you start I have a few “keywords” for you: beach, sunbathing, hot summernight. Of course these “keywords” you don’t need to use, but feel free to do so.

Have fun!

When you have written your haiku, please TAG Heeding Haiku with Chèvrefeuille and Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie. Then add your link to the Mister Linky widget below.

About Chèvrefeuille

I am a Dutch haiku poet. And I am the owner and host of the weblog "Carpe Diem, a daily haiku meme" on Blogger (or Blogspot). I am writing haiku since the late eighties and in 2005 I became an international known haiku poet and in 2011 ten of my haiku were included in a worldwide anthology "Spasms of Light". With that anthology I became an even more known haiku poet. In October 2012 I started my daily haiku meme.

5 comments on “Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille July 6th 2016

  1. Pingback: Peeling away Another Layer – writing in north norfolk

  2. Pingback: (s) MLMM haibun / less weight (7.6) | Jules Longer Strands of Gems

  3. julespaige
    July 6, 2016

    #2 is the incorrect link.
    Please use #3 or
    less weight

  4. Gradmama2011
    July 7, 2016

    https://mumbletymuse.com/2016/07/07/summer-dreaming/
    my link for the Haibun challenge. 🙂

    • Gradmama2011
      July 7, 2016

      oops…too many words! I will remove some of them from the edited version. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 6, 2016 by in Haibun, Haiku, Heeding Haiku, Uncategorized.
