Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

B&P’s Shadorma and Beyond – How To … – July 2, 2016

Hello Everyone!

Bastet here and it’s so nice to be back. I’m hoping everyone is doing great!  I see that whilst I was gone this column didn’t come out regularly … I’m afraid mine was an urgent call away and I couldn’t look for a sub and our Paloma is having quite a few problems of her own right now too and won’t be with us for a while.

For the above reason, I’d like to ask if there is anyone who’d be interested to sub for Paloma until she is able to carry her own weight again. If you are, just send an email to the creator of our blog Yves at kesaiserris@gmail.com and we will evaluate possible candidates.  The job will be to create a prompt on alternating Saturdays with me …. once I know who you are we can figure out exactly how Shadorma and Beyond will evolve, as evolve it must!  I’m hoping there are droves of you who wish to help!  😉

§§§§§§§§§§§

Last week Yves came up with an interesting idea for B&P … she did a  test run with detective fiction. Shadorma and Beyond is a poetry column and many of you might have felt a little odd trying to mix the two but Jules at Jules Longer Strands of Gems and Phylor with her one chapter Mystery Shadorma did a great job leading the way towards a new aspect of Shadorma and Beyond.  Instead of offering you a new poetry form (remember you can find our rather large glossary of poetry forms  HERE) I’m going to suggest a  genre … in this case a “How To or Instruction Booklet” which you will write in poetic form …

Now that we’ve got the genre we need some inspiration:

 

Tell me about etiquette in your area of the world …

For example, is it expected for people to ask permission to enter a room once they’ve been told to “come in” after knocking on the door?  It is in Italy and if you don’t know a person well it’s also expected of you to speak to that person referring to them as “she” (the Italian formal “Lei”  substituted the formal “Voi”, still used by the French, after the fall of fascism and the aristocracy in 1948).

Permesso” say the well-mannered
Who enter into my home or your manor –
A good guest
Will always request
Permission to enter –
and I,  not to be less
will immediately reply my yes
saying:
“Pray pray, she enters!”
(Prego, prego entra!)

© Gsk ‘16

This week you may choose any poetic form you like for your “How To” and it may be limited to just one  rule of etiquette …

Once you’ve written your piece ping and tag your work to B&P’s Shadorma and Beyond and then go to Mr. Linky and add your post url  not your whole blog address btw just the post address.

Oh and don’t forget to have fun – we’ll see what we can come up with next week!

Ciao, Bastet.

About Bastet

I love to read...I like to write...I've travelled the world and seen the sites. I'm past my prime and feel so young, especially when near the young. I'm writing this blog, to remember, to think and to share...with the hopes that someone else will make a comment that will stimulate new thoughts and pathways. Actually, I'm a gabber, so the logical extension of gabbing is blogging! ;-)

16 comments on “B&P’s Shadorma and Beyond – How To … – July 2, 2016

  1. Pingback: (s) MLMM Shadorma + / acteo (*Shadorma Summation 7.2) | Jules Longer Strands of Gems

  2. julespaige
    July 2, 2016

    Welcome back! You are very kind to include a link to my post.

    When in Italy for his work my husband heard Prego when answering the telephone. I never knew the significance that you shared. Thank you. I love learning new things.

    Seems like I am still going in circles, but my ‘personal issue’ fit the prompt, so:
    acteo

    • Bastet
      July 3, 2016

      Hello Jules, thanks for the welcome home! My pleasure to include your post – it was nicely done too.

      Yes “Prego” quite literally means I pray … so pray, like the old Elizabethan days .. but it now also a welcoming word but on a formal basis. I’m glad you enjoyed the post and I’m looking forward to reading your post.

  3. taleweavering
    July 2, 2016

    Thank you for the mention of my detective poetry. 🙂 Sorry to hear that Paloma is having problems — please give her my hello and hug.
    I am finishing off some etiquette poetry. And, may submit more later — got My Fair Lady in my head.

    • Bastet
      July 3, 2016

      It was my pleasure to mention your lovely detective poem … nicely done!

      I’m sure Paloma will be able to work out her problems soon … she’s a strong, intelligent woman – I’ll send your love to her for sure.

      I’m looking forward to ready your etiquette poetry and intrigued with the My Fair Lady reference – one of my all time favourites!

      • taleweavering
        July 4, 2016

        Yes — I love Shaw’s Pygmalion, and Audrey Hepburn/Rex Harrison musical movie version of the stage play. Oh, “On the Street Where You Live” still such a romantic song.

      • Bastet
        July 5, 2016

        I agree 100% – and I think I’m going to watch My Fair Lady this evening … 🙂

      • taleweavering
        July 5, 2016

        Wonderful! Enjoy! I’m thinking of reading Pygmalion again. Maybe even buy a copy to go with my other “important” literature.

      • Bastet
        July 13, 2016

        Sound like a plan …

  4. Pingback: Excuse me: guide to etiquette for the ages – Phylor's Blog

    • Bastet
      July 3, 2016

      LOL … that my dear is a ping 😉 I am glad you don’t pong!

  5. Pingback: Grumbling in the Queue – writing in north norfolk

  6. Candy
    July 3, 2016

    glad to see you here again!

    • Bastet
      July 5, 2016

      Thanks Candy, Glad to be back.

  7. Pingback: Closed – WritersDream9

Leave a Reply

