Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Friday Music Prompt 48: Fields of June

a0858977182_16[1]

 

“If a picture paints a thousand words/then a song paints a thousand pictures . . .” Emily Barker, “Disappear”

Last week, Rhodia stepped down as mlmm music maven. I will miss her musical interludes.

Next week Sanaa joins mlmm as a Friday Music Prompster. I will be in and out, giving her a hand.

Imagine. You are in the music hall/theatre as the lamps are dimmed. The pianist takes her place at the upright on the corner of the stage, a messy stack of music sheets clutched under her arm.

As the curtain opens, she plays a stirring melody. And there it is; what folks been telling you about – really are moving pictures. Seems just like you’re there when Pauline is tied to the railroad tracks. . . .

It’s 1981, and you’re bored, kickin’ it up in the basement, flicking through the tv channels, when you land on the musical video: Video Killed the Radio Star. MTV was born, starting the 2nd British [music] invasion since music videos were more prevalent among British bands at the time.

So, in honour of those first glimpses into a multimedia world, “Fields of June” combines the two nicely.

“Emily Barker is [an] award-winning songwriter and performer . . . . Her music is a blend of roots influences from country to English folk via 60s pop.” Frank Turner is a punk rocker/acoustic guitarist. Often sharing venues and/or tours, Emily and Frank, with the assistance of the Red Clay Halo [Trio], make this silent-movie-style video a real romp.

So much to consider here – unequally felt relationships; unrequited love; a humorous, satirical, ironic twist to a sad story; the story of love and miscommunications; silent movies; early music videos — life changing events?.

Please no zombies. I can’t read zombie stories. 😉

Confession time: I often just read over the lyrics, caught up in the words. The video is key to this week’s musical interlude. You can always turn off the volume.

To make it easier to see the two “speakers” in the lyrics, Frank is regular type; Emily is italicized.

Bit nervous about my first gig, but here goes: Emily Barker and Red Clay Halo featuring Frank Turner

The sky is grey it’s not blue
She doesn’t love me like she used to
There’s a cold wind blowing in these trees along the track
She doesn’t love me like she used to
Today I told my darling in the fields of June
That I do not love him like I used to
Well the wind began to blow and the sky turned from blue
When I told him that I do not love him like I used to
But I burnt my hands trying for our love
And I broke my nails too
So don’t accuse me now for going back on our vow
I’m gonna bury you in these fields of June
How the hell did it ever come to this?
How does she not love me like before?
I’m lonely and I’m sorry and I don’t know what to do
Since she told me that she doesn’t love me like she used to
Well baby I have reasons that you never listened to
As to why I do not love you like before
And you might be sorry and may not know what to do
But don’t bother me for I do not love you like I used to
But I burnt my hands trying for our love
And if you go I’ll break in two
So don’t you leave me now, don’t go back on our vow
Don’t you bury me in these fields of June
Together:

But I burnt my hands trying for our love
And if you go I’ll break in two
So don’t you leave me now, don’t go back on our vow
Don’t you bury me in these fields of June

credits: Photos.Fires.Fables, 2007; EP, Fields of June (2012; 2014)

video: Dear River/Frank Turner Tour, 2014

Use the above song and video as inspiration for any form of creative expression (including but not limited too short stories, poems, lyrics, artwork, photography, covers, music/dance videos etc.)

Alternatively, if you are a musician use this as an opportunity to showcase your own work.

You have 1 week to complete this challenge. You do not have to include the video but please mention the song/artist in your post.

When you’re done, TAG the post Music Challenge and Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, and add your link to the Link Button. And don’t forget to link to this post or copy your post’s URL into the comments. We can read your post sooner that way.

I’m always open to musical suggestions – put them in the comments box or email me: darkenedhouse@yahoo.com Hope Emily, et al inspire you. They inspire me.

About a darkened house

{my} mind {is} the gap between a darkened house and a lightened room.

8 comments on “Friday Music Prompt 48: Fields of June

  1. Pingback: Friday Music Prompt 48: Fields of June – The Thrill Still In Her Heart | Morpethroad

  2. Pingback: rose & duct tape | adarkenedhouse

  3. Pingback: Poetry challenge #36: Drowning leaves – ladyleemanila

  4. Pingback: Summer Melodrama – writing in north norfolk

  5. Pingback: broken rose – Phylor's Blog

  6. Sanaa Rizvi
    June 24, 2016

    Fantastic ❤ Looking forward to all the entries 🙂

  7. Pingback: Rose Petals

  8. a darkened house
    June 24, 2016

    “Thank you,” she said, “Just as I’m looking forward to Prompt Night.”

Leave a Reply

