Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

B&P’s Shadorma & Beyond – Shadorma and Quatrain – June 4th, 2016

Black Widow

Today I am jumping in (stumbling would be more apt) for Jen! I am no expert when it comes to forms and write almost exclusively freestyle poetry but I thought I’d give it a shot.
First lets begin with the Shadorma which is your go to form. A Shadorma is a non-rhyming 6-line poem in 3/5/3/7/7/5.

Here is a Shadorma I wrote by way of example
Heavy
Grey feathers
Stumble from my lips
Aphasic
Diffident
I am awkward as a child
But heavy within

I thought we’d go with the Quatrain today as it is one of my favorite forms. A Quatrain is a verse with four lines, or even a full poem containing four lines, having an independent and separate theme. Often one line consists of alternating rhyme.

Types of Quatrain

Ballad Stanza– Its rhyme scheme is abab with iambic tetrameter
Envelope Stanza – Its rhyme scheme is abba with iambic tetrameter
Goethe Stanza – Its rhyme scheme is abab but no meter.
Italian Quatrain – Its rhyme scheme is abba with iambic pentameter.
Hymnal Quatrain – This multi stanza contains three alternating rhymes with iambic trimester and iambic tetrameter. Rhyme scheme is a4 b3 c4 b3.
Elegiac Stanza – This uses abab rhyme scheme with iambic pentameter.
Memoriam Stanza – This uses abba rhyme scheme with iambic tetrameter.

I have an example here which I believe to be a Goethe Stanza but I could be mistaken (I assume it to be such because I do not understand meter and did not intentionally employ it).

Black Widow
(modeled after William Blake’s “The Tyger”)
Between thy marionette strings
A butterfly fastens its wings.
What pitiless mother or absent father
Could compose thy savage villainy?
=
Inside which vaulted shadow do you hide?
And by what vicious, machinating pride
Do you cause the hearts of men to falter
Such that all who draw near, will their paths alter?
=
What parsimonious appetite breeds
The unspeakable cruelty of your deeds?
What venom preys upon thy heart
That makes of murder a necessary art?
=
Upon my window pane you loom
Spinning silk threads into a killing room.
Flawless are thy careful ministrations
Death the favor of all expectations.
=
What dread landlord makes of a home, a grave
Such that all who enter by virtue enslave?
What sinister architect leaves no egress
Such that a veiled necropolis ensures success?
=
Between thy marionette strings
A butterfly fastens its wings.
What pitiless mother or absent father
Could compose thy savage villainy?

For the theme lets try: insects, arachnids, and other creepy crawlies.

Please TAG it B&P’s Shadorma & Beyond and MindLoveMisery’s Menagerie. Then add your link to the Mister Linky widget below.

About mindlovemisery

Music: PJ Harvey, Radio Head, Fleetwood Mac, David Usher/Moist, Johnny Cash, Portishead, Damien Rice (basically I am a 90s kid I like alternative, grunge, Industrial and other types of metal, oldies, punk, rock etc.) Authors: Sylvia Plath, James Baldwin, Edmund White, Arthur Rimbaud, Jim Carrol, Jeff Noon, etc. Movies: A Clock Work Orange, Fight Club, House of Flying Daggers (I like a lot of cult movies, horror, comedy, drama, I don't like action and fantasy is terrifying lol) Philosophical Beliefs: Buddhism, Daoism, Shintoism (before it changed under Nationalism), The Transcendent Order Favorite Video Game: Planescape Torment What I do: read, write, yoga, pilates, weight-lift, walk, study philosophy and psychology, dance like a crazy person, paint, dream etc. Qualities: stubborn, sarcastic, teasing, playful, open, flirtatious, eccentric, passionate, forgetful, open-minded I am 32 and married (almost 13 years) with a beautiful 5 year old daughter. Everyone thinks I'm a hippie.

5 comments on “B&P’s Shadorma & Beyond – Shadorma and Quatrain – June 4th, 2016

  1. julespaige
    June 5, 2016

    I think I’ll stumble with a series of Shadorma…I ain’t got no rhythm. I can’t feel the meter – I used to try the five line humorous Limerick – I just couldn’t ‘get it’. So I stopped.

    I like the Black Widow… but if you asked me what meter you used …I couldn’t say.
    I’m taking it slow today – I got up early and did a good walk before breakfast. Now I’m ready for some ‘art’ – in my adult coloring book 😉

    I’ll be back – some time. 🙂

    • mindlovemisery
      June 5, 2016

      I don’t get meter at all and I don’t think mine has one. The Goethe Stanza doesn’t use meter just the basic rhyme scheme so that would always be my pick haha I will look forward to it

      • julespaige
        June 5, 2016

        Ah…yes I did see that – I’ve come up with something… Just have to post:
        Travesty

  2. Pingback: (s) SPF/ MLMM/ Quote/ Travesty (Quatrain Goethe Stanza/ Shadorma 6.5) | Jules Longer Strands of Gems

  3. Pingback: Walking Up With You Is An Ease – ladyleemanila

Leave a Reply

