Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Music Prompt #40 “I Like You So Much Better..” by Ida Maria

Hello there!

I’ve been playing with the idea to post this song for awhile but gotten cold feet each time. You see, it’s different from anything I’ve posted before.

What if no one likes the song? 

What if the video or the singer’s voice gets on someone’s nerves?

No one likes to be controversial because that means that you leave yourself vulnerable. A layer of the mask is blown off.

But I love the style of the video and the creative spirit that the singer employs to express herself. It’s not always about the lyrics. Sometimes it is something else.

Oh the clever

things I should say to you
They got stuck somewhere
Stuck between me and you

Oh I’m nervous
I don’t know what to do
Light a cigarrette
I only smoke when I’m with you

What the hell do I do this for?
You’re just another guy
OK, you’re kind of sexy
But you’re not really special

But I won’t mind
If you take me home
Come on, take me home

I won’t mind
if you take off all your clothes
Come on, take them off

‘Cause I like you so much better when you’re naked
I like me so much better when you’re naked
I like you so much better when you’re naked
I like me so much better when you’re naked

 Image Courtesy of Rose Ketring

Songwriters

SIVERTSEN, IDA

Published by
Lyrics © EMI Music Publishing, Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC

Use the above song as inspiration for any form of creative expression (including but not limited too short stories, poems, lyrics, artwork, photography, covers, music/dance videos etc.)

Alternatively,

If you are a musician use this as an opportunity to showcase your own work.

You have 1 week to complete this challenge.

You do not have to include the video but please mention the song/artist in your post.

When you’re done, TAG the post Music Challenge and Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, and add your link to the Link Button. And don’t forget to link to this post or copy your post’s URL into the comments. We can read your post sooner that way.

About Rose

I am... cautious, labyrintine, secretive, lost, confused, brazen, independent, indestructible, miraculous, devastating, trapped, please others for approval, scars inside and out, addiction, hiding, erasing, running but past always catches up, adventuresome, sadness, disconnect, various drug treatments for depression and anxiety, discovering, foolishness idealistic, stubborn, belief in love, sympathy for others, capable of great kindness, neglect, selfishness, poor choices, thoughts of death, exclusion, lonely, distinct, vivid, real, belief in Random Acts of Kindness, teacher, patient, supportive, contemplating, academic achievement, lost and broken dreams, second and third and fourth chances, unique, resourceful, professional, humorous, loves children, curious about neuroanatomy and linguistics, people-watcher, introspective, reader of multiple books at a time, intermittent Spanish student, disgraceful at math, hate politics and violence, non-voter,sensitive, stressed, participant in NaNo, novelist, music lover, inspiration finder, searcher for Wisdom in everything, traveler, caver, photographer, afraid of oceans, childish, awestruck, proud of my children, breathing..

14 comments on “Music Prompt #40 “I Like You So Much Better..” by Ida Maria

  1. Pingback: Music Prompt #40 “I Like You So Much Better..” by Ida Maria – Our Full Stops | Morpethroad

  2. Pingback: What Have You Done To Me? – ladyleemanila

  3. Pingback: Body Talk – writing in north norfolk

  4. julespaige
    April 29, 2016

    There are so many different styles of music. Sharing what you like shows your diverse personality. And for that – there is only right, no wrong. And nothing to be ashamed or scared of.

    I’m not particularly into music, if it isn’t from the eras I enjoy. So I am sporadic with posts here. I know there is a big hoop-la about Prince. But I was never into his music either. I looked at the lyrics to the song “Purple Rain’ that he is supposed to be so famous for and to myself say, eh?… but that’s just me. Always be yourself.

  5. taleweavering
    April 30, 2016

    If I don’t like the video, I can turn it off and read the lyrics. I agree that a song is more than just the lyrics. It’s how the performer expresses themselves through the song, the beat, whatever.
    I must admit that I often key in on the lyrics, if it’s music that I don’t like or is outside my style. But, I will read the lyrics.

  6. wildchild47
    April 30, 2016

    Music is subjective – highly personal in how people will or could relate. And in essence, unless you are willing to possibly step out on limb, especially when hosting a prompt, then really, where is the challenge? It’s not about being popular or well liked. So choices, possibilities, as offered here, or on another MLMM prompt is really what it’s about. The challenge, the expansion of creativity, the introduction of new ideas or concepts, some that may be comfortable, others unfamiliar. And this is all good. 🙂 If people are searching for the “safe and cozy” then they probably won’t stick around MLMM too long, and that’s okay, right? Because there are enough spaces and places out there for all tastes. So be good with your choice and decision. 🙂

    The song? Interesting. Reminds me of late 80s early 90s “pop culture trash talk” – which was strong enough to have a pretty heavy following – so the lyrics may not be so “deep” – so what? The music itself? Not everyone’s cup of tea? okay. This reminds me of those days – whether it moves me enough – love it, hate it or can’t quite decide yet, what if anything to do? Well time will tell. The one thing though that makes me do a complete double take? The singer is a dead ringer for the sister of a friend of mine from high school – and this could be her – stylistically, if we go back to those mid-to late 80s (graduated in 86, sister’s friend in 85) so it seems slightly odd. I feel like I’ve stepped into a time warp.

    • Vagrant Rhodia
      May 2, 2016

      😀 Her style and freedom drew me in. That and all the color. Thank you for the message.

  7. Pingback: it’s a dance we play – Phylor's Blog

  8. taleweavering
    April 30, 2016

    I’m not pinging every time so here:
    https://phylor.wordpress.com/2016/04/30/its-a-dance-we-play/
    I played with the lyrics — the sense and sensual that the lyrics hint at.
    And, it’s okay to step outside the lines. Just be ready for the ride. Not that it’s rough, but it might bring about the unexpected. Ya never know.

    • Vagrant Rhodia
      May 2, 2016

      Thank you for responding. I am excited about the replies and welcome different viewpoints from my own.

  9. Sanaa Rizvi
    May 1, 2016

    Excellent prompt 🙂 I posted ❤

  10. Pingback: Quintessential

  11. Pingback: Music Prompt #41: “Ugly Cherries” by PWR BTTM | Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 29, 2016 by in Music Prompt, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .
