Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

B&P’s Shadorma & Beyond – March 26, 2016

Hello, Bastet here for another episode of Shadorma & Beyond!  Paloma and I have been discussing where to go from here, here being a weekly prompt introducing new poetry forms to write for.  After well over a year we’re getting pretty well stumped for new forms!  As we ponder the issue I thought we’d do two things:

  1. ask you our writers if you have a new and interesting form you’ve come across which we might introduce.
  2. begin reviewing all the forms we’ve introduced so far (and which can be found in our glossary at the side of the page.

As I went to the glossary today, I noticed that one form is definitely missing!  So today we will have a look at it!

The form we’re missing is the ABC Poem … this is a fun form and a real challenge.  Basically you write your poem beginning each line with a letter of the alphabet – you can complicate it as much as you like, usually the only rule is to have the poem begin with a letter of the alphabet though, without syllable count or rhyme or whatever.

(Speaking about ABCs …. I though you might like to know that the 7th annual A to Z challenge begins on April 1st (you can sign up here like I did! I’m  1264. Bastet and Sekhmet’s Library and you can get your badge for the event – the rules, and links to the history of the events and many more things besides).  It’ll be 21 days (Sundays are rest days) of interesting writing and reading … so why not sign up and have a go!)

Here’s an example of an ABC poem that I wrote for the now defunct Trifecta on its second anniversary:

ABC Poem

Remember The Lost poets

Always thinking about them.
Beautiful poets that they were.
Curiously, I keep thinking back,
Daring my mind to move on.
Eventide will soon be here.
Future poems they will not write,
Glorious tales will go untold …
How lonely the world now, without them.
I didn’t know how much I’d miss them.
Just reading their words was pure delight.
Knowing that they read mine, inspired me!
Longingly I think of them and sigh,
Memories though fond, are not enough.
Numb I sit sometimes for hours – though
Onward, I know that I must go
(Proud or humble it doesn’t matter).
Quietly I bow my head and say:
Remember my beloved ones now gone …
Safe are your words within my happiest memories:
Thanking fate for the time we had, though brief,
United in love of poetry through our words though
Veiled,  I’ll write more verses to be read
Words written with renewed originality, not clones nor
Xeroxed copies nor sad imitations of the classics.
Your verses will live serene within me,
Zen harmonized – I will create new poems.

© G.s.k. ‘13

§§§§§§§§§§§

And now for a little inspiration for a new ABC Poem:

The Essential

Once you’ve written your Shadorma or ABC Poem,  please tag your post: Mindlovesmisery’s Menagerie and B&P Shadorma & Beyond then add  your link to the Mr. Linky App at bottom.

Have a great week!  Bastet.

About Bastet

I love to read...I like to write...I've travelled the world and seen the sites. I'm past my prime and feel so young, especially when near the young. I'm writing this blog, to remember, to think and to share...with the hopes that someone else will make a comment that will stimulate new thoughts and pathways. Actually, I'm a gabber, so the logical extension of gabbing is blogging! ;-)

17 comments on “B&P’s Shadorma & Beyond – March 26, 2016

  1. Pingback: ABC of You and Me – ladyleemanila

  2. Melinda Kucsera
    March 26, 2016

    I’m going to need to call a friend for this! This would make a fun collab!

  3. Paloma
    March 26, 2016

    Great post …. it’s become a puzzle, hasn’t it? What to do next….

    • Bastet
      March 28, 2016

      Yep it sure is …

      • Paloma
        March 28, 2016

        Sigh….
        Hope you’re doing well. And thank you again, a million times over, for covering while I recuperate.

      • Bastet
        March 30, 2016

        Not to worry Paloma … I’ve got my ups and downs right now, but they’re mostly ups .. I’m just trying to figure out where I’m going … I’ll drop a line soon.

      • Paloma
        March 30, 2016

        A hug, chocolate, and champagne … going your way!

      • Bastet
        March 30, 2016

        Now that sounds yummy! Thanks and hearty cin-cin to you!

  4. Pingback: Invisible London – writing in north norfolk

  5. Pingback: (s) MLMM Shadorma + Progressively Pointed (3.30) | Jules Longer Strands of Gems

  6. julespaige
    March 30, 2016
  7. julespaige
    March 30, 2016

    Oh, I haven’t looked at all of your forms… but I’ve got a page of some here:
    https://julesgemstonepages.wordpress.com/poetry-forms-old-and-new/

  8. julespaige
    March 30, 2016

    Doesn’t always have to be something new. You can rotate the forms or just do Shadorma for a while too.

Leave a Reply

