Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

B&P’s Shadorma & Beyond

Hello, Bastet here.

Last week whilst commenting with one of our writers I mentioned the Kyrielle Sonnet and she hadn’t heard about it … I think perhaps we’ve already done the Kyrielle Sonnet in one of it’s  two versions .. the real one and mine ( 😉 ) but I thought we’d have another look today.

First of all .. let’s remember that a Kyrielle is a poem of French descent and by applying certain rules becomes part of the family of sonnets … which include: The Italian Sonnet (Petrarchan Sonnet), The English Sonnet  (Shakespearian Sonnet),  The Spenserian Sonnet, The Modern Sonnet, The Kyrielle Sonnet and The Indefinable Sonnets etc.

Let’s look at the structure of a Kyrielle Poem … it is composed of rhyming three quatrains (four lines) or stanzas and like all Classical French poetry it is octosyllabic (eight syllables).  Each quatrain ends with the same line (known as a refrain) – it becomes a sonnet when we add a couplet at the end of the poem composed of the first line and the refrain – so it’s important to choose your first line wisely.   The rhyming structures are:

AbaB
cbbB
dbdB
AB

or

AabB
ccbB
ddbB
eebB
AB

Of course as in all things it’s easier to write a Kyrielle Sonnet rather than describe how to write a Kyrielle Sonnet!  So here’s an example from my personal archives called:

Writer’s Block

Alas the words don’t come to me!
My blank mind keeps me company
Not sure of what to write just now,
I’ll write about a spotted cow.

I would write of bikes and flowers
Maybe of grapes on their bowers
But no words come of trees or bough
I’ll write about a spotted cow.

But cows are not inspiring!
This is becoming alarming!
Oh Bastet give your cat meow!
I’ll write about a spotted cow.

Alas the words don’t come to me!
I’ll write about a spotted cow.

© G.s.k. ’13

(my personal variation to the Kyrielle Sonnet is to write it without rhyming)

So … we have the form and I hope I’ve been lucid in describing this form, it’s one of my favourites.  Now let’s look for inspiration!

Rovereto camOrtopaintedsigned

Rain Over Rovereto by G.s.k.

So, once you feel inspired (either by my photo above or by your own chosen medium)  and have written your poem (either a Kyrielle Sonnet or a Shadorma – or perhaps a combination of the two?), please tag your work: Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie and B&P’s Shadorma & Beyond then link to our Mr. Linky App:

 

 

Hope you have fun this week!  Happy writing,  Bastet.

For extra reading:

What is a Kyrielle poem?

Sonnets

The Poet’s Garret Sonnets 2007 Form Challenges #7 Kyrielle Sonnet

Glossary of Forms, Poetic Terminology, and Literary Devices

About Bastet

I love to read...I like to write...I've travelled the world and seen the sites. I'm past my prime and feel so young, especially when near the young. I'm writing this blog, to remember, to think and to share...with the hopes that someone else will make a comment that will stimulate new thoughts and pathways. Actually, I'm a gabber, so the logical extension of gabbing is blogging! ;-)

28 comments on “B&P’s Shadorma & Beyond

  1. Pingback: Rain in the Valley – writing in north norfolk

  2. kim881
    March 5, 2016

    It looks like I’m fist with this one! Maybe it’s because I love Italy and this picture is so gorgeous!

    • Bastet
      March 9, 2016

      Thanks for being the first .. I’ve been having connection problems – living in the Italian “hinterland” can definitely have its disadvantages … I can’t wait to see your work!

  3. kim881
    March 5, 2016

    Should say ‘first’ – sorry!

  4. Pingback: B&P’s Shadorma & Beyond – Snorkelling – ladyleemanila

  5. Melinda Kucsera
    March 6, 2016

    oh boy this one’s a toughie but I want to try it…now I need to choose a rhyme scheme and those all important first lines….hmmm…

  6. Paloma
    March 6, 2016

    Great post, great photo!
    When im a bit more settled I’ll try my hand at the shadorma, though this form is a lot of fun … as is your poem 🙂

    • Bastet
      March 9, 2016

      Thanks Paloma .. glad you enjoyed the post and poem and will be looking forward to reading your work! 🙂

  7. Pingback: Stars Dance – A Kyrielle Sonnet – in medias res

  8. Melinda Kucsera
    March 6, 2016

    I gave it a try:
    http://melindakucsera.com/stars-dance-a-kyrielle-sonnet
    I’m not sure it makes logical sense but it follows the form.

    • Melinda Kucsera
      March 6, 2016

      Do I get brownie points for that? 😉

      • Bastet
        March 9, 2016

        You get a whole batch of double dutch dark brownie points 😉

      • Melinda Kucsera
        March 9, 2016

        🙂 yay!

    • Bastet
      March 9, 2016

      Logic is oversold … I can’t wit to read your work and so sorry I’m late!

  9. Rall
    March 6, 2016

    Drats…now I can’t write about a spotted cow:) Great explanation of the form with your poem as a model. Looks difficult.

  10. julespaige
    March 7, 2016

    I think I may stick to the Shadorma this week…
    But maybe if I hold off until Little Miss rests.

    I really like the ‘painting’… ? If it is a photo it looks like a painting!

    • Bastet
      March 9, 2016

      Glad you enjoyed the ‘painting’ – I had a lot of fun editing it and it sits on my desktop … if you feel more inclined to the shadorma there’s no problem at all – remember this was first a shadorma prompt … 😉

  11. julespaige
    March 7, 2016

    Thank you for the way you posted the example. I’ve written two pieces…
    One a Shadorma Summation (multi prompts) and the other an actual Kyrielle sonnet. But I’ll have to post when Little Miss goes home.

    • Bastet
      March 9, 2016

      Thanks so much for all your efforts! I’m terribly sorry to be late reading, but as you see I’m on-line today so hope to make it up!

      • julespaige
        March 9, 2016

        There is no ‘late’ in cyber space 😉

  12. Pingback: Multi-prompts : No Good Deed & Disillusioned Docent (3.7 s) | Jules Longer Strands of Gems

  13. julespaige
    March 7, 2016

    I may have messed up the linky:
    No Good Deed & Disillusioned Docent

    • Bastet
      March 9, 2016

      Not to worry … we’ll see!

  14. Pingback: Alone with Marigold – Kyrielle Sonnet – March 11, 2016 | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

Leave a Reply

