Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Tale Weavers #54: Fractured Fairy Tales

books

A childhood plus was watching Rocky and Bullwinkle, including Fractured Fairy Tales – lovely, puny spins on classic fairy tales. I learned many of my fairy stories from Edward Everett Horton – not just from Mother Goose. So in honour of my Frostbite Falls, matters factious and fun, and because it gave me an excuse to watch a lot of Rocky & Bullwinkle on YouTube, this week you get another chance to fracture a fairy tale.

Never fractured a tale, you say? Why it’s child’s play. Take a tale like Cinderella, turn it around, make her a fella. Make the wolf the victim in Riding Hood – it’s that Red whose up to no good. So you see it’s not so hard to do. Just take a tale, and give it a shake or two.

I’ve included three fractured fairy tales from Rocky & Bullwinkle to get your imagination humming. Enjoy! Remember these tales are from the 1959-1964 era.

When you’ve woven your fractured fairy tale, please tag it Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie and tale weaver. We’d also appreciate it if you’d create a ping-back by linking to this post. And, of course, drop back for tea and cookies, and click on the MLMM’s button to add your tale to the list.

About taleweavering

"I think I made you up inside my head.” Sylvia Plath

16 comments on “Tale Weavers #54: Fractured Fairy Tales

  1. Pingback: https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2016/02/25/tale-weavers-54-fractured-fairy-tales/ | Morpethroad

  2. Pingback: Ellacinder and the Harley Davidsons – Phylor's Blog

  3. Pingback: Three MLMM prompts: The Sparrow and the Carter’s Wife (2.25 f) | Jules in Flashy Fiction

  4. julespaige
    February 25, 2016
  5. taleweavering
    February 25, 2016

    Lovely fractured tale. Grimm is just fine around here!

  6. Pingback: Story fragments – photography plus

  7. Suzanne
    February 25, 2016

    My response probably isn’t what you had in mind but I was motivated to do the work when I read your prompt.

    • taleweavering
      February 26, 2016

      Your project works fine, Suzanne, as a fractured fairy tale in both senses — fractured as altered, and fractured as broken, disjointed, splintered.
      Thanks so much for participating.

      • Suzanne
        February 26, 2016

        You’re welcome. I am a Rocky and Bullwinkle fan too – or was when I was a kid.

  8. CPP
    February 26, 2016

    Awesome prompt! 😀

    • taleweavering
      February 26, 2016

      Thanks! I loved watching Fractured Fairy Tales as a kid. Rewatching them for this, some hold up better than others, just like any retro programming — including even, gasp, Dudley Do Right, ;D

  9. elmediat
    February 26, 2016

    Suzanne sent me here. 🙂

    On my Implied Spaces blog I have been composing images and narratives for what I term broken folklore ( check tag on blog). I’ve also have done a few fairy tales and fantasy pieces. The closest I came to a fractured/re-imagined fairy tale is “Implied Spaces: Skinning the Wolf ” a re-telling of Red Riding Hood and “Snow White – The Other Side”.

    • taleweavering
      February 26, 2016

      I look forward to visiting your site. It sounds exciting and I’m interested learning about broken folklore and looking at your “fractured/reimagined” posts. Thanks for following Suzanne’s suggestion! (And thanks Suzanne)

      • taleweavering
        February 28, 2016

        Your beauty and the beast was wonderfully Dahlesque, fractured and fractious. Well done! Hope you can participate again. Thanks so much!

  10. Pingback: Beauty and the Beast – inspired … | petrujviljoen

  11. Pingback: Fractured Fairy Tale | wild child in the fields

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 25, 2016 by in Uncategorized.
