Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Music Prompt # 28 “In My Mind” Performed by Amanda Palmer

What’s up, party people?

Thank you for all your responses to last week’s prompt, “Trouble in River City,” from Music Man. I can’t stump you at all 😀

This week’s song is written and performed by Amanda Palmer, a rock star in her own right. To take the awesomeness even higher, she is married to one of my heroes, Neil Gaiman!

This song reminds me to stay curious and full of wonder. A sense of “I’m OK to be me.” No matter how old my body gets.

I’m excited to see what you come up with 😀

 

“In My Mind”
(feat. Brian Viglione)

In my mind
In a future five years from now
I’m one hundred and twenty pounds
And I never get hung over
Because I will be the picture of discipline
Never minding what state I’m in
And I will be someone I admire
And it’s funny how I imagined
That I would be that person now
But it does not seem to have happened
Maybe I’ve just forgotten how to see
That I am not exactly the person that I thought I’d beAnd in my mind
In the faraway here and now
I’ve become in control somehow
And I never lose my wallet
Because I will be the picture of of discipline
Never fucking up anything
And I’ll be a good defensive driver
And it’s funny how I imagined
That I would be that person now
But it does not seem to have happened
Maybe I’ve just forgotten how to see
That I’ll never be the person that I thought I’d be

And in my mind
When I’m old I am beautiful
Planting tulips and vegetables
Which I will mindfully watch over
Not like me now
I’m so busy with everything
That I don’t look at anything
But I’m sure I’ll look when I am older
And it’s funny how I imagined
That I could be that person now
But that’s not what I want
But that’s what I wanted
And I’d be giving up somehow
How strange to see
That I don’t wanna be the person that I want to be

And in my mind
I imagine so many things
Things that aren’t really happening
And when they put me in the ground
I’ll start pounding the lid
Saying I haven’t finished yet
I still have a tattoo to get
That says I’m living in the moment
And it’s funny how I imagined
That I could win this, win this fight
But maybe it isn’t all that funny
That I’ve been fighting all my life
But maybe I have to think it’s funny
If I wanna live before I die
And maybe it’s funniest of all
To think I’ll die before I actually see
That I am exactly the person that I want to be

Fuck yes
I am exactly the person that I want to be

Written by Amanda Palmer
Photo Courtesy of My Art Journal

Use the above song as inspiration for any form of creative expression (including but not limited too short stories, poems, lyrics, artwork, photography, covers, music/dance videos etc.) Alternatively,

If you are a musician use this as an opportunity to showcase your own work.

You have 1 week to complete this challenge.

You do not have to include the video but please mention the song/artist in your post.

When you’re done, TAG the post Music Challenge and Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, and add your link to the Link Button. And don’t forget to link to this post or copy your post’s URL into the comments. We can read your post sooner that way.

 

About Rose

I am... cautious, labyrintine, secretive, lost, confused, brazen, independent, indestructible, miraculous, devastating, trapped, please others for approval, scars inside and out, addiction, hiding, erasing, running but past always catches up, adventuresome, sadness, disconnect, various drug treatments for depression and anxiety, discovering, foolishness idealistic, stubborn, belief in love, sympathy for others, capable of great kindness, neglect, selfishness, poor choices, thoughts of death, exclusion, lonely, distinct, vivid, real, belief in Random Acts of Kindness, teacher, patient, supportive, contemplating, academic achievement, lost and broken dreams, second and third and fourth chances, unique, resourceful, professional, humorous, loves children, curious about neuroanatomy and linguistics, people-watcher, introspective, reader of multiple books at a time, intermittent Spanish student, disgraceful at math, hate politics and violence, non-voter,sensitive, stressed, participant in NaNo, novelist, music lover, inspiration finder, searcher for Wisdom in everything, traveler, caver, photographer, afraid of oceans, childish, awestruck, proud of my children, breathing..

9 comments on “Music Prompt # 28 “In My Mind” Performed by Amanda Palmer

  1. a darkened house
    February 5, 2016

    Another amazing song!

  2. Pingback: Blog Love: Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie (even if I’m biased) – Phylor's Blog

  3. Bee Halton
    February 5, 2016

    Neil Gaiman is one of my heroes too but I never heard of his wife. What a shame! Thanks for introducing me 🙂

    • Vagrant Rhodia
      February 6, 2016

      I know! I had no idea that he had such a beautiful, talented wife. Makes me love him even more lol

  4. Pingback: How to be the Perfect, Fulfilled, Woman – A Journey | georgeplacepoetry by Debi Swim

  5. Sanaa Rizvi
    February 5, 2016

    Awesome prompt! I posted 😀

  6. Pingback: MLMM Tale Weaver, Music & Photo prompts: Aligned Forces? BeeBee Mystery Snippet ( 2.7 f) | Jules in Flashy Fiction

  7. julespaige
    February 11, 2016

    A mash of MLMM prompts for BeeBee
    Sort of goes along with the reinvention of self:
    Aligned Forces

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 5, 2016 by in Music Prompt and tagged , , , .
