Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Music Prompt #26: “Terrible Things” by April Smith and the Great Picture Show

Welcome!

Before we get to this week’s melody, I wanted to let you all know that I really enjoy reading your poems, stories and thoughts. You mean very much to me, more than music can even say. 😀

I reviewed my playlist for this prompt yesterday when I came upon a song through a lady who seemed many things last week’s lady could only dream of. Yesterday’s Lady of the Night is mysterious, yes, but could she withstand the sun and grime of day to day living?

I’d like to see them duel it out. Who do you think will win?

Just a thought.

“Terrible Things”

 

If you dig under my feet
You will find things that you don’t want to see
Things that I hide deep down inside
A menagerie of the tragedy I caused and all of my flaws
And my demons are all that can see
Then what would you do …if you only knew[chorus]
All of the things that I’ve done
Terrible things…you would never believe
Things that I’ve done
Oh how you’ll run
If you knew a single one
All of the things that I’ve done

Would my face give me away
But I know it wont
Cause I don’t even feel

I just reflect what you expect
So you don’t suspect that…
I could be exactly who I am

[chorus]

I know that I’m inflected
But who could have predicted
That monster that I’ve become
I keep things carefully covered
So no one will discover
That I could be the culprit
I’m sorry I cant help it

Photo by clarita

Use the above song as inspiration for any form of creative expression (including but not limited too short stories, poems, lyrics, artwork, photography, covers, music/dance videos etc.) Alternatively,

If you are a musician use this as an opportunity to showcase your own work.

You have 1 week to complete this challenge.

You do not have to include the video but please mention the song/artist in your post.

When you’re done, TAG the post Music Challenge and Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, and add your link to the Link Button. And don’t forget to link to this post or copy your post’s URL into the comments. We can read your post sooner that way.

About Rose

I am... cautious, labyrintine, secretive, lost, confused, brazen, independent, indestructible, miraculous, devastating, trapped, please others for approval, scars inside and out, addiction, hiding, erasing, running but past always catches up, adventuresome, sadness, disconnect, various drug treatments for depression and anxiety, discovering, foolishness idealistic, stubborn, belief in love, sympathy for others, capable of great kindness, neglect, selfishness, poor choices, thoughts of death, exclusion, lonely, distinct, vivid, real, belief in Random Acts of Kindness, teacher, patient, supportive, contemplating, academic achievement, lost and broken dreams, second and third and fourth chances, unique, resourceful, professional, humorous, loves children, curious about neuroanatomy and linguistics, people-watcher, introspective, reader of multiple books at a time, intermittent Spanish student, disgraceful at math, hate politics and violence, non-voter,sensitive, stressed, participant in NaNo, novelist, music lover, inspiration finder, searcher for Wisdom in everything, traveler, caver, photographer, afraid of oceans, childish, awestruck, proud of my children, breathing..

12 comments on “Music Prompt #26: “Terrible Things” by April Smith and the Great Picture Show

  1. a darkened house
    January 22, 2016

    Powerful lyrics. Wham — hit me in the face and the gut. Understand too well.

  2. Pingback: Music Prompt #26: “Terrible Things” by April Smith and the Great Picture Show | Morpethroad

  3. Pingback: Day 22 Goes for the Darker Side of Things – Chalk Hills Journal

  4. julespaige
    January 22, 2016

    I wasn’t sure… but it relates to my latest BeeBee.
    But I’ll have to wait for nap time to post.

  5. Pingback: Terrible Things | ladyleemanila

  6. Pingback: Hidden Sactorium? : A BeeBee Mystery Snippet (3 MLMM prompts & 1 Q 1.22 f) | Jules in Flashy Fiction

  7. julespaige
    January 22, 2016

    Little Miss naps…
    Hidden Sactorium?

  8. Sanaa Rizvi
    January 23, 2016

    Here you go 😀
    Cheers!!

  9. Pingback: play with me if you dare – mymadnesscape

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 22, 2016 by in Music Prompt, Uncategorized and tagged , , .
