Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Writing Prompt #137 “The Fool”

luis royo_the labyrinth tarot_major arcana_the fool

Luis Roya

Though it has been done before and maybe even done to death I myself have not done a tarot themed prompt. If you guys are receptive to the concept then we will go through the entire deck alternating with the collage prompt of course. You do not need to mention tarot cards at all in your entries, find a theme, a hook within the meaning of the card itself. You can even create a series if you like.

The first card up in The Fool for a thorough description of the meaning click here

Some themes that immediately come to my mind that you might want consider are

New Beginnings

Life Changes

Impulsive Decisions

Look before you leap (advice from friends)

Taking Risks

Follow the Tao

Wisdom from children

Going against the grain

About mindlovemisery

Music: PJ Harvey, Radio Head, Fleetwood Mac, David Usher/Moist, Johnny Cash, Portishead, Damien Rice (basically I am a 90s kid I like alternative, grunge, Industrial and other types of metal, oldies, punk, rock etc.) Authors: Sylvia Plath, James Baldwin, Edmund White, Arthur Rimbaud, Jim Carrol, Jeff Noon, etc. Movies: A Clock Work Orange, Fight Club, House of Flying Daggers (I like a lot of cult movies, horror, comedy, drama, I don't like action and fantasy is terrifying lol) Philosophical Beliefs: Buddhism, Daoism, Shintoism (before it changed under Nationalism), The Transcendent Order Favorite Video Game: Planescape Torment What I do: read, write, yoga, pilates, weight-lift, walk, study philosophy and psychology, dance like a crazy person, paint, dream etc. Qualities: stubborn, sarcastic, teasing, playful, open, flirtatious, eccentric, passionate, forgetful, open-minded I am 32 and married (almost 13 years) with a beautiful 5 year old daughter. Everyone thinks I'm a hippie.

18 comments on “Writing Prompt #137 “The Fool”

  1. Pingback: Writing Prompt #137 “The Fool” | Morpethroad

  2. Misky
    December 13, 2015

    Oh! Sounds very interesting! How long is this prompt open; 24-hours?

    • mindlovemisery
      December 13, 2015

      really indefinitely as I will always read, each Sunday I put up a new one so people often take it to mean they’ve got a week

      • Misky
        December 13, 2015

        Excellent. Quite a busy time of the year right now, so I hope to get to this one soon. Thanks!

      • mindlovemisery
        December 13, 2015

        I look forward to it 😄

  3. Melinda Kucsera
    December 13, 2015

    I love the idea. The first sonnet I ever wrote way back in my college days was about reading tarot cards in a cemetery (which my friend and I did after I did a fantasy photo shoot for another project).

  4. Pingback: A Fool for Christmas | in medias res

  5. writersdream9
    December 14, 2015

    Very interesting possibilities.that I explored. Ended up with a Pleides about renewal! Thank you!

  6. Pingback: Stacking the Deck? Or “Ignorance is a Fool’s Castle.” (a BeeBee mystery mash-up 12.14 f) | Jules in Flashy Fiction

  7. julespaige
    December 15, 2015

    I didn’t stuff as many but enough for another BeeBee mash-up
    Stacking the Deck? Or “Ignorance is a Fool’s Castle.”

  8. Pingback: Fools & Farewells | in medias res

  9. Pingback: courted jester | Walking Barefoot

  10. Chèvrefeuille
    December 22, 2015

    I have written a full post about The Fool several years ago. I love to share that post here at mlmm … go to the linking widget of this mlmm post and visit it if you like to read it. Awesome post by the way.

    • mindlovemisery
      December 22, 2015

      Thank you so much and I have just now went to your blog and read your post, absolutely brilliant Kristjaan. I learned a lot in the way of interpreting the card and the haiku are gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

