Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Tale Weaver 42: The mis[…]s

[mis]taken identities

Plot devices such as mistaken identities, misheard conversations, misdirected messages, misconstrued events, miscalculated plans have driven stories for the eons. Mis[…]s are the stuff of legend, mystery, comedy, spy versus spy, thrillers, romance, science fiction, lore, literature, life.

Your [mis]son this week: to weave a tale using mis[…] as key to plot; character(s); genre; title; “[e]t cetera, et cetera, et cetera!” (King, The King and I).  There is a wide array of amusing, entertaining, nerve-wracking, feel-good movies, plays, poems, and stories revolving around a mis[…]: Danny Kaye’s The Inspector General; John le Carré’s spy thrillers to mention but a few.

So have fun and anything goes: mis[direction]; mis[taken] identities; mis[interpreted] messages . . .

I’ll be curiouser and curiouser to read your mis[…]. Snow is falling on my blog. Fifty anniversary of “A Charlie Brown’s Christmas.” ‘Tis the season. Feel free to weave the festive and the spiritual of December into your tale.

Alfred Hitchcock, a master talesmith and interpreter, oft used these mis[…]s to great advantage. Watching North by Northwest reminded me of this:

(movie trailer)

(crop dusting)

 

Once you have woven your mis[…] tale, don’t forget to TAG your post: Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie and Tale Weaver. Add your link to the MLMM linky button. In case the tale weaver gremlins are at work, please link back to this post, as well.

I hope your muse, whether Alfred Hitchcock or Alfred Lord Tennyson, has a mis[cue] up their sleeve (along with that 5th ace).

 

 

 Thanks, Monster Gallery, for re-imagining the North by Northwest movie poster.

About taleweavering

"I think I made you up inside my head.” Sylvia Plath

18 comments on “Tale Weaver 42: The mis[…]s

  1. Pingback: Misbegotten? (a mini-mash mystery for BeeBee 12.3 F) | Jules in Flashy Fiction

  2. julespaige
    December 4, 2015

    Just happen to strike a cord with a mini mystery (mash-up) with my Detective BeeBee:

    Misbegotten?

    • tale weaver/ing
      December 4, 2015

      Wonderful! Perfect story for mis[….] prompt!
      Great scenes/descriptions. Thoroughly enjoyed.
      Thanks for participating.

  3. Pingback: Tale Weaver #42: The mis(…) Man the Mans Man | Morpethroad

  4. Pingback: answer ur %#*%& phone – Phylor's Blog

  5. tale weaver/ing
    December 4, 2015

    So far, mystery/thriller seems to be the mis[…] genre of favour.
    Fun to play along. Come on into the Tale Weaver’s garden/playground.

    • Melinda Kucsera
      December 4, 2015

      I went the fantasy route since that’s what I write. So I bring you Mistaken: http://melindakucsera.com/2015/12/04/mistaken

      • tale weaver/ing
        December 5, 2015

        Thanks so much for talking a stroll in our garden and leaving a tale for all to enjoy!
        I also enjoyed your comment stream — great to read writers connecting!
        As I’ve said, you’re stories are on my read not write list.
        Thanks again.

      • Melinda Kucsera
        December 5, 2015

        Yes I read through all the entries. It’s interesting to see other writer’s

      • Melinda Kucsera
        December 5, 2015

        Takes on the prompt

      • Melinda Kucsera
        December 5, 2015

        You’re welcome. My phone app keeps submitting my comment before I’m done writing it. So I answered you in pieces 🙂

  6. Pingback: The Great Mistakes | A Simple Life

  7. Pingback: Mistaken | in medias res

  8. tale weaver/ing
    December 5, 2015

    Perfect for a story that is part of a longer saga — your cell phone turning your comments into chapters! 🙂

  9. Pingback: Alice’s Misdeed | the unreliable narrator ~ ask Alice when she's small or tall

  10. a darkened house
    December 9, 2015

    A stumble across, mj6969! I couldn’t figure out how to leave a comment for you on your post. So I came back here.
    The words, the images, the imaginings. You did not miss with your Alice’s Misdeeds.
    Visit me: http//:adarkenedhouse.wordpress.com and explain how to comment (that is if you feel like having comments) on your posts.
    “I still feel my heart thumpbeating,” she gasped. “Words ripped breath from my mind.”

  11. phylor
    December 9, 2015

    mj6969:
    Like adh, I was incredibly drawn into and impressed with your post on Alice’s misdeed.
    The tension, the fear, the potentials offered.
    Extremely vivid words against a backdrop of stunning visuals.
    Thanks so much mj6969 for participating in Tale Weaver 42: The Mis[…]!

  12. Pingback: Tale Weaver #50: “sending out an SOS” | Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 3, 2015 by in Tale Weaver and tagged , .
