Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Music Friday Prompt #15 “Daughter” by Loudon Wainwright (plus a bonus song!)

Hi folks!

I am so terribly sorry I didn’t deliver your Friday music last week. No excuses, just an apology to my music-loving friends. This week I would like to offer a two-for-one prompt featuring Loudon Wainwright, one of the Wonders of the Modern World 🙂

The first song, Daughter, never fails to draw tears from my writerly eyes. I am the mother of two beautiful, gifted babies who are learning how to navigate the world–one learning how to read and get along with others, the other on her way to becoming a beautiful lady.

The second song, You Can’t Fail Me Now, follows on the first song’s heels and is performed by Loudon and his daughter, Lucy. Her striking voice spins the song lyrics to impossible places beyond even my imagination. It was a beautiful surprise!

Now, the video quality is terrible and tends to bounce around a bit :/ If the movement turns you off, use the lyrics from both/either songs in your creative stirrings.

After much contemplation, I will include the lyrics for the second song, You Can’t Fail Me Now, although you can still find the lyrics for Daughter here.

 

“You Can’t Fail Me Now”

I know that fan is moving air

I can see it in your hair

But I can’t bear to breathe it in somehow

I’ll rise and fall with you

Cause you can’t fail me now,

I’ll rise and fall with you

Cause you can’t fail me now

 

Salt is sweet upon my mouth

And dark throws sparks against my house

The stain of love’s a smudge upon my brow.

 

But you see through me

And you can’t fail me now,

You see right through me

And you can’t fail me now

I bit off more than I can chew

It’s something that I tend to do

When fewer words are what we need and how

 

You bite my tongue

And you can’t fail me now

I rant and rail

But you can’t fail me now

 

I lost the thread among the vines

And hung myself in story lines

That tell the tales I never would allow

God knows the name of every bird

That fills my mind like angry words

But you know all my secret heart avows…

We’re taught to love the worst of us

And mercy more than life, but trust me:

Mercy’s just a warning shot across the bow

 

I live for yours

And you can’t fail me now,

I live for your mercy

And you can’t fail me now,

You can’t fail me now.

Writers: Loudon Wainwright and Joe Henry

 

About Rose

I am... cautious, labyrintine, secretive, lost, confused, brazen, independent, indestructible, miraculous, devastating, trapped, please others for approval, scars inside and out, addiction, hiding, erasing, running but past always catches up, adventuresome, sadness, disconnect, various drug treatments for depression and anxiety, discovering, foolishness idealistic, stubborn, belief in love, sympathy for others, capable of great kindness, neglect, selfishness, poor choices, thoughts of death, exclusion, lonely, distinct, vivid, real, belief in Random Acts of Kindness, teacher, patient, supportive, contemplating, academic achievement, lost and broken dreams, second and third and fourth chances, unique, resourceful, professional, humorous, loves children, curious about neuroanatomy and linguistics, people-watcher, introspective, reader of multiple books at a time, intermittent Spanish student, disgraceful at math, hate politics and violence, non-voter,sensitive, stressed, participant in NaNo, novelist, music lover, inspiration finder, searcher for Wisdom in everything, traveler, caver, photographer, afraid of oceans, childish, awestruck, proud of my children, breathing..

7 comments on “Music Friday Prompt #15 “Daughter” by Loudon Wainwright (plus a bonus song!)

  1. Pingback: Music Friday Prompt #15 “Daughter” by Loudon Wainwright – Three Daughters | Morpethroad

  2. J Lapis
    November 6, 2015

    What gorgeous, gorgeous lyrics–not sure I can write something to do them justice.

    • Vagrant Rhodia
      November 6, 2015

      Don’t think about the lyrics then. Let the music take you on its own journey 🙂

      • J Lapis
        November 6, 2015

        Thanks, I’ll have another ponder later–doing end of week errands before I can sit down and “create”! 🙂

      • Vagrant Rhodia
        November 7, 2015

        I can’t wait to see what you discover and share with me 🙂

      • J Lapis
        November 8, 2015

        🙂

  3. Pingback: Unconditionally | WritersDream9

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 6, 2015 by in Music Prompt and tagged , , , .
