Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Photo Challenge #84 – October 27, 2015

Hi everyone! It’s Pat here – the new MLMM’s Photo Prompt host.

I’d like to take a moment to thank Yves for offering me the chance to host this prompt, which has a particular and personal meaning for me; I’ll explain in a moment.

And I’d like to offer my thanks to Neekneraj for having been such a great prompt host in the recent past. I’m sure everyone who has been participating would agree, he discovered some real treasures and visual eye feasts, challenging our imaginations! So thanks again and I’m sure I speak for everyone, wishing you good luck with your book writing endeavours – and I hope you might pop in from time to time to perhaps respond to a prompt.

Right – before we jump right in, I’d just like to take another few minutes to let you know why I’m really excited to host this challenge, although after spending some time back scanning through MLMM’s archives …. well, don’t I have quite the task before me!

Most people don’t know – but I come from a Creative and Fine Arts background – I studied both Fine Art Photography and Professional Commercial Photography – and have always been very visually “hyper aware” of places, spaces, people etc. Now, call me a dinosaur, but I know photography, pre-digital era – when I was studying, it wasn’t exactly the case of glass plates and volatile emulsions that kept blowing people up – but there was absolutely nothing even remotely on the horizon that would indicate the turning of the tides from film to digital.

So, in the here and now, where just about everyone, from the youngest of the young to the oldest of the old, has possible access to a digital camera – well let’s just say I’m waiting for the announcement from some high-tech company saying they have done the first “finger digital camera implant” …. you get the picture …. no pun intended. This incredible availability has completely changed how we, as a society, record, document and create our histories, stories and art. We can be sure of everything and completely nothing … and this is fascinating to me … but perhaps another time.

So, shall we get to the prompt?

The image is called “Somewhere in Between” by Anne Worner copyright CC BY-SA 2.0

Where does your imagination lead you when you look at this fascinating portrait?

Let your creativity bubble and stir, the winds blowing through the leaves in your minds … run free and most importantly, have fun!

Share your thoughts – poems, prose, flash fiction, short stories etc. If it inspires a visual creation of your own – be it photograph or other visual medium – please, share.

Remember – if you use the image directly in your responses, please, credit the artist/photographer.

I’m really looking forward to reading your responses.

Cheers and happy creations ~ Pat

And don’t forget to leave a link to this prompt in your response, creating a pingback – as well as adding your entry to the official Linky.

NEW Mister Linky Logo

About CPP

playing words to the drum beats of ancient skins

44 comments on “Photo Challenge #84 – October 27, 2015

  1. tale weaver/ing
    October 26, 2015

    Welcome to Team MMLM!
    Your first picture is an amazing and affirming start to your hosting the picture prompt.
    My mind is a’whirl after a sleep-less night.
    Thanks! The picture is better than strong coffee this morning.

    • clothespeggedpat
      October 26, 2015

      Thanks Phylor for the warm welcome … LOL … I have to laugh …. the damn scheduling is off …. apparently I forgot to “recheck” my scheduling status when updating and checking on my post …. WP often plays havoc with that aspect – changing it as it wishes…. so …. well, what can we do?

      I’ll just have to be more attentive and careful next time ….. πŸ˜‰

      Sorry to hear you’ve had a sleepless night – that is never pleasant …. and I hope you have a good day nonetheless … glad that you find the image powerful … I do too πŸ™‚

      • tale weaver/ing
        October 26, 2015

        Just finished sleeping most of a beautiful fall day away. My circadian rhythms are oft out of sync.
        We’ve all had our glitches (well, maybe I should speak for myself, lol) with our prompts. The MMLM gremlins at work.
        You would not believe how hard it was for me to figure out my linky!
        We still do battle on occasion.
        Hope you get a great response to your very arresting image. Made more so my the fact I have a coat and had scarf quite similar to the gentleman’s attire.

      • clothespeggedpat
        October 26, 2015

        Well it’s too bad you have slept a beautiful day away … I often have the same thing happen …. but the need for the sleep is far greater than the ability to enjoy or do whatever needs must …. so it is … so it goes.

        I can understand the battle with Mr. Linky …. but we do the best we can … and keep our fingers crossed πŸ˜‰

        Hmmm …. interesting …. well that’s an intriguing idea …. having similar attire …. could make for a fascinating flight of fancy πŸ™‚

        Have a great rest of your day Phylor πŸ™‚

        Cheers
        Pat

  2. Pingback: Somewhere In Between – Photo Challenge #84 and Wordle #84 | ladyleemanilasphotos

  3. julespaige
    October 26, 2015

    OK I seem to be out of a temporary slump…
    And Little Miss came in sleeping and is still sleeping!
    And I never wake sleeping children.
    I guess she’ll be hungry for lunch when she wakes up. She had a not so good night’s sleep at home.

    Anyway congratulations on becoming a prompty-host personage!
    I’ve caught up on most of the prompts I wanted to get too… by mash ups…only one prompt stands in the way of this one πŸ˜‰

    So maybe sometime today?

    • clothespeggedpat
      October 26, 2015

      Well I’m sorry Little Miss didn’t have a good night …. but hopefully when she does awaken, she’ll be in a good mood and well rested πŸ™‚

      I had meant to tell you about my new “hosting” … but I am slumping myself … and so am behind. In everything …. hopefully today I’ll be able to rally myself and get something productive done πŸ™‚

      Thanks for the welcome and well … enjoy yourself and mash to your heart’s content πŸ™‚

      Cheers
      Pat

  4. hitandrun1964
    October 26, 2015

    he
    had
    a
    hard
    life
    he
    had
    seen
    things
    that
    people
    should
    never
    see
    death
    pain
    suffering
    loss
    he
    loved
    hard
    and
    worked
    when
    he
    could
    he
    still
    dreamed
    not
    often
    but
    enough
    for
    his
    needs
    he
    was
    tired
    but
    continued
    to
    rise
    each
    morning
    and
    face
    the
    new
    day
    thinking
    maybe
    today
    is
    the
    day
    I
    will
    find
    a
    stray
    dog
    and
    be
    satisfied
    with
    his
    company
    and
    then
    I
    can
    stop
    wishing
    for
    death

    • clothespeggedpat
      October 26, 2015

      HitandRun: Thanks for stopping in and sharing your riveting piece with us.

      “maybe today is the day
      I will find
      a stray dog
      and be satisfied
      with his company
      and then
      I can stop wishing
      for death”

      This is an absolutely stunning point of view and perspective – especially in the way you presented it in your response here (I hope you don’t mind – I copied it in different fashion just for space ‘economy’s sake)

      Thanks again for sharing πŸ™‚

      Cheers
      Pat

    • summerstommy2
      October 26, 2015

      This is a great response Gigi, beautifully done.

  5. clothespeggedpat
    October 26, 2015

    Just a note: unfortunately I forgot to mind the “scheduling aspect” of posting – often WP will play with itself and modify it to its own way of thinking – and I didn’t catch it in time; hopefully next week’s prompt will show up on Tuesday!

    Thanks to everyone for their patience and understanding – and I hope I haven’t confused anyone πŸ˜‰

  6. Pingback: watch the “Almighty” | adarkenedhouse

  7. a darkened house
    October 26, 2015

    I found the picture so startling that I had to add wordled words to that 19th century face.
    “Film captures the soul so poets might write,” she proposed, conscious that she was unclear if she were poet enough to judge.

    • clothespeggedpat
      October 26, 2015

      A darkened house: thanks for sharing your comments and thoughts – and for responding to the prompt πŸ™‚

      I think you did a stunning job.

      Fascinating quote you’ve used in your reply here …. and I think you are more than poet enough to “judge” … πŸ™‚

      Cheers
      Pat

  8. Pingback: Coat & Scarf – Phylor's Blog

  9. tale weaver/ing
    October 26, 2015

    I wrote my micro-fiction before reading hit and run’s stunning interpretation of the image. Which makes my response seem in reply — but no.

    • clothespeggedpat
      October 26, 2015

      It’s great – your response – and yes, it could seem to be a reply to HitandRun’s contribution ….. but I read your piece as a “stand alone” …. very powerful Phylor πŸ™‚

      Cheers
      Pat

  10. Pingback: In the Midst (MLMM Collage 9 and Photo 84 10.26 f) | Jules in Flashy Fiction

    • clothespeggedpat
      October 27, 2015

      thank you πŸ™‚

  11. Pingback: Furrowed Soul | georgeplacepoetry by Debi Swim

  12. georgeplace2013
    October 26, 2015

    Don’t know when I been so impressed with a photo. It is wonderful!

    • clothespeggedpat
      October 27, 2015

      thank you – it is a beautiful photo – and if you follow the link – there is an interesting story about the man portrayed

      Cheers
      Pat

      • georgeplace2013
        October 27, 2015

        I did after I had written the poem. I was sad to note he died recently

      • clothespeggedpat
        October 27, 2015

        Yes …. a story within a story … nonetheless … in some ways, he has been noted and documented as part of history …. which is so honourable as the photographer found him a person of interest. Seeing the image … it makes me wish that I would have had the opportunity to have met the man himself.

        Thanks for your comments Debi πŸ™‚

        Cheers
        Pat

  13. summerstommy2
    October 26, 2015

    Hi Pat and welcome to the MLM team, at last all that wonderful talent will be directed at giving us wonderful prompts such as the one above….I shall go off and see what I can do….Michael.

    • clothespeggedpat
      October 27, 2015

      thanks Michael πŸ™‚

      Lovely comment and I appreciate the encouragement.

      As always, looking forward to what your mind will capture.

      Cheers
      Pat

      • summerstommy2
        October 27, 2015

        You are most welcome and thanks for the prompt I look forward to each week to write on what you put up for us….

      • clothespeggedpat
        October 27, 2015

        thanks Michael – I *hope* to be able to inspire through an array of choices and possibilities πŸ™‚

      • summerstommy2
        October 27, 2015

        I think that is our intention with the MLM prompts that’s why I like them as they generate within me the need to meet the challenge the best way I can. I think too that with the Tale Weaver prompt Phylor and I try to set challenges that will stimulate and produce some great pieces of writing but its always a challenge in itself setting the task for so often mine are what i think is a challenge but they don’t always generate the responses you’d like. But there is always next week!!
        My TW this week is about a pet, sounds simple so I hope it brings in some good responses….Have a great day Pat..

      • clothespeggedpat
        October 27, 2015

        I agree Michael …. it is a challenge … but then, one never knows what will happen once it’s sent out into the world …. and sometimes … well “life gets in the way” … or as I often feel …. some challenges are so well met by others that I am literally “stumped” … left wordless and hence speechless … so I write nothing … other than stopping in to comment ….

        As for Phylor and your efforts … I think you do an excellent job of it …. as do all the hosts on MLMM …. each in our own ways πŸ™‚

        Looking forward to your prompts … as always …. and maybe it’ll help swing me out of the “blahs” ….

      • summerstommy2
        October 27, 2015

        I know those ‘blahs’ I often get them with the FF prompts as I look at the image and find there is nothing in my mind of any worth writing down…..whereas the MLM prompts always appeal to that part of me that sees them as a puzzle to be solved and I can solve them my way and I like that idea. Sometimes Pat you just have to jump in and see where the words take you…

      • clothespeggedpat
        October 27, 2015

        LOL … well … try telling my brain that “jumping in” is “worthy” of my time …. I swear Michael …. if the “criminals” of this world had my “brain washed training” …. we’d “lose” a bunch of people in one felled swoop πŸ˜‰

      • summerstommy2
        October 27, 2015

        Well I guess that’s an aspect of life you’ll have to work on as we don’t want you to go the way of the ‘one felled swoop’…

      • clothespeggedpat
        October 27, 2015

        working on it πŸ™‚

  14. Pingback: Photo Challenge #84 – October 27, 2015 – On the Post Office Steps | Morpethroad

  15. Pingback: The Only One, Always | DarkLight Harbor

    • clothespeggedpat
      October 31, 2015

      Great and thank you for sharing and playing along πŸ˜€

      • J Lapis
        October 31, 2015

        I did enjoy the prompt πŸ™‚

  16. Pingback: Mapped | pegged on the line

  17. Pingback: Les histoires de Roger | Traces of the Soul

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 26, 2015 by in Photo Challenge and tagged , .
