Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille October 21st 2015 “Oku no Hosomichi” or writing a haibun.

Oku no Hosomichi (a page from this haibun by Basho)

Oku no Hosomichi (a page from this haibun by Basho)

Dear friends of MLMM,

Welcome at a new episode of Heeding Haiku With … I heard from Candice that there were friends of MLMM who love to know more about haibun and to try that wonderful (special) poetry form. What is a haibun? A haibun is a kind of travelogue, a diary or description of an event  in which prose and poetry (haiku) are entwined with each other. One of the most famous haibun is written by one of the classic haiku masters, Matsuo Basho (1644-1694), and is titled “Oku no Hosomichi” (The Narrow Road Into The Deep North). In this haibun Basho describes a journey (on foot) of almost 2400 km through the northern part of the southern Japanese island Honshu. He visits important and well known places and describes this with prose an d poetry. Basho was almost five years busy to revise his haibun. This haibun became a classic and the first time as it was published it was illustrated by Buson, another classic haiku poet who also was a great haiga artist. There are several kinds of haibun, the kikobun, the one-bun and the classic haibun. The kikobun and one-bun I will not use here in Heeding Haiku With … , but the classical haibun (as Basho’s) I love to bring under your attention. This week I love to challenge you to write a haibun with a maximum of 300 words (including the haiku) with a theme you may choose yourself. I will alternate haibun and haiku for Heeding Haiku With … This week it’s haibun.

Here is a haibun which I wrote several years ago. It’s titled: “A Strange Morning”.

A Strange Morning

Just a day as any other day it was. I woke up early in the morning and took a shower. I am not an early-riser, but sometimes I have too. This day, after a bad night, I wasn’t rising shine, but … a shower does miracles. I slipped on my housecoat and went downstairs. I opened the curtains giving the sun room to shine into my house. Birds sang their song, leaves rustled in the spring breeze and the Cherry tree in full bloom. Just a morning in spring as any morning in spring, but today something was different. I felt somewhat weird … ‘First coffee’, I thought. ‘And then maybe I feel different’. I shivered, I never had had such an uncannily feeling.

a strange morning
flowers blooming, rustling leaves,
uncannily feeling

After my coffee the uncannily feeling continued … ‘The bad night breaks me up’, I thought. I shook my head, shrugged my shoulders and straightened my back. ‘This will be a good day. A day like any other day’, I said firmly to myself.

That day went on and at the end of the day finally I lost my uncannily feeling … ‘tomorrow you will be seeing Abraham, you become 50’, my wife said to me. I looked at her … smiled … ‘This whole day I felt strange, but now I understand … tomorrow I will gain respect for my wisdom and high age. So this day was the last day of my youth. Tomorrow I will be a mature man’.

saying goodbye
my youth has gone by
I am an old man

© Chèvrefeuille

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Well … I hope you did like this haibun which I wrote in 2013, the year in which I really became 50. In that same year I celebrated my 25th anniversary as a haiku poet and an oncology nurse. I hope you all understand the goal of this episode of Heeding Haiku With … write a haibun. I hope I have inspired you with this episode of Heeding Haiku With …

When you have written your haibun,  please TAG Heeding Haiku with Chèvrefeuille and Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie. Then add your link to the Mister Linky widget below:

About Chèvrefeuille

I am a Dutch haiku poet. And I am the owner and host of the weblog "Carpe Diem, a daily haiku meme" on Blogger (or Blogspot). I am writing haiku since the late eighties and in 2005 I became an international known haiku poet and in 2011 ten of my haiku were included in a worldwide anthology "Spasms of Light". With that anthology I became an even more known haiku poet. In October 2012 I started my daily haiku meme.

10 comments on “Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille October 21st 2015 “Oku no Hosomichi” or writing a haibun.

  1. Suzanne
    October 21, 2015

    How exciting – a new haibun challenge. I haven’t been blogging much this month – I think you might just have lured me back. 🙂 Thank you. While I haven’t been blogging I have been editing old work – like you I will post an older haibun for this challenge.

  2. Suzanne
    October 21, 2015

    Whoops – I got so excited I forgot to say how much I enjoyed your haibun but I dispute that 50 is old these days. If that’s the case I must be positively ancient and I don’t feel it. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille – “Oku no Hosomichi” or writing a haibun. | ladyleemanilasphotos

  4. Pingback: hydrangeas | Blog It Or Lose It

  5. Pingback: The Night Before – Haibun – October 21, 2015 | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

  6. Rallentanda
    October 22, 2015

    Fifty is the new forty. You are not an old man:)

  7. Pingback: A Visit to Yesterday | Debi's Poems

  8. Pingback: Peregrination (MLMM with Chevrefeuille 10.23 s) | Jules Longer Strands of Gems

  9. Pingback: soupçon de mélancholie (haibun) | Tournesol dans un Jardin

  10. Pingback: November slips in (haibun) | Traces of the Soul

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 21, 2015 by in Haiku, Heeding Haiku and tagged , .
