Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

B&P Shadorma and Beyond – The Trinet – October 17, 2015

Hello Everybody … this has been a really very interesting week for me.  As you know, I’ve been participating in OctPoWriMo along with about 60 other poet friends and it has been extremely stimulating!

Besides the challenge of writing everyday, which believe it or not is really inspiring (even for me and I write every single day at the very least one post) it’s like a mountain that you know is just waiting to be climbed, there’s also all the different styles and forms that people come up with.

One of those forms is the Trinet, and I’m afraid I really don’t remember who introduced it.  It’s not particularly difficult … it’s  just 7 lines with word counts of 2,2,6,6,2,2,2 – however anyone who’s ever done a micro poem knows that tiny does not mean simple!  Here’s the Trinet that I wrote for Yve’s Collage prompt

Collage 8

Memories of Innocence

hidden
treasures
in my secret garden
where once I wished on stars
loving
a dream
now gone

© G.s.k. ‘15

 [Now for a little inspiration … let’s go back to 1971 …]

Of course … if you’ve got a piece of music, a photo or your own art work that inspires you, please feel free to use them, and as always you have the choice of using the featured form or a Shadorma.

Once you’ve completed your poem, please tag B&P’s Shadorma & Beyond and Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie and link up with Mr. Linky below.

Have a great week folks!  Bastet.

About Bastet

I love to read...I like to write...I've travelled the world and seen the sites. I'm past my prime and feel so young, especially when near the young. I'm writing this blog, to remember, to think and to share...with the hopes that someone else will make a comment that will stimulate new thoughts and pathways. Actually, I'm a gabber, so the logical extension of gabbing is blogging! ;-)

39 comments on “B&P Shadorma and Beyond – The Trinet – October 17, 2015

  1. Pingback: OctPoWriMo 17 (First Snow) – Trinet – October 17, 2015 | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

  2. Pingback: First Snow – Trinet – October 17, 2015 | Poet's Corner

  3. J Lapis
    October 17, 2015

    Well, now you’ve done it! I HAVE to do a Trinet, and maybe a Shadorma—since I’m such a worker-bee poet!

    • Bastet
      October 17, 2015

      LOL … sounds like a plan … I enjoy the challenge of this form … it’s even kinkier than a haiku!

      • J Lapis
        October 17, 2015

        Kinkier than a ‘ku, eh? Oh, don’t get me flipping again 🙂

      • Bastet
        October 17, 2015

        LOL !! this one is impossible to flip … no danger in that!

      • J Lapis
        October 17, 2015

        I plan to continue getting entertainment mileage from your very “hip” phrase, which I’d love to have on a T-shirt! Know anyone who could make them for us?? And I managed to get my Trinet/Shadorma assignment done…not half-bad, but far from stellar…

      • Bastet
        October 17, 2015

        Glad you found the Trinet/Shadorma fun … I just realized, thanks to the readers that I wrote my Trinet using syllable instead of words … that’s a haiku writer’s deformation I guess, didn’t even take into consideration the number of words! A T-shirt could be fun … but it’d be more likely you’d find a low-cost printer in the U.S. … though I might ask my son who lives in the great metropolis (sic) of Padua … one could print a haiku and then the phrase “Flip the Ku” LOL!

      • J Lapis
        October 17, 2015

        Oh dear, are you saying the Trinet should be written with a word-count, rather than syllables?? That would actually be a help, if so.

        As to the T-shirt: the haiku could be on the front, and “our” phrase on the back! What a conversation starter, eh?

      • Bastet
        October 18, 2015

        Way cool – that would be fun .. and yes, I mistakenly wrote it in syllables rather than using a word count!

      • J Lapis
        October 18, 2015

        So, what are you going to call the form that uses syllables, rather than words in the same numerical structure? I’m waiting with bated breath–expecting something as cool as “flip the ‘ku” 🙂

      • Bastet
        October 18, 2015

        Unlike many haiku poets, I’d not taken the thing into consideration … hmmm —- and what a reputation I have now, it must be something exceptionally well thought out 😉 What about a 3 Mōjō-ku (in English a tri-netted ku) ku means stanza btw 😉

      • J Lapis
        October 18, 2015

        Sounds impressive to me!

  4. Pingback: Lady Godiva – B&P Shadorma and Beyond – The Trinet | ladyleemanilasphotos

  5. Pingback: Floral delusions (Tinet – Shadorma) | Traces of the Soul

  6. Oliana
    October 17, 2015

    Oh this OctPoWriMo has pushed me to write more non waka poetry…I did my Trinet with the count of syllables and not words as your example is. Not sure which it is supposed to be. I love that collage, so it was a treat to write to it again.

    • Bastet
      October 17, 2015

      I know what you mean .. and I guess the haiku habit got me and I wrote the poem in syllables as well … I didn’t even read my own explanation – I’m so sorry about that. It is a lovely collage.

  7. Caitlin Gramley
    October 17, 2015

    So is trinet word count or syllable count? Your definition says word but your example shows syllable. Thanks.

    • julespaige
      October 17, 2015

      I’m guess in that it is word, but often in short verse the syllable count matches 🙂

      • Bastet
        October 17, 2015

        Yes, of course you’re right Jules … as a haiku writer, I didn’t really think about writing words or syllables .. syllables just come naturally to me.

    • Bastet
      October 17, 2015

      Interesting … I did a syllable count – it’s probably word count, sorry about that, I was a bit distracted!

  8. Pingback: ik 233 for October 2015 wp (MLMM Trinet plus) | julesgemstonepages

  9. julespaige
    October 17, 2015

    At first I thought it was a syllable count, but glad I went back to check. But it didn’t make that much of a change with my first verse I only had to add two words 😉
    And well I can never leave well enough alone…
    This worked out very well for my daily and I like the new short form.
    Now if I could just keep it ‘short’ 🙂
    https://julesgemstonepages.wordpress.com/2015/10/17/ik-233-for-october-2015-wp-mlmm-trinet-plus/

    • Bastet
      October 17, 2015

      LOL … you’re a wonder dear Jules … I mistakenly wrote my poems … today’s and the one in the example using syllables … such is life … my problem is probably the opposite of yours, I’ve got to learn to make things a little longer again … I’ve gone a bit to much in the other direction over the past 3 years.

  10. Candy
    October 17, 2015

    such a sweet form. I followed your example and did a syllable count. Maybe I’ll do another with a word count later.

    • Bastet
      October 17, 2015

      I might try to do one with the word count as well 🙂 Thanks Candy for participating!

  11. Pingback: Fireflies Forever | DarkLight Harbor

    • J Lapis
      October 18, 2015

      PS–I actually had already done mine with the syllable count, found it challenging but do-able; I was glad I hadn’t posted before finding your comment, alerting me, and was able to redo it with the word count 🙂

      • Bastet
        October 18, 2015

        A shame you didn’t post both … I would have like to have seen it in syllable count 😉

      • J Lapis
        October 18, 2015

        I may still have the hand-penned draft–if so, I’ll post it for you 🙂

      • Bastet
        October 19, 2015

        Cool … hope you find it!

      • J Lapis
        October 19, 2015

        I did–will post it soon 🙂

    • Bastet
      October 18, 2015

      Thanks for linking!

  12. Pingback: For J My Friend – 3 Mōjō-ku – October 20, 2015 | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

  13. Pingback: treasured! treasured! | Blog It Or Lose It

  14. Pingback: OctPoWriMo Day 22 – Trinet Wordleling – October 22, 2015 | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

  15. Pingback: Trinet Challenge with a Wordle | Poet's Corner

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 17, 2015 by in B&P Shadorma & Beyond and tagged , , , , .
