Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Music Friday Prompt #8 “Rambler from Derry” performed by The Irish Rovers

Hello Friends!

I thoroughly apologize for being absent from your creative triumphs last week. I will be on the lookout for your masterpieces this week.

Today we take a little trip down memory lane to sing with the Irish Rovers. I remember listening to all of their songs, from Lily the Pink to Orange and the Green. The “Rambler from Derry” reflects where my mind has been lately–learning everything I can about the Irish Travelers and Romany Gypsies for my WIP.

So dare to wear your kilts and kick up those knees 😀

I’m the rambler from derry lighthearted and merry
Around Paddy’s island me way I do wend
Meself and me dog over moorland and bog
We know every path through the mountains and glens

Singing fol-de-rol laddie right toor-a-lie-addy
Air fol-la-lull derry dum toor-a-lie-ay
With me pack on me back down the road I will stray
For the rambler from Derry is ramblin’ away

I was born a free man by the banks of the Bann
And the blood of the gypsy it runs through my veins
I’ve friends and relations all over this nation
Who offer me shelter from the wind and the rain

Singing fol-de-rol laddie right toor-a-lie-addy
Air fol-la-lull derry dum toor-a-lie-ay
With me pack on me back down the road I will stray
For the rambler from Derry is ramblin’ away

I rove at me leisure for sport and for pleasure
Through the warm summer sun or the cold winter snow
The sights are astounding with nature abounding
In Paddy’s green island where the dear shamrock grows

Singing fol-de-rol laddie right toor-a-lie-addy
Air fol-la-lull derry dum toor-a-lie-ay
With me pack on me back down the road I will stray
For the rambler from Derry is ramblin’ away

I’ve colleens from Derry to Cork and Tipperary
From Dublin to Sljgo and wild Donegal
I squeeze them and tease them I love them and please them
When me rambles are over sure I’ll marry them all

Singing fol-de-rol laddie right toor-a-lie-addy
Air fol-la-lull derry dum toor-a-lie-ay
With me pack on me back down the road I will stray
For the rambler from Derry is ramblin’ away

So lift up your glasses ye lads and fine lasses
To the travelling people wherever you be
May the road rise to meet you and old friends
To greet you and may all of your rambles be happy and free

Singing fol-de-rol laddie right toor-a-lie-addy
Air fol-la-lull derry dum toor-a-lie-ay
With me pack on me back down the road I will stray
For the rambler from Derry is ramblin’ away


Use the above song as inspiration for any form of creative expression (including but not limited too short stories, poems, lyrics, artwork, photography, covers, music/dance videos etc.)

Alternatively,

If you are a musician use this as an opportunity to showcase your own work.

You have 1 week to complete this challenge.

You do not have to include the video but please mention the song/artist in your post.

When you’re done, TAG the post Music Challenge and Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, and add your link to the Link Button. And don’t forget to link to this post or copy your post’s URL into the comments. We can read your post sooner that way.

Photo Courtesy of hotblack

About Rose

I am... cautious, labyrintine, secretive, lost, confused, brazen, independent, indestructible, miraculous, devastating, trapped, please others for approval, scars inside and out, addiction, hiding, erasing, running but past always catches up, adventuresome, sadness, disconnect, various drug treatments for depression and anxiety, discovering, foolishness idealistic, stubborn, belief in love, sympathy for others, capable of great kindness, neglect, selfishness, poor choices, thoughts of death, exclusion, lonely, distinct, vivid, real, belief in Random Acts of Kindness, teacher, patient, supportive, contemplating, academic achievement, lost and broken dreams, second and third and fourth chances, unique, resourceful, professional, humorous, loves children, curious about neuroanatomy and linguistics, people-watcher, introspective, reader of multiple books at a time, intermittent Spanish student, disgraceful at math, hate politics and violence, non-voter,sensitive, stressed, participant in NaNo, novelist, music lover, inspiration finder, searcher for Wisdom in everything, traveler, caver, photographer, afraid of oceans, childish, awestruck, proud of my children, breathing..

5 comments on “Music Friday Prompt #8 “Rambler from Derry” performed by The Irish Rovers

  1. phylor
    September 12, 2015

    Ah, the Irish Rovers! From 1971 to 1978 (had to wiki the dates) the group had a weekly television show on CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation for the uninitiated).
    The Black Velvet Band . . .

    • Vagrant Rhodia
      September 12, 2015

      😀 That is something I never knew! But did you ever hear about a band called Small Faces?

      • phylor
        September 12, 2015

        Yes . . . for some reason but I don’t know why. 😀

  2. Pingback: Wanderer | BaldyBeard

  3. Pingback: Writing Prompt #124 “Collage 6″ and Music Friday Prompt #8 | mindlovemisery

Leave a Reply

