Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

B&P’s Shadorma and Beyond – The Canzone – August 22, 2015

Hello there!

Whilst I was off to the Middle Ages, I thought it would be nice to dabble in poetry that came from around the period I “live in” which is around 1430.

I’m in Italy and so I’ll introduce you to the “Canzone” made famous by Petrarch and Dante.  Dante speaking of the “Canzone” said of it

“the most excellent Italian verse form, the one which is the worthy vehicle for those tragic compositions which treat the three noblest subjects: martial valor, love and moral virtue.”


There have been many variations on the theme and since Modern English isn’t Medieval Italian,  I’ve chosen to introduce a more a modern variation of the Canzone to you and then add my own simplified variation because the original form (and indeed it’s variation) is rather a lot of work and pretty complex.

However, for the more ambitious here is the modern form in all it’s complexity – for the others just follow the instructions I’ve written for my variation after the poem:

A popular English Canzone – in the frame described by Robbin Skelton:
stanzaic, written in 5 stanzas of 12 lines each followed by a 5 line envoy.
meter at the discretion of the poet.
unrhymed. Instead of rhyme, 5 end words are repeated in a set pattern which was apparently carried over to the very first sonnets as written by 13th century Sicilian poet Giacomo da Lentini of the court of Frederick II.

stanza 1: ABAACAADDAEE (letters refer to repeated end words not rhyme)
stanza 2: EAEEBEECCEDD
stanza 3: DEDDADDBBDCC
stanza 4: CDCCECCAACBB
stanza 5: BCBBDBBEEBAA
envoy: ABCDE

When shall we learn, what should be clear as day,
We cannot choose what we are free to love?
Although the mouse we banished yesterday
Is an enraged rhinoceros today,
Our value is more threatened than we know:
Shabby objections to our present day
Go snooping round its outskirts; night and day
Faces, orations, battles, bait our will
As questionable forms and noises will;
Whole phyla of resentments every day
Give status to the wild men of the world
Who rule the absent-minded and this world.

We are created from and with the world
To suffer with and from it day by day:
Whether we meet in a majestic world
Of solid measurements or a dream world
Of swans and gold, we are required to love
All homeless objects that require a world.
Our claim to own our bodies and our world
Is our catastrophe. What can we know
But panic and caprice until we know
Our dreadful appetite demands a world
Whose order, origin, and purpose will
Be fluent satisfaction of our will?

Drift, Autumn, drift; fall, colours, where you will:
Bald melancholia minces through the world.
Regret, cold oceans, the lymphatic will
Caught in reflection on the right to will:
While violent dogs excite their dying day
To bacchic fury; snarl, though, as they will,
Their teeth are not a triumph for the will
But utter hesitation. What we love
Ourselves for is our power not to love,
To shrink to nothing or explode at will,
To ruin and remember that we know
What ruins and hyaenas cannot know.

If in this dark now I less often know
That spiral staircase where the haunted will
Hunts for its stolen luggage, who should know
Better than you, beloved, how I know
What gives security to any world.
Or in whose mirror I begin to know
The chaos of the heart as merchants know
Their coins and cities, genius its own day?
For through our lively traffic all the day,
In my own person I am forced to know
How much must be forgotten out of love,
How much must be forgiven, even love.

Dear flesh, dear mind, dear spirit, O dear love,
In the depths of myself blind monsters know
Your presence and are angry, dreading Love
That asks its image for more than love;
The hot rampageous horses of my will,
Catching the scent of Heaven, whinny: Love
Gives no excuse to evil done for love,
Neither in you, nor me, nor armies, nor the world
Of words and wheels, nor any other world.
Dear fellow-creature, praise our God of Love
That we are so admonished, that no day
Of conscious trial be a wasted day.

Or else we make a scarecrow of the day,
Loose ends and jumble of our common world,
And stuff and nonsense of our own free will;
Or else our changing flesh may never know
There must be sorrow if there can be love.

Canzone by Wystan Hugh Auden

For more information about the Canzone go HERE and HERE.

I think we’ll do with just three stanzas (including the envoy) … the first or main stanza will be of 10 lines with 5 words repeated twice  and the envoy will be a five-line stanza where each line ends with the repeated word introduced in your 10 line stanza starting with the last repeated word creating a ABCDE type envoy – You might want to change the position of your repeating words  for each group of five … that’s fine just make sure that the envoy begins with your last repeated word and follows accordingly.

When the messenger arrives
Carrying his heavy missive
Who will hold my hand as I cry,
Knowing then, you are no more
For my life will have no more meaning?
What will I do when the message arrives?
How can I read that woeful missive,
How many tears must I then cry
Until my tears are no more
Giving sadness a new meaning?

Yet you say there will be no missive
No sad tidings for which to cry
Just joyous news from you and no more
Giving new verve and meaning
To our love, when it arrives.
How I long for that glad missive
And with happiness would I cry
For on that day to fear no more,
The sadness and loss of meaning,
If the report of your death arrives.

No matter what news arrives
This day of love will be our eternal missive.
Why cover my head in ashes and cry
I’ll think of a sad future no more
This night will fill me with new meaning!

© G.s.k. ‘15

Now for an inspirational photo for either your Shadorma or your Canzone:

 

Once you’ve completed your post … please link up with the Mr. Linky app and don’t forget to tag: Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie and B&P’s Shadorma and Beyond.

And of course don’t forget to have fun! Bastet

About Bastet

I love to read...I like to write...I've travelled the world and seen the sites. I'm past my prime and feel so young, especially when near the young. I'm writing this blog, to remember, to think and to share...with the hopes that someone else will make a comment that will stimulate new thoughts and pathways. Actually, I'm a gabber, so the logical extension of gabbing is blogging! ;-)

27 comments on “B&P’s Shadorma and Beyond – The Canzone – August 22, 2015

  1. Rall
    September 5, 2015

    I just watched the video clip. Mama mia (gesticulating with the flat of the hand on the forehead)..absolutely beautiful language and delivery. Ooooo I am so envious of you living in Italy Georgia…having gorgeous Italian guys on tap reading Dante to you whilst you sip aperitifs in your afternoon salon.:) !!!

    Your explanation of this difficult Canzone form with the colour coding is brilliant. I think I will try this one. Thank you so much fo all this effort. The canzone is one of the few forms I have never attempted.The other Auden example seems even more fiendishly difficult but I may attempt that one as well providing that you could persuade that lovely man on the video clip to translate and read it to me in Italian:)

    I may now Google “how to survive in Italy on the smell of an oily rag” 🙂

    PS
    Please submit your canzone on the linky so I can comment on it. Must have taken ages to do that one.Excellent work.
    Love the airplane photo too…hilarious !

    • Bastet
      September 6, 2015

      Love what you did with the canzone form … brilliant indeed … and as requested, I also posted and linked my “canzone” to the app … thanks for suggesting it! However … I’m afraid I don’t have that gentleman’s name and address, so we won’t be able to ask him to translate and read your canzone … sorry 😉 And now I’m off to read what you’re shadorm!

  2. Paloma
    September 5, 2015

    Wow ….. I am amazed …. this is brilliant. And expertly explained too. Brava!!!!

    • Bastet
      September 6, 2015

      I’m afraid a little more than our readers are interested in writing for … but, it’s nice to launch a challenge from time to time.

      • Paloma
        September 6, 2015

        You never know …. fingers crossed …

      • Bastet
        September 6, 2015

        True … one never knows!

    • Rallentanda
      September 6, 2015

      The three I have read so far are stunning…I think you are right Georgia…an occasional challenge is no bad thing !

      • Bastet
        September 7, 2015

        Thanks Rall … I wouldn’t want to do one every week … I know that many people don’t have the time for really complicated forms … but an occasional write out of the box can be stimulating indeed.

  3. thotpurge
    September 5, 2015

    Goodness… the original form is so daunting! Even the simplified version is going to be quite a challenge… thank you!

    • Bastet
      September 6, 2015

      I know that first form is hair-raising … but the modified form once you read it isn’t as complicated as it looks … I think 🙂 Hope you can figure it out … drop a line if you need a clarification. Bastet

      • thotpurge
        September 6, 2015

        Thank you Bastet! I did give the original form a shot… once I understood how it worked, it was like piecing together a jigsaw puzzle… oh yes, its long, but hopefully not too hard to read! Here goes: https://thotpurge.wordpress.com/2015/09/06/the-illusion-of-time/

      • Bastet
        September 6, 2015

        You might want to put it up on the Linky app too … 🙂

      • Bastet
        September 6, 2015

        Bravo! Yes … it’s really a lot less complicated than it appears to be … but the long form is long and time consuming. I’m off to read your canzone … and my compliments to you for gaving it a whirl!

  4. julespaige
    September 5, 2015

    This is going to take more time than I have at the moment – but thank you for the long and short forms. Being of Italian heritage it will be nice to know that I can create something more than just cannoli from scratch! And I only make that dessert once every three or so years 🙂
    If I can master the short or long form… I might be able to claim I can do something else related to my heritage! Can’t listen to the linky …yet. But I hope to in a couple of days. Or daze 😉

    • Bastet
      September 6, 2015

      I understand … but it’s probably a lot less time consuming than you think … certainly a whole lot less than making cannoli … either the wonderful Sicilian sweets filled with with ricotta, the northern chocolaet or vanilla cream-filled puff pastry kind or the fantastic meat or veggie stuffed first course variety. I’ll be looking forward to that day you can add a “canzone” to your C.V.! 🙂

      • julespaige
        September 6, 2015

        I did write one yesterday…but I didn’t get to post it… I will soon. Might be a tad long winded. It’s what I came up with… Once you have your end words… without changing them…that is the challenge to make it work 😉

        Oh, I didn’t know there were meat filled cannoli – mine are the Sicilian sweets 🙂 One year I even dipped the ends in chocolate and added pistachio nuts.

      • Bastet
        September 7, 2015

        I just read your poem .. really great … a little difficult not being “long winded” with a complicated repetitive form like this, but you managed very well.

        When you mentioned cannoli, I immediately thought of the Sicilian kind, my favourites, here they often dip the outside shell in chocolate, though that’s not traditional. And the meat filled cannoli are part of those first course traditions like lasagna … really yummy!

  5. gailatthefarm
    September 6, 2015

    I have to pass on this. Too complicated for me to get my head around tonight.

    Have a very blessed weekend.

    • Bastet
      September 6, 2015

      Sorry about that … perhaps later in the week you’d like to try a Shadorma 🙂 Thanks for your blessings and hope your weekend is full of happiness!

  6. Pingback: The Illusion of Time | THOTPURGE

  7. Pingback: The Missive – Canzone – September 6, 2015 | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

  8. Pingback: MLMM for Sept 5: Expectancy (9.5 s) | Jules Longer Strands of Gems

    • Bastet
      September 7, 2015

      A great read! I’m so happy you could find the time to write with this complicated for … and your shadorma conclusion was inspired!

  9. Pingback: B&P’s Shadorma and Beyond – The Canzone | ladyleemanilasphotos

  10. Pingback: Fisherman’s Wife – Long Canzone – September 10, 2015 | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

  11. Pingback: how you make | Girlgoyle. Banished.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 5, 2015 by in B&P Shadorma & Beyond and tagged , , , , , .
