Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Music Friday Prompt #7 “Lateralus” (Cello Cover) performed by the band “Break of Reality”

Welcome back for another round of Awesome ūüėÄ I’ve got a song to get you moving today–“Lateralus” originally performed by “Tool.” I was a big fan of them in high school, cranking them as loud as my stereo would allow. It wasn’t until college that I read the lyrics.

“Lateralus”

Black then white are all I see in my infancy.
red and yellow then came to be, reaching out to me.
lets me see.
As below, so above and beyond, I imagine
drawn beyond the lines of reason.
Push the envelope. Watch it bend.

Over thinking, over analyzing separates the body from the mind.
Withering my intuition, missing opportunities and I must
Feed my will to feel my moment drawing way outside the lines.

Black then white are all I see in my infancy.
red and yellow then came to be, reaching out to me.
lets me see there is so much more
and beckons me to look through to these infinite possibilities.
As below, so above and beyond, I imagine
drawn outside the lines of reason.
Push the envelope. Watch it bend.

Over thinking, over analyzing separates the body from the mind.
Withering my intuition leaving opportunities behind.

Feed my will to feel this moment urging me to cross the line.
Reaching out to embrace the random.
Reaching out to embrace whatever may come.

I embrace my desire to, I embrace my desire to
feel the rhythm, to feel connected
enough to step aside and weep like a widow
to feel inspired, to fathom the power,
to witness the beauty, to bathe in the fountain,
to swing on the spiral, to swing on the spiral,
to swing on the spiral of our divinity and still be a human.

With my feet upon the ground I lose myself
between the sounds and open wide to suck it in.
I feel it move across my skin.
I’m reaching up and reaching out.
I’m reaching for the random or whatever will bewilder me.
Whatever will bewilder me.
And following our will and wind we may just go where no one’s been.
We’ll ride the spiral to the end and may just go where no one’s been.

Spiral out. Keep going…

Writer(s): Adam Jones, Daniel Carey, et al.
Copyright: Toolshed Music, BMG Gold Songs
Photo Courtesy of Gratisography

Use the above song as inspiration for any form of creative expression (including but not limited too short stories, poems, lyrics, artwork, photography, covers, music/dance videos etc.)

Alternatively,

If you are a musician use this as an opportunity to showcase your own work.

You have 1 week to complete this challenge.

You do not have to include the video but please mention the song/artist in your post.

When you’re done, TAG the post Music Challenge and Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie, and add your link to the Link Button. And don’t forget to link to this post or copy your post’s URL into the comments. We can read your post sooner that way.

About Rose

I am... cautious, labyrintine, secretive, lost, confused, brazen, independent, indestructible, miraculous, devastating, trapped, please others for approval, scars inside and out, addiction, hiding, erasing, running but past always catches up, adventuresome, sadness, disconnect, various drug treatments for depression and anxiety, discovering, foolishness idealistic, stubborn, belief in love, sympathy for others, capable of great kindness, neglect, selfishness, poor choices, thoughts of death, exclusion, lonely, distinct, vivid, real, belief in Random Acts of Kindness, teacher, patient, supportive, contemplating, academic achievement, lost and broken dreams, second and third and fourth chances, unique, resourceful, professional, humorous, loves children, curious about neuroanatomy and linguistics, people-watcher, introspective, reader of multiple books at a time, intermittent Spanish student, disgraceful at math, hate politics and violence, non-voter,sensitive, stressed, participant in NaNo, novelist, music lover, inspiration finder, searcher for Wisdom in everything, traveler, caver, photographer, afraid of oceans, childish, awestruck, proud of my children, breathing..

9 comments on “Music Friday Prompt #7 “Lateralus” (Cello Cover) performed by the band “Break of Reality”

  1. Kelly
    September 4, 2015

    I still crank the Tool and APC! I might have to finally get in on these fun prompts!

  2. Pingback: Music Friday Prompt #7 ‚ÄúLateralus‚ÄĚ (Cello Cover) performed by the band ‚ÄúBreak of Reality‚ÄĚ – Looking | Morpethroad

  3. Pingback: dance me out/dance me in – Phylor's Blog

  4. phylor
    September 4, 2015

    I did a totally free write, with my eyes almost closed, and fingers and muse coordinating what spiraled away.
    As usual, I skipped the music, and focused on the lyrics.
    Trying to revive my laptop. Hope this post keeps the flow going.

    • Vagrant Rhodia
      September 4, 2015

      Wow ūüôā I’m so happy that you have found inspiration.

      • phylor
        September 4, 2015

        The lyrics were just too intense not to respond to on a visceral level.
        Great prompt!

  5. phylor
    September 4, 2015

    PS: not sure the pings are ponging. Two posts in blenza (three counting mine) aren’t showing up as ping backs in the comments.
    No big deal — just to let you know the luddite gremlins are at work at MMLM yet again.
    People can put link in comments when this sort of ping-pong-gone happens. There can be a delay. So if the urls show up, I will delete this comment!
    Great prompt by the way. You pick songs with the most wonderous lyrics. Poetry without the rhythm as I never play the video.

  6. phylor
    September 4, 2015

    PS: yet again I messed up. Ignore phylor 1 (it’s two knees) and click on phylor 2 if you’re interested in reading very free handed nonsense.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 4, 2015 by in Music Prompt and tagged , , , , .
