Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Tale Weaver #26: inuksuk

800px-2009-0605-ilanaaq-2010oly-whistler1_thumb

Vancouver, British Columbia Winter Games, 2010

In Inuit (and other Artic Circle languages), inuksuk* translates into “something which acts for or performs the function of a person.” Traditionally, for example, inuksuk indicated a point of reference, travel route, or spiritual place.
Now the inuksuk symbolizes a variety of attributes, as adopted by non-Arctic Circle society/culture. “I was here. I am me. Peace/Namaste. Understanding/compassion.”
Weave a tale about your inuksuk(s). What do they symbolize? Where will they take you?

*I used the inuksuk to embody “My brother-in-law was here” in an eulogy I posted to my blog.

About taleweavering

"I think I made you up inside my head.” Sylvia Plath

15 comments on “Tale Weaver #26: inuksuk

  1. Valida Faire
    August 13, 2015

    I remember that yours* was so excellent. This might take considerable cogitating…and preferably sleep, beforehand.

  2. phylor
    August 13, 2015

    Which are both perfectly acceptable! Take your time. Look forward to your cogitating.

  3. Pingback: Poems are Inuksuk | Debi's Poems

  4. georgeplace2013
    August 13, 2015

    Thanks for the new concept and word. I like where it took me.

    • phylor
      August 14, 2015

      Glad you enjoyed where your inuksuk took you. It’s a great word!

  5. Pingback: Inuksuk | twenty-six letters

  6. phylor
    August 13, 2015

    You are most welcome!

  7. Pingback: I Was Here | Bohemian Nerd

  8. Vagrant Rhodia
    August 13, 2015

    I made one deep inside a mountain this past summer!

    • phylor
      August 14, 2015

      That must have been so neat! Thanks for sharing the memory.

  9. Oliana
    August 13, 2015

    I must think about that…I remember seeing a young man mounting his rocks every strategically along the ocean front and railway at White Rock, BC. the train passed and not one rock budged.

    • phylor
      August 14, 2015

      Inuksuk are very special. He must have created a special one.

      • Oliana
        August 14, 2015

        He created about a dozen…I wish I could find that photo…my first time dipping my toes in the Pacific…

  10. Pingback: Tale Weaver #26: inuksuk – Home | Morpethroad

  11. Pingback: Tale Weaver #26; my Canadian inuksuk – Phylor's Blog

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 13, 2015 by in Tale Weaver and tagged , , .
