Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

B&P’s Shadorma & Beyond – The Lento – August 8, 2015

Hello Folks!

Hope you’re having a wonderful summer or winter … we’re at the height of either season right now and so, it’s time to move “lento” which in Italian means slowly … but it’s also the name of a poetic form created by Lencio Dominic Rodrigues.  Here’s what “Shadow Poetry” has to say about it – (Click the link for all the variations):

A Lento consists of two quatrains with a fixed rhyme scheme of abcb, defe as the second and fourth lines of each stanza must rhyme. To take it a step further, but not required, try rhyming the first and third lines as well as the second and fourth lines of each stanza in this rhyming pattern: abab, cdcd. The fun part of this poem is that as all the FIRST words of each verse should rhyme. There is no fixed syllable structure to the Lento, but keeping a good, flowing rhythm is recommended.

Sounds fun!  Let’s see how one of our contributors did with the form, by going to her blog,  Wealth of Ruins, where I first read this form – she in turn was introduced to the form by Two Paise Poems:

Belle she was, of Mad Harbor, where

Fell sweet mist with magic power–

Smell of mint, it held off years; town

Well collected clear cups each hour.

*

But, as young maids grew never old, it

Cut chances for their grizzled beaus.

Shut out, bald seekers of Belle’s fair hand were

Somewhat bitter bachelors, I’d suppose.

© Valida, 2015

Now for more inspiration, to either write a Lento or in alternative a Shadorma (a poetic form consisting of a six-line stanza [a  six lined poem – 3/5/3/3/7/5] for a total of 26 syllables) or maybe a combination of the two:

V-A-C-A-T-I-O-N!

Feel free to write a Shadorma, a Lento, or any combination of the two using the inspiration prompt or perhaps you’ve got something that’s inspiring you along a different line of poetry – like your own art work – as we’ve often said feel free to use it and above all –  have fun!

When you have written your poem(s), please TAG them B&P’s Shadorma & Beyond and MindLoveMisery’s Menagerie. Then add your link to the Mister Linky widget below.

Ciao!  Bastet

About Bastet

I love to read...I like to write...I've travelled the world and seen the sites. I'm past my prime and feel so young, especially when near the young. I'm writing this blog, to remember, to think and to share...with the hopes that someone else will make a comment that will stimulate new thoughts and pathways. Actually, I'm a gabber, so the logical extension of gabbing is blogging! ;-)

19 comments on “B&P’s Shadorma & Beyond – The Lento – August 8, 2015

  1. Pingback: Cat on a Limb – Shadorma/Lento – August 8, 2015 | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

  2. Valida Faire
    August 8, 2015

    Thank you, Bastet, for the mention here–how lovely to receive this honor. However, I feel badly because it was another blogger whom I learned the Lento from (you know how I fret that I’ll offend someone). “Vacation” is a difficult prompt for me, as I do not have them available to me–and right now, desperately need one! Fortunately, I have a great imagination–so we’ll see what I can come up with (a Shadorma, for certain). Thanks again–bless you!

    • Bastet
      August 8, 2015

      We all get our prompts from somewhere … so I wouldn’t feel too badly, but I will mention her too as I should have in the first place! But the mention was yes, for the Lento, but above all, for how you wrote it. Vacation is my excuse for using that lovely (well, funny) video … you can inspire yourself with whatever you like … I’ll be looking forward to your Shadorm(ku?) 😉 Bless you sweets!

      • Valida Faire
        August 8, 2015

        You’re such a dear–So complimentary and encouraging. I hadn’t any idea how it would impact me to see my name/poem showcased–I can’t really describe the feeling (other than positive, and humbling), and of course I don’t think the Lento was my best work at all…

        I do have my Shadorma ready to schedule…and it amuses me to see the “ku” you added! So, thank you for the late night grin, and again, for your generous consideration.

      • Bastet
        August 9, 2015

        It was my pleasure to showcase your poem … and I’ve met very few poets or writers who think their work is worth reading … it was well constructed and I enjoyed it. Glad you liked my bit of humour there … actually when it was introduced to me it was said to be a Spanish adaptation of haiku … but someone anonymous …

      • Valida Faire
        August 9, 2015

        🙂

  3. Pingback: B&P’s Shadorma & Beyond – The Lento | ladyleemanilasphotos

  4. Pingback: Liberty Belle | Bohemian Nerd

  5. Pingback: VACATION (Shadorma and Beyond) | WEALTH of RUINS

  6. Pingback: Down a Wooded Path | consciouscacophony

  7. twopaisepoems
    August 9, 2015

    Thank you for the mention.. Valida has done a brilliant job with this form 🙂

    • Bastet
      August 9, 2015

      I do so agree 🙂 and thanks for the introduction to the form.

  8. Pingback: Against the Grain (8.9 s) | Jules Longer Strands of Gems

  9. julespaige
    August 9, 2015

    I didn’t go with vacation – I thought I would struggle with the rhyme.
    But I managed 😉

    https://juleslongerstrandsofgems.wordpress.com/2015/08/09/against-the-grain-8-9-s/

    • Bastet
      August 10, 2015

      That’s fine … our prompts are just a suggestion to get one started 🙂

      • julespaige
        August 16, 2015

        Sometimes just one word triggers a tome. 🙂

      • Bastet
        August 17, 2015

        Very true indeed!

  10. gailatthefarm
    August 10, 2015

    Thanks for the prompt. Please do share where I can improve and if the form is correct.

    I am learning much here and will return.

    • Bastet
      August 11, 2015

      It was my pleasure … I’m glad you enjoyed it … are learning something new and will be back, will be looking forward to reading your work.

Leave a Reply

