Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Heeding Haiku (with Chèvrefeuille). July 29th 2015 beautiful chaos

nature__s_chaos_by_tijuanaroboticscorp-d2yzrkb

Dear friends at MLMM,

It’s really a honor to be your (new) host for Heeding Haiku. A little while ago Candice asked me to be the successor of Anmol (a.k.a. HA), the former host of Heeding Haiku. I have read several of his Heeding Haiku posts and I hope to fill in as good as he did.
I remember that Anmol started to post at Carpe Diem Haiku Kai (CDHK), my daily haiku meme, back in June 2013. I immediately was caught by the beauty and style of his haiku. And I was glad to discover that Anmol was hosting Heeding Haiku here at MLMM, because in a way (and he has told me that himself) he started haiku writing/composing through CDHK.
For my first episode of Heeding Haiku I love to honor him as the former host of Heeding Haiku and as a haiku poet.
At CDHK I have a special feature titled Utabukuro (meaning “poem bag”) in which I ask my visitors to share a favorite haiku or some other kind of poem by classical or non-classical haiku poets and poets and tell why that specific poem is special to them and write an all new haiku or tanka.
Utabukuro by the way comes from a haiku by Matsuo Basho (1644-1694), one of the four greatest haiku poets, whom I see as my (haiku)master. That haiku, in a translation by Jane Reichhold, one of my favorite modern haiku poets, I love to share here:

flower buds
it’s my regret I can’t open
my bag of poems

or this translation, also by Jane Reichhold:

flower buds
sadly spring winds cannot open
a poem bag

© Matsuo Basho (Tr. Jane Reichhold)

Ok … back to this Heeding Haiku episode. As promised I have a wonderful haiku by Anmol to honor him for all he has done for MLMM.

entangled branches
sun ascends through lifeless limbs
beautiful chaos

© Anmol (a.k.a. HA)

Anmol published this haiku in response on “chaos”, one of the CDHK prompts. I commented on this haiku the following: […] “Really an awesome haiku … very unique in it’s word-painting and with that photo going along with it, it would be a wonderful haiga”. […] (By the way the above photo accompanied this haiku)

I think this haiku can inspire you to write an all new haiku or tanka and that’s our goal for this week’s Heeding Haiku. Of course you may use another haiku or tanka or maybe you are inspired to write a second stanza of two lines (approximately 7-7 syllables) to turn this haiku by Anmol into a so called Tan Renga, a short chained poem written by two poets.

An example of a Tan Renga, to give you all an idea what Tan Renga is:

entangled branches
sun ascends through lifeless limbs
beautiful chaos                                  (© Anmol)

in the fragile morning light
a cobweb sparkles like crystal            (© Chèvrefeuille)

Well … I hope you did like this first Heeding Haiku (with Chèvrefeuille) and that it will inspire you to write an all new haiku, tanka or other kind of poem.

When you have written your poem(s), please TAG Heeding Haiku with Ha and Mindovemisery’s Menagerie. Then add your link to the Mister Linky widget below.

About Chèvrefeuille

I am a Dutch haiku poet. And I am the owner and host of the weblog "Carpe Diem, a daily haiku meme" on Blogger (or Blogspot). I am writing haiku since the late eighties and in 2005 I became an international known haiku poet and in 2011 ten of my haiku were included in a worldwide anthology "Spasms of Light". With that anthology I became an even more known haiku poet. In October 2012 I started my daily haiku meme.

8 comments on “Heeding Haiku (with Chèvrefeuille). July 29th 2015 beautiful chaos

  1. Pingback: Heeding Haiku (with Chèvrefeuille). July 29th 2015 beautiful chaos | ladyleemanilasphotos

  2. Valida Faire
    July 29, 2015

    I got a bit lost in the wealth of information here. Are we to follow the theme of “beautiful chaos” with our haiku, or write something honoring Anmol–or simply write any haiku that comes to us?

    • Chèvrefeuille
      July 29, 2015

      It’s your choice. You may respond on the given haiku by writing a new haiku or just choose a haiku which you like to share for inspiration. It’s up to you.

  3. Pingback: Renga me I’ll renga you — memory — July 29, 2015 | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

  4. Pingback: called forth (7.29 s) | Jules Longer Strands of Gems

  5. Pingback: how soft, the moss | Girlgoyle. Banished.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 29, 2015 by in Haiku, Poetry, Tanka and tagged .
