Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

Writing Prompt #115 “NoEnd House Part 1”

webcam-toy-photo1 (1)

Yves

I dream frequently about houses. Houses supposedly represent the self, literal doors of the mind so when I came across the horror story NoEnd House I was naturally fascinated. The houses in my dreams have no end, one room leads to another and another, sometimes with repeating motifs, every room seemingly its own dimension. A perpetual labyrinth. In NoEnd House there are 9 rooms. I had thought about doing this as a single prompt but describing 9 rooms in vivid detail would create for some extremely lengthy responses so I decided we would do a series of prompts 9 to be exact so that we can take our time describing each of these magnificent/macabre rooms. I would like to emphasize that just because the idea came to me from a horror story it does not mean that you have to write a horror story. You can write a fantasy piece, a psychological dissection of your various selves, you could even describe the 9 levels of heaven if you like. Each room could be totally different so there is no overarching genre. One thing I want you to make sure to describe is the doors and how/where they are located and if they have keys. For each of these prompts I am going to give you either a word or an image (I am taking the photos so you can alter/distort them, however, you like) to use as inspiration in describing your room (your dreams are another great source for this prompt). Be as abstract or concrete as you like but leave an impression.

When you’re done, TAG the post MindLoveMisery’s Menagerie, and add your link to the Link Button. And don’t forget to link to this post or copy your post’s URL into the comments. We can read your post sooner that way.

About mindlovemisery

Music: PJ Harvey, Radio Head, Fleetwood Mac, David Usher/Moist, Johnny Cash, Portishead, Damien Rice (basically I am a 90s kid I like alternative, grunge, Industrial and other types of metal, oldies, punk, rock etc.) Authors: Sylvia Plath, James Baldwin, Edmund White, Arthur Rimbaud, Jim Carrol, Jeff Noon, etc. Movies: A Clock Work Orange, Fight Club, House of Flying Daggers (I like a lot of cult movies, horror, comedy, drama, I don't like action and fantasy is terrifying lol) Philosophical Beliefs: Buddhism, Daoism, Shintoism (before it changed under Nationalism), The Transcendent Order Favorite Video Game: Planescape Torment What I do: read, write, yoga, pilates, weight-lift, walk, study philosophy and psychology, dance like a crazy person, paint, dream etc. Qualities: stubborn, sarcastic, teasing, playful, open, flirtatious, eccentric, passionate, forgetful, open-minded I am 32 and married (almost 13 years) with a beautiful 5 year old daughter. Everyone thinks I'm a hippie.

32 comments on “Writing Prompt #115 “NoEnd House Part 1”

  1. Pingback: Rumors; The first Room (7.12 f) | Jules in Flashy Fiction

    • mindlovemisery
      July 13, 2015

      I can’t comment at your blog
      This was my response to your shadorma
      Just the other day my daughter was caught stealing brownies, brilliantly done Jules!

      Now I am going to read this one

      • julespaige
        July 13, 2015

        Put the appropriate line at my post.
        Sometimes when fooling with updates and such comments from others get ‘sidelined’. Hopefully this will not be a continuing issue.

      • mindlovemisery
        July 13, 2015

        I was able to comment to the other poem just fine

      • julespaige
        July 13, 2015

        Sometimes there is an issue when my computer runs it’s safety check program. But with computers … one just never does know.

      • julespaige
        July 13, 2015

        I often dream of houses too. Odd floor plans that I can almost remember.
        Once I created a motor home home for my grandparents. But I connected it to an odd little motor home that the family had. I have photos of this little silver bullet type that could be pulled by a car. Though I don’t think I actually ever saw the inside.

        Just the other night I created an escape route through an apartment building – there were false doors that took me to the apartment next door and other doors that were in corners that were elevators that went up and down but only to certain floors. Thankfully, at least I think there weren’t any occupants while going through this maze!

      • mindlovemisery
        July 13, 2015

        How cool this is Jules you should absolutely use these dreams in your prompts and stories

      • julespaige
        July 13, 2015

        I’m not sure if I ever have used dream floor plans in prompts. Too many – I might just end up ‘mashing’ up the floor plans 😉

  2. Pingback: Writing Prompt #115 “NoEnd House Part 1″ – Sun Room | Morpethroad

  3. The Real Cie
    July 13, 2015

    I have a recurring dream where I find myself in a large, disheveled house with light coming in through holes in the ceiling and walls. There is always a malevolent feeling about the place, particularly in the basement. Not long ago, this dream coincided with my recurring dream where a tornado is following me from town to town. It never quite reaches me, but the threat does grow closer as the dream goes on.
    Dissecting me psychologically would prove interesting but would probably scare most people away. I don’t have dissociative identity disorder, but my personality isn’t entirely cohesive. I often compare my psyche to a glass or vase that was dropped and someone put back together. It’s a unit, but there are definite cracks.

    • mindlovemisery
      July 13, 2015

      That is a dream I can relate to, night after night I dream of houses of various sorts. Whenever I recall the house of my childhood it always comes with intense dread and I associate it with this black-eyed creepy bride (I don’t remember sensing any such figure when I was living there). There were shadow people and there was poltergeist activity which I think came from me but the bride I don’t remember yet in my dreams she is there.I do have Dissociative Disorder along with an assortment of other mental illnesses and so I for one am absolutely open to deep explorations of the psyche if you are willing to undertake them. You can also of course write a fictional story and thus do not have to reveal anymore of yourself than you feel comfortable revealing. As the people participating in my challenges are largely away of my issues I believe them to be an open and sensitive group.

  4. Pingback: Our House – Writing Prompt #115 “NoEnd House Part 1″ and Whirligig 15 | ladyleemanilasphotos

  5. Pingback: Writing Prompt #113 and Photo Challenge #69 and Wordle# 207 | mindlovemisery

  6. September Last
    July 15, 2015

    I’m a teensy bit confused–this is part 1 of 9?? So we only write about the 1st door, right? And the link I have is “writing prompt 115-saint lawrence river”–can this be right?? Sorry to cause trouble–maybe it’s all my fault for changing blogs/moving to my “summer place” (from Dim Scribbles Diary). The prompt is fascinating–but I want to make sure I’m on the same page with you!

    • mindlovemisery
      July 15, 2015

      Yes only the first door (don’t be confused by my poem lol) XD The reason it says Saint Lawrence River is because I originally had another prompt planned but changed it and it saved the previous title so it is actually right. I should have done a new post instead of erasing and typing in the new prompt but I didn’t.

      • September Last
        July 15, 2015

        No no, I don’t need special accommodations–just appreciated the clarification–thank you very much! It’s such an intriguing photo, and prompt!

      • mindlovemisery
        July 15, 2015

        Thank you so much =)

  7. Pingback: Walking In Coming out | Write Whore Write

  8. Pingback: Writing Prompt #117 NoEnd House Part 2″ | Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

  9. Pingback: Room 1: 6 flights up – Phylor's Blog

  10. phylor
    July 26, 2015

    https://phylor.wordpress.com/2015/07/26/room-1-6-flights-up/ just in case my ping pongs
    Great idea re rooms — I can get nostalgic about my rooms

  11. Pingback: NO-END HOUSE, PART 1 | WEALTH of RUINS

  12. Pingback: Writing Prompt #119 “NoEnd House Part 3″ | Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

  13. Pingback: room 3: slamming the door, 3rd floor up – Phylor's Blog

  14. Pingback: Writing Prompt #121 “NoEnd House Part 4″ | Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

  15. Pingback: Writing Prompt #123 “NoEnd House Part 5″ | Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

  16. Pingback: Writing Prompt #125 “NoEnd House Part 6″ | Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

  17. Pingback: Writing Prompt #127 “NoEnd House Part 7″ | Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

  18. Pingback: Writing Prompt #129 “NoEnd House Part 8″ | Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

  19. Pingback: Writing Prompt #131 “NoEnd House Part 9″ | Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

Leave a Reply

