Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

B&P’s Shadorma & Beyond – The Dinggedicht – July 11, 2015

Hello Folks … here we are again in the sweltering heat and the freezing cold – depending on where you live!

Today I though I’d introduce a lovely form from the German-speaking world – The Dinggedicht or Object Poem. This poetic form was introduced by Austrian poet, Rainer Maria Rilke in the early 1900s whilst he studied impressionistic paintings.  They can either be an observation of man-made objects (especially the more recent Dinggedicht) or an observation of nature.

The Dinggedicht is:
• framed at the discretion of the poet.
• formed by acute observations of concrete images in the world around, expressing symbolically an event, social condition, mood or idea.

Here are a couple of examples:

Paradise Adrift by Judi Van Gorder 1-3-05

water gently laps
at the edge
of the shore
where a soggy
passport lies open

face down
next to broken palms
and a tilted, scarred
kitchen chair,
one spindly leg buried deep

in the foam-covered sand

Found on PMO

and

 Purpose Served

a shopping cart
pushed up onto
the apartment complex lawn

abandoned four blocks
from its store

containing now
an old microwave

© Lawrencealot – November 14, 2014

Found on Poet’s Collective

§§§

Explanation and history of this form can be found on both links.

Now … let me try:

strawberry and lemon flavoured
sticky puddle
forming on the blazing sidewalk

it’s Lorelei call
attracting ants and flies

Kamikaze Popsicle stick

soon to be
a nude memory
of summer pleasure

© G.s.k. ‘15

§§§§

Fun no?  Here a possible inspiration for your own  Dinggedicht with lots of objects to choose from:

Pieter Breugel - 1560 - Children's Games (Wikipedia)

Pieter Breugel – 1560 – Children’s Games (Wikipedia)

Feel free to write a shadorma and/or Dinggedicht, using the painting above or any other subject that floats your boat!

When you have written your poem(s), please TAG them B&P’s Shadorma & Beyond and Mindovemisery’s Menagerie. Then add your link to the Mister Linky widget below.

Have a great week folks, Bastet.

About Bastet

I love to read...I like to write...I've travelled the world and seen the sites. I'm past my prime and feel so young, especially when near the young. I'm writing this blog, to remember, to think and to share...with the hopes that someone else will make a comment that will stimulate new thoughts and pathways. Actually, I'm a gabber, so the logical extension of gabbing is blogging! ;-)

27 comments on “B&P’s Shadorma & Beyond – The Dinggedicht – July 11, 2015

  1. Pingback: Straw Hat (Mugiwara boush) – July 11, 2015 | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

  2. phylor
    July 11, 2015

    I shall not write a poem (I’m free verse and rhyme 😉 ). The Brugels are one of my favourite painters. (I know the one and painters is contradictory but I think of them as one.)
    When I saw your prompt, I knew I had to comment. Only seen a few in person. I stand there and “read” the painting. I’m often drawn inside it.
    That’s my “two cents” — by today’s standard $2.00 to $20.00 dollars. 😉

    • Bastet
      July 12, 2015

      I love this particular Brugel myself … first saw it on the wall of the kitchen of one of my best friends … I understand what you mean about reading the painting … very fun … and btw, if you want you can always link a free verse rather than a form poem.

      • phylor
        July 12, 2015

        In an English class, we read Hogarth prints (his “modern moral subjects”) such as the Rake’s Progress.
        Thanks for the invitation to link free verse!

      • Bastet
        July 12, 2015

        Very welcome to the invite … and that English class sounds very interesting indeed!

  3. Pingback: I Spy Redemption? (7.11 s) | Jules Longer Strands of Gems

  4. julespaige
    July 11, 2015

    I always have fun with new forms.
    Hope this does well:

    https://juleslongerstrandsofgems.wordpress.com/2015/07/11/i-spy-redemption-7-11-s/

    Linky is on the blinky.

    • Bastet
      July 12, 2015

      I’m sure it will .. and Linky was blinky with me yesterday too. I entered my piece and there was a blank place where my name should have been …then later it popped up!

      • julespaige
        July 12, 2015

        Computer gremlins.

      • Bastet
        July 13, 2015

        Yeah, something like that.

      • julespaige
        July 13, 2015

        I got one of your ‘private’ posts in my email – try to go to it and it says oops. ‘Dried up Fountain’ – So maybe the Linky crossed wires some where. Not sure if you even posted that. I’ll send you the e-mail if you’d like – I still have it.

      • Bastet
        July 13, 2015

        I don’t understand … I didn’t send you any e-mails — private or otherwise. Though I did write a post for MLMM about the Mr. Linky for Haiku with HA and then took it down shortly afterwards.

      • julespaige
        July 13, 2015

        This is what ended up in my e-mail.
        Your post to tagged to Carpe Diem.
        But comes up as a link to:
        https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Michael_(1996_film) however that is the link that comes up when I copy and post the heading in my e-mail (the to me part)
        which actually reads:
        [New Post] Dried up Fountain – Tanka – July 12,

        https://mindlovemiserysmenagerie.wordpress.com/2015/07/12/dried-up-fountain-tanka-july-12-2015/ But when I put this in or try to go to it this message pops up:
        This is somewhat embarrassing, isn’t it?
        It seems we can’t find what you’re looking for. Perhaps searching can help.

        When I go to the short link in my e-mail
        http://wp.me/p4t2PZ-G9 it also goes to the MLMM heading saying the post cannot be found.

      • Bastet
        July 14, 2015

        Ah yes, that was the post I accidentally put up on MLMM instead of on Bastet and Sekhmet’s Library … I was in a bit of a confused state at the time … now I’m wondering if when I re-linked it to CDHK if I put the proper link up!!! Sorry … it says that it’s somewhat embarrassing when the post is no longer available at MLMM.
        This is the proper link for that post – https://bastetandsekhmet.wordpress.com/2015/07/12/empty-fountain-tanka-july-12-2015/

      • Bastet
        July 13, 2015

        ACH!!!! Now I remember! … Yesterday by mistake I posted my CDHK haiku on MLMM by mistake and as soon as I realized that I took it down (two people had already “liked”. No problem. You can throw it away.

      • julespaige
        July 13, 2015

        Oh… I just explained all that… again.
        Odd though how it ended up in my e-mail. in order to comment I actually have to click on the piece – I can’t do it in the e-mail version. Gremlins!

      • Bastet
        July 14, 2015

        Not so odd indeed … I’ve no email address with MLMM … so you couldn’t have sent a message to me, so once I took the post down … it became a dead link.

      • julespaige
        July 14, 2015

        I did think that I had your e-mail address somewhere… probably do. But dead links are well; gone, if not forgotten 🙂

      • Bastet
        July 14, 2015

        Yep … once you’ve written a post it goes up all over the place, you can take it down but it still comes up in people’s mailboxes … sorry again.

      • julespaige
        July 14, 2015

        No worries. It was just odd.

  5. Pingback: Dinggedicht – Summer Celebration |

  6. Jen
    July 12, 2015

    Very interesting! I’m glad you found a new form! Will enjoy this one 🙂

    • Bastet
      July 13, 2015

      Glad I came across this too! Have fun!

  7. Pingback: Dinggedicht |

  8. Pingback: Digging It | Write Whore Write

  9. Pingback: storm-split | Girlgoyle. Banished.

  10. Pingback: Lamp Lights and Music | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

Leave a Reply

