Mindlovemisery's Menagerie

A dose of fetish. Good friends. An incomparable muse.

B&P’s Shadorma & Beyond – June 27, 2015

Hello folks!

Paloma and I are really scratching our heads trying to scare up some new poetry forms for you to try out.  This week, I went on a hunt for some new invented form and came upon a site called: PMO or Poetic Magnum Opus … and went to their page called (what else) Invented Forms from Poetry Styles.   And I’m very grateful for their efforts!

"Colour Wheel!!" This is Cath's latest painting. She started it during her Residency at Nature in Art. Cath designed it to showcase just how many colours invertebrates come in, one for every colour of the rainbow!!... Mounted limited editon print 16"x 20" £35.00, plus P&P. Unmounted print £25.00, plus P&P. To purchase, email Cath on cathhodsman@talktalk.net or ring on 01453 884359.

Painter’s Credit … Cath Hodsman

The form I’ve chosen for us today is called: The American 767 and it was created by  Dennis L. Dean.

Here it is for you:

The American 767 is:

  • a tristich, a poem in 3 lines. (Cool thing to know!)
  • syllabic, 7-6-7 syllables per line.
  • unrhymed.
  • written with the name of a “bug” in it.

Queen Bee by Judi Van Gorder

Early Spring the Bumblebee
buzzes round and about,
her preference blue blossoms.

Something tells me that the inventor of this form is a haiku poet of sorts not to mention (which I’m doing anyway) a fan of Kobayashi Issa!

Here is my effort:

walking in the wooded shade
a line of ants marched past
with the spoils from a picnic

© G.s.k. ‘15

Not one of my strongest poems I’ll admit … so maybe with inspiration:

And if insects aren’t your thing … perhaps you’d like to write a Shadorma (A non-rhyming, six line poem (sestina) with the following syllable count: 3/5/3/3/7/5.) about nature!

The choice is yours! When you have written your poem(s), please TAG them B&P’s Shadorma & Beyond and MindLoveMisery’s Menagerie. Then add your link to the Mister Linky widget below.

And do have fun!  Ciao, Bastet

 

About Bastet

I love to read...I like to write...I've travelled the world and seen the sites. I'm past my prime and feel so young, especially when near the young. I'm writing this blog, to remember, to think and to share...with the hopes that someone else will make a comment that will stimulate new thoughts and pathways. Actually, I'm a gabber, so the logical extension of gabbing is blogging! ;-)

39 comments on “B&P’s Shadorma & Beyond – June 27, 2015

  1. Pingback: Bees – B&P’s Shadorma & Beyond –The American 767 | ladyleemanila

  2. Pingback: Jules Longer Strands of Gems

  3. Pingback: Pests? (6.27 s) | Jules Longer Strands of Gems

  4. julespaige
    June 27, 2015

    https://juleslongerstrandsofgems.wordpress.com/2015/06/27/pests-6-27-s/

    Hotel where I’m at is upgrading the net. And it’s not quite to my floor yet.
    So I’m making do with limited time and space.
    Which for being on vacation could be a good thing 😉

    • Bastet
      June 28, 2015

      I do so understand your plight. Actually just catching up after having been away again with no internet at all. But as you say, if one’s on vacation … Thanks for participating notwithstanding all the difficulties …

  5. Pingback: Black Widow | consciouscacophony

  6. Jen
    June 28, 2015

    What a fun form!!! 😀

  7. girl
    June 28, 2015

    “her preference blue blossoms”

    I love that.

  8. DELL CLOVER
    June 28, 2015

    This might be interesting!!

    • Bastet
      June 28, 2015

      I do agree Dell … let’s see what we can come up with! 🙂

      • DELL CLOVER
        June 28, 2015

        Mine is ready–not stellar, maybe, but ready!

      • Bastet
        June 28, 2015

        LOL … lovely rhyme here 😉 hope to get around today to read the poems that have been linked … and to write one of my own!

      • DELL CLOVER
        June 28, 2015

        I haven’t posted mine for this prompt yet…

      • Bastet
        June 28, 2015

        Ah … I was wondering why I didn’t see a link pop up 🙂

      • DELL CLOVER
        June 28, 2015

        Maybe tomorrow–I mean later today…

      • Bastet
        June 28, 2015

        No problem … I’ve been slogging away trying to catch up on my blog reading all day and I’m about fagged … so I won’t be reading the B&P’s Shadorma and Beyond today.

      • DELL CLOVER
        June 28, 2015

        We must make time for replenishing rest, eh?

      • Bastet
        June 29, 2015

        As I did … the next time though that someone tells me that blogging is a lazy person’s pass-time, I’ll zap them with a lightning bolt 😉

      • DELL CLOVER
        June 29, 2015

        Absolutely!! What moron thunk up that??!! We all work dang hard at this “Fun”!

      • Bastet
        June 30, 2015

        Someone who’s never blogged of course 🙂 —

      • DELL CLOVER
        June 30, 2015

        Evidently!

  9. Pingback: Splash of colour #Micropoetry | THE MOVING QUILL

  10. Rall
    June 28, 2015

    http://www.rallentanda.blogspot.com.au/2015/06/go-greece.html

    Having problem with Mr Linky again… will try again later. Am shadorma – ised (like in hypnotised) at the moment 🙂

    • Bastet
      June 28, 2015

      Oh my … so sorry for the Mr. Linky … if I don’t see your post, I’ll try to link it for you from your link here.

  11. Pingback: eagerly, the firefly | Blog It or Lose It!

  12. Pingback: BUGS & HEAT (for MindLoveMisery’s Menagerie) | Dim Scribbles Diary

  13. Pingback: Boeing 767 | Rebelle Angel

  14. Pingback: Just Karma 20 for July 2015 wp | julesgemstonepages

  15. Pingback: American 767 – July 1, 2015 | Bastet and Sekhmet's Library

  16. Pingback: ik 139 for July 2015 wp | julesgemstonepages

  17. Pingback: ik 140 for July 2015 wp | julesgemstonepages

  18. Pingback: ik 141 for July 2015 wp | julesgemstonepages

  19. Pingback: ik 142 for July 2015 wp | julesgemstonepages

  20. Pingback: ik 143 for July 2015 wp | julesgemstonepages

  21. Pingback: ik 144 for July 2015 wp | julesgemstonepages

  22. Pingback: ik 145 for July 2015 wp | julesgemstonepages

Leave a Reply

